'Smith 6079' - The Forgotten Band

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Being a contractor has its advantages. One of them is that that you meet many more people than if you stick to the same job in the same company for many years.

When we were told another packager was joining our team, I did a little research as per the norm to see who I would be working with.

gjsoe2laco.jpg

The new guy wasn’t on http://www.linkedin.com at least not personally, and I had not heard of him from my years in the business.

We all went out for some beers a few nights back and I got talking to Jez Moorby while in Alexander's Bar & Kitchen in Skipton (pending @tasteem review will be written in the next few weeks).

What I didn’t realise was that this guy was the bass player in a promising alternative band named Smith 6079. The band split in 2009 but they could have made it big and for good reason, they are bloody good!

g3gwpi9w40.png
Source

One MP3 was dispatched to a few carefully chosen record company execs. The track – Damn (The Music) - certainly hit home. The phones never stopped ringing

There are record contract offers on the table – and they’ve so far not signed any of them.

A couple of sentences from this article tells me that they had caught the attention of the media, so why did the deal never happen?

Jez tells me, ‘Yes we were presented with at least one offer

Kill Romeo’ is the song that I have listened to several times now and it certainly has something. There’s a great riff that gets your attention throughout the song and some know that I don't get into tunes very easily.

Smith 6079 - Kill Romeo (Regular Version)


My opinion is that the vocalist, ‘Moon’ can be a little shouty but if you listen to the quieter parts of the song you can hear that classic rocker vocal.

There are two versions of ‘Kill Romeo’ on YouTube, the original was done in a strip club and Jez tells me this was a fantastic experience. The girls agreed to take part for free and there was the experience of having these sexy chicks around you for the day.

Being the bass player is probably the most unassuming part of a band, but you can clearly see him playing in both the ‘strip club’ version and the later ‘official’ version.

Smith 6079 - Kill Romeo (Strip Club Version)


The band created enough material for an album provisionally named ‘Therapy’ but I’m unable to find any more of their songs on the internet.

‘Kill Romeo' was pressed to CD and scours of eBay and Amazon show plenty of copies for sale, starting at £1.99 including delivery.

I might just order a copy so I can listen to the tracks, ‘Fading Souls' with Jez on backing vocals and their very first song, ‘Dam (The Music)'.

It seems to me a shame that the best offer they had was £20,000 a year (each) which is not enough to live on for the four players. What could have been the next Kasabian is now lost?

Asking Jez about regrets he simply tells me, ‘I wish I could have tried harder and dedicated more to the band’. He was married with a young family and that was limiting his time.

Another problem was that half of the band lived in Manchester and the other half in the south of the country.

Doing gigs was hard work and unpaid', he tells me and included a lot of travelling. ‘I always had at least one beer before playing', he continues. The nerves needed to be calmed.

The highlight of Smith 6079 was supporting Kasabian at the Jersey Festival in 2007. ‘They didn’t pay us, but paid for ALL our expenses including travelling’. Playing to several thousand fans must have been something.

gzx5kq8xqv.png
Source

After some initial interest post-festival, they were told in no uncertain terms by promoters, ‘you are too old to make it'. The vocalist was 42 at the time and Jez the youngest at 35.

He tells me he still has his £1000 bass and can’t bear to part with it. I’m not surprised given the memories stored inside it.

Fortunately, Jez has other skills besides playing the bass and appears to be an accomplished application packager, scripter, and sequencer.

He's also writing a trading bot for cryptocurrencies and has not only heard of STEEM but used to trade in it when it was more dominant.

chp9f7t1st.jpg
Source

He looks a little chunkier in the stills and the videos and that is because he was not consuming 'Huel' in those days. Likely it was not invented in 2007 and it has made a difference to his appearance, though I keep seeing him eating sneaky bags of crisps and boxes of chips.


33xz0etc68.jpg


All unreferenced non You-Tube images are my own.



Other References:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/manchester/content/articles/2005/09/15/140905_smith_6079_feature.shtml
http://www.mwaweb.com/rocksectorbands_smith6079.html
http://www.unsigned.com/smith6079
https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/whats-on/music/fleshing-out-the-dark-side-of-the-moon-992270


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I used to work with a guy who had a similar story. I went to see his band playing live and they were AMAZING. I've still got their CD somewhere. But they all had wives and kids so they decided to split - probably due to the low pay on offer too. It just shows that it's not that there's no good music around these days - the music industry isn't interested in good music. They just want young kids who are easy to manipulate.
Huel - haha! I LOVE that "review". I ordered it once and sent it back to the manufacturer.

Interesting... you tried the 'animal sperm' and it was not so good and so you returned it? I was thinking of having a go too.

Animal sperm lol! Actually I just looked at the list of ingredients - it was meant to be all natural but it definitely wasn't! Though I think they might have changed the formula since then. Still not tempted to buy any more!

Wow, that is pretty awesome. I went to high school with a guy that is the drummer in a local band that is pretty popular. I also used to go to church with a guy that is the lead singer of another local band. Nothing that would have got them to the big times though. The drummer definitely has the potential, but I think he is happy being a family man! It's always interesting the people you will meet though isn't it?

I was friends with several members of a band that did make it famous. They had several songs on the radio, and even put out an album.

Supposedly it was a six album deal, but after the first album they just vanished off of the face of the Earth. I've never seen any of them again.

but after the first album they just vanished off of the face of the Earth. I've never seen any of them again.

That's one way to get out of a record deal, it may have been a bad deal and they may be still about but under a different name?

I kind of doubt it, but who knows. I know that they were very interested in becoming famous so to see them dropped from the label seems like it probably wasn't their choosing.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 381 (01/25/19)

I had a similar (ish) experience in a band. Well the bit about being told we were too old. We were only 30 odd. Ah the good old days.

Huel, fuel of champions it seems!! :0D

I have yet to try 'Huel', I keep re-reading your 'review' about it and keep laughing.. even Jez laughed a bit at it.

Lol, I was half thinking of trying it myself!

Wow, what a small world! Interesting about huel, I hadn't come across that before, glad really as I like food.
Perhaps there will be other opportunities for that bass guitar.

I'm not sure you can call it food, though I confess I have not tried it. If you click the link you will see Huel referred to as 'looks like animal sperm' as named by @meesterboom.., sometimes things just tickle me..

I read that post - very funny!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I have 4 bags of huel in the cupboard. Good stuff but definitely need real food now and again so don't blame him. Lol

LOL, there's been more comments about Huel than about the music! I am going to have to try this stuff, I can lose 1lb according to @meesterboom's report! How about that then!

Hehe.

I have it with milk or almond milk, so it's basically just a milkshake. It's smooth, no need to blend. I've made cookies with it before, easier to just drink though. That's why I buy it, no cooking. Lol it's really good for you anyway.

I did live off 'Forever Living' for a while but only in the evenings..., you do get used to it and can get by without food. Wonder if its the same...? I didn't seem to lose any weight though :(

I've never been overweight, so not really had that struggle. I know this is probably really obvious but you need to burn more calories than you consume to lose weight. That's all there is to weight management. Huel is very high in protein, so it's very filling, it does have fat and carbs still, it's not a "weight loss" thing, it's a meal replacement. But if you stick to the right measurements for your needs and exercise, then you will lose weight, or maintain weight, or even gain if that's what you are trying to do. That's a fact.

really obvious but you need to burn more calories than you consume to lose weight.

I know, its the willpower that is lacking sometimes and keeping on top of it is simply a chore. Im just over 12st so not a fat bugger by any means, but once I was a skinny lad.

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5500 comments. Your next target is to reach 6000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 5.95% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63352.53
ETH 2447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67