Get Some Jazz Steemit #10 - Avishai Cohen

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Steemit!

Today I woke up with this song in my head even tho I haven't listened to it for years. So I picked as today's share for "Get Some Jazz Steemit"

It's name is "Arava" by Avishai Cohen (the double bassist, as there also is Avishai Cohen the trumpeter, who is equally famous in the Jazz circle).

I love this trio with Sam Barsh on piano and keys and Mark Guiliana on drums. The album "Continuo" is incredibly beautiful, calm and intense at the same time.

We could consider Avishai Cohen as probably the band leader that helped boost Mark Guiliana's career the most (Guiliana was the drummer on David Bowie's final album, "Blackstar").


Given I mentioned Avishai Cohen, the trumpet player, here's a composition of his, "Dark Nights, Darker Days".
This one will definitely change the mood of the day.

Here he is playing with Omer Avital on double bass, and the amazing *Nasheet Waits" on drums.

I hope you enjoyed today's entrie!


PD: Both my cats are named after Avishai Cohen, and David Bowie.

Here are they :

avi.jpg
Avi

bowie2.jpg
Bowie


Here are the previous Get Some Jazz Steemit entries in case you want to give it a chance:

GSJS #9 - Perceptual
GSJS #8 - Aaron Goldberg
GSJS #7 - Snarky Puppy
GSJS #6 - Joshua Redman
GSJS #5 - Christian Scott
GSJS #4 - Vijay Iyer
GSJS #3 - Brad Mehldau
GSJS #2 - The Bad Plus
GSJS #1 - Miles Davis

Please up-vote and follow me @matiasmenarguez for more content.

See you around!

Matumenar.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you so much for using our service!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP

You just received 9.30% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @matiasmenarguez!

LOL, avi & bowie... nice one!

Haha thanks!! They were both adopted from a shelter about 6 years ago, I picked the black one and named him Avi, my wife picked the fluffy one, and named him Bowie.

Nice :)

Does Bowie like David's music; and Avi, Avishai's music?

Bowie likes every music and also stays with me in the studio when I'm studying drums. Avi is more reserved, he enjoys music- I think-, but the moment I hit a cymbal runs away. Despite of that, I still like to believe they enjoy the music of the artists we named them after, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64