I covered a song in a car and this is what happened

in #music5 years ago (edited)

✖️ A four hour ride to Vienna turned out to be boring, so I rewrote a Czech Pop song. Again. ✖️


I got obsessed with this song, noted down new lyrics while recklessly driving through Lower Austria and insisted on covering it. Again. There's nothing more to life... #notetheirony

And since my last music post (Here's the link: https://steemit.com/music/@stacyisacoolcat/i-covered-a-song-at-3-a-m-and-this-is-what-happened) gained so many upvotes (HOW?!), here's a deal... I'll try doing these more often, what do you people think?

2lousk.jpg

If you came this far, you might probably want to know what piece of music I decided to butcher now with my own, questionable version of it. Well, it's "Láska, ta nebezpečná věc" by Petr Muk. That's... Quite a mouthful. I know.
That's why I decided calling this cover "Dangerous Ways" which comes pretty close to the meaning of the original title. Kinda. I'm a minimalist.

Anyway, you can take a listen to the flawless original below. Can we talk about the video too? It's hilarious...

And that's where it ends and where I begin... For the WRTRM rendition of "Láska, ta nebezpečná věc" – which was quite a hit back in the Czech Republic in like 2006 – I wanted to achieve this "Lana-Del-Rey-goes-Depeche-Mode" kinda vibe. I needed it to be melancholic, a bit creepy and reminiscent of 80s Synthpop/New Wave with a modern twist.

I have no idea how it actually turned out to be like as I can't really stand listening to my own productions, but someone told me it sounds like a heavily depressed Grimes without the acid. I guess I can live with that. Still need a heavily depressed Elon Musk to make it perfect though... Haha. What a great joke.

Anyway, without further ado, here's what it all sounds like. The mix might be totally messed up and all over the place – let me remind you... I mixed this one entirely in a car – and I might reupload it later on, but here it is. 🤷🏻‍♀️


Aaaand here are the lyrics – Have fun deciphering my handwriting!

DangerousWaysLyrics2St.jpg

Let me know if you loved or hated it. Any feedback is appreciated. You know that. And I'll just hint that the next cover song is already in the works... Consider yourselves warned. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Peace be with you & take care,
- Stacy, the cool cat


Sort:  

Congratulations @stacyisacoolcat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @stacyisacoolcat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @stacyisacoolcat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63152.84
ETH 3104.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84