I covered a song at 3 a.m. and this is what happened

in #music6 years ago

🎶 I haven't played a proper piano in an eternity and I'll keep on sucking at it as long as I have to, as long as I have to, as long as I have to. 🎶

I finally managed to get away from everyday life, locked myself up and decided on being productive. Seriously productive. I ended up covering a song. Yes. I did it again. Or shall I say "Oops, I did it again"?



DSC_0988.jpg

No noise complaints, no surprises and the synthesizers are my only company.
Nice.


Although I'm certain it'd be fun to do a Britney-cover someday, the song I picked this time is "As Long As I Have To" from the amazing Vargas & Lagola – You might never heard about them, but they collaborated with Avicii in the past. RIP. – Anyway, I heard this track one time and instantly thought "Hey, I should ruin this!".
And so I did.

Now, to keep things authentic (and authenticity ain't my middle name when making music) I decided that it's time for me to sit down and revive my rusty piano skills – The last time I properly played that instrument was ages ago, but hey, it's like riding a bike! You never forget it! – That's what I told myself in the beginning. Haha.
There are indeed things and chords that kinda stick with you once you invest time in learning them. But. The. Pain. Was. Excruciating. So folks, if you happen to suffer from chronic pain in your upper extremities, don't rush yourself into playing any instrument that involves precise hitting of notes and shit... The pain might get worse.
Or just be like me and don't care at all and spend the whole night hammering away into the keys! It's art! 🤷🏻‍♀️

Okay. I've been drinking diet Coke all night at that point and wondered how to make this awfully "traditional" and boring piano blueprint sound more Techno or something... And no matter how much I want to get rid of everything that actually holds this song together, I still kinda succeeded at adding a little unexpected twist into this stylistically rigid and somewhat cheesy pop song – Love the original version though!
Go and take a listen, my words won't get any more pointless... Here's "As Long As I Have To" covered by Warteraum.

alaiht.jpg



Did I butcher it? Did you love it? How much autotune is too much autotune? Anyway, comments and feedback are as always very much appreciated. If you want (and why would you?!), you can check out some other stuff I covered: https://steemit.com/music/@stacyisacoolcat/i-covered-a-song-and-this-is-what-happened


Peace be with you, take care and good night. ✨
– Stacy, the cool cat.

Sort:  

Congratulations @stacyisacoolcat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloweeen story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66