Get Some Jazz Steemit #3 - Brad Mehldau

in #music7 years ago

Hey Steemit!

Today I wanted to share with you the song “Knives Out”, played by the Brad Mehldau Trio (Brad Mehldau - piano, Larry Grenadier - double bass, and Jeff Ballard - drums).

This song is a re-version of Radiohead’s song, but has such a beautiful atmosphere and groove that ended up being better than original for me.

This song has one of the most incredible trios in modern jazz, and has Jeff Ballard that is one of my all-time favorites.

Two funny things about this trio members

Jeff Ballard speaks at least 3 or 4 different languages very fluenty, I’ve seen him speaking in Spanish, English, Italian and some other I can’t remember.
He has created his own drumset with percussion drums he has collected from all around the world, and you can hear that in his solo album with his trio (Lionel Loueke on guitar and Miguel Zenon on tenor sax).

Four years ago I got to tour NYC with a Jazz duo I had, called “The SoHo Rentals”, and the first day i got there I went to the little 55th Bar to see Donny McCaslin’s performance.
When I went for a smoke between sets, I walked pass a tall dude with a “kind of almost violet” coat, and I noticed something familiar in him.
As I walk through the exit door, I ask the entrance person “hey, is that Brad Mehldau in that coat?” and he said in a totally relaxed way “yeah, he always comes for a drink”.

That absolutely blew my mind, being so close to people you truly admire is incredible imo.

I hope you enjoyed the song! Let me know if you did or didn’t.

Please upvote, and follow me @matiasmenarguez for more content!

See you around!!
74C20272-6073-4129-B734-0E0ADEBFBC9F.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow, watching this live has to be mind blowing, you can really flow with their music, they take you on a trip for sure!
The pianist is in his own world during the solo, I love how they are all playing a lot of stuff but the is still a lot of space for the melody, it doesn't feel cramped at all!

Thank you for sharing Mati!! :)

You are welcome Luchito! I’m glad you enjoyed it! The album itself is amazing, but this song just stood up for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63598.38
ETH 2746.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65