My Songwriting Process: Part 4 - Mixing and FinishingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

Thursdays mean fresh vlogs! Here's the last part of this series on my songwriting process, for your enjoyment:

Video Transcript:

My Songwriting Process: Part 4 - Mixing and Finishing

Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

At this point, I am 90-95% happy with my instrumentation and have recorded all the parts that I originally intended for the song. This includes any recordings from enlisted performances by any other instrumentalists or collaborators that I got involved. Now I have all the pieces, and it’s time to mix!

Mix It Up, Baby!

Final Mix Time!

I have to be honest with you, this is my least favourite part of the whole process. It’s quite technical and frankly I don’t think I personally am great at mixing - my ears have been trained enough to know what is a good mix and what isn’t, but I’m not inclined to pick at the details and do what needs to be done to get the song sounding as good as possible. At this point in my career, I have come to the conclusion that this part is best left to someone who actually likes to do it.

Therefore, at this stage, I have a new decision to make. I’ll ask myself, am I happy with the instrumentation and arrangement of the song as is, or do I want to see if a producer can push it further? A mixing engineer will typically take your raw tracks, shine them up, and make a nice clean mix out of whatever you give him or her, but a producer typically will add some creative input - and sometimes totally rework the track into something completely different.

Mixing vs. Producing

For example, on my last EP, Panoptic, I decided to work with a few different producers to see not only what would come out of it, but how it felt to go that route. My first album, Bullheaded, was done completely by myself with the exception of the mastering (done by the super cool Phil Demetro at Lacquer Channel and a cello part (which was played by the immensely talented and awesome UNWOMAN, who you should definitely check out). While I’m definitely proud of what I accomplished with it, in retrospect I wish that I had been more willing to step outside of my ego-filled control zone and get some fresh, unbiased ears involved.

Anyway, I went the opposite direction with Panoptic and had every song produced by someone not directly connected to me. I came out with some pretty interesting results.

Here’s a clip of the original version of “Bed of Roses”, which I had mixed and mastered by Chris King of Moon Palace Productions - as you’ll hear it’s really a post-punk inspired track (though ok it sounds more darkwave than post-punk), and he really liked the song as it was, so he worked his magic on it and I still think it sounds great:

To contrast, here’s the version that ended up on the EP, which was produced by BIG RED and mastered by Phil at Lacquer Channel.

It’s way more poppy, and honestly I hated it the first time I heard it. But then I listened to it again and realized that it was stuck in my head and I became obsessed with it - it embodied a lot which I tried to achieve on my own but wasn’t able to. In fact, I liked it so much, that I had him produce the main versions of all four songs on the EP after that.

How you do you decide if your track needs another pair of ears to finish? If you do your own mixes, what do you mix with? Tell me about how you finish your work in the comments!

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
YOUTUBE
TWITTER @_derosnec_
INSTAGRAM @derosnec
BANDCAMP
SOUNDCLOUD
SPOTIFY
ART STORE
Sign up for my newsletter!
Join The Uncensored!

UNWOMAN’s Official Site
Moon Palace Productions
Lacquer Channel Mastering

Sort:  

Thanks for the awesome process post. It's amazing how significant mixing and mastering can be. It seems like at that point the song is 95% done, but a good producer can bring so much out of the song you end up with a completely different finished product. I really enjoyed hearing an example of this. Love both versions.

Thanks! Yeah I was going in not totally sure what to expect - and for someone who is as much of a control freak as I am it was a little nerve-wracking because I didn't know if the final product would still sound like "me". But both these guys really nailed it and I would totally do it again!

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Yay thank you!!

I adored the little floating note that marked you as "a typical Leo." I laughed right out loud when that came up ... because I recognize all the hints and signals you guys can't seem to hide!!

I pointed it out to my (VERY LEO) husband ... and we both got a kick out of it! I loved your video, too. And your comparisons of what different minds bring to the same artistic creation. Along with Astrology, the creative process is one of my endless fascinations. (So, guess where this little vlog piece is going! No points whatsoever if you guess wrong!)

I'll be back with your UV in about 2 hours when I'm up at 100% again. My vote now is so tiny it counts for basically nothing. The least I can do though is make sure you get it all. (Smile.) TTYL -- and keep up the good work!

From #theunmentionables

Edit: UV done!!

Aw thanks so much @enchantedspirit ! Yeah I love hearing about other people's creative processes, so much so that I started this vlog to talk about them. Hopefully more people jump in with their own creative processes so we can all learn from each other!

...and yeah, I am unashamedly Leo, LOL

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @derosnec! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Thank you again! :D

You are welcome again! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @derosnec to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @derosnec! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45