Get some Jazz Steemit #2 - The Bad Plus

in #art7 years ago

Hey Steemit!

Today on the 2nd "Get Some Jazz Steemit" I wanted to share with you a really beautiful song called "Pound for pound" by The Bad Plus.

The Bad Plus is a trio that got together a pianist (Ethan Iverson) with a classical background, and a Jazz rhythm combo (Reid Anderson on double bass, and the great Dave King on drums).

This song is the best example of a growing composition, as it begins to develop from a drum beat and starts building it up into climax, without changing the theme.

It's like a fire, it starts little and it will grow up with time until it begins to dissappears.

I trully love the drummer, Dave King. I've been fortunate enough to see him live with the Bad Plus + (one of my heroes) Joshua Redman here in Buenos Aires. What a trip it was.

Funny thing about Dave King, one of the creatos of The Bad Plus is that he created a serie of about 60 videos on youtube under "Rational Funk" where he basically trolls music and drums.
It's sole intention is to make you laugh with his acid humor, where if you don't know what this is all about, you might not understand what's going on.

I strongly suggest you to check them out no matter what musical instrument you play, if any. They are really funny videos and are damn well recorded.

I hope you enjoy it!

Please up-vote, and follow me @matiasmenarguez for more daily content.

See you around!

Matumenar.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful piece of music Mati! I agree, it's like a fire, amazing!!
I laughed hard to the second video haha, very bizarre, with out context I would have thought, what the hell is wrong with this dude??

Hahah, you should check the other videos, amazing stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64