Are YOU a MOANER LISA?

in #motivation7 years ago

moaner.jpg

“Your complaints, your drama, your victim mentality, your whining, your blaming, and all of your excuses have NEVER gotten you even a single step closer to your goals or dreams. Let go of your nonsense. Let go of the delusion that you DESERVE better and go EARN it! Today is a new day!” ― Steve Maraboli,

ARE YOU A MOANER LISA?

"Moaner Lisa" is a common part of my vocabulary – in simple, describing someone who whines a lot… ultimately resulting in me expressing the old “If you don’t like something change it, you are not a tree” quote

I am not a whiner, nor a problem finder. I am a doer and a problem solver! I have little to no tolerance for people who constantly complain about things which could quite easily be changed or bettered. People that are like this are either just

  • A) Too lazy to make an effort towards change
  • B) like the attention they get from the moaning itself.

If you want something to be different in your life, for crying out loud, get off your butt and start making an effort to make it different. Nobody is here to hold your hand – and why should they anyway?! Yes we all get support from family and friends which is a very necessary part of our emotional support structure but at the end of the day it is up to you! Besides which, confiding in family and friends for emotional support or advice is not the same thing as someone who constantly waits for “a miraculous occurrence” to change the way things are panning out in their world, all the while, simultaneously doing nothing but repeatedly whining in the ears of others.

whine.jpg

“Like crying wolf, if you keep looking for sympathy as a justification for your actions, you will someday be left standing alone when you really need help.” ― Criss Jami

I am certain there are plenty of people in the world who have been through emotional, physical or mental upheaval worse than I could ever dare to imagine, but that doesn’t change the fact that as far as the average person goes, I have been through A LOT! I have scraped myself off the floor more times than I even care to remember and every day I deal with challenges which at some point seemed impossible to conquer.

There are many days where I simply have to "swallow the pill" - no matter how bitter and the reality is - once you have and you just GET ON WITH IT - the situation in its entirety ALWAYS improves. So... “Suck it up Moaner Lisa” is what I have to say to all those who donate so much of their time and energy to nothing at all constructive.

NOBODY really wants to hear about your problems! (If they were honest enough to admit it) and apart from that - whining about them repeatedly does absolutely NOTHING to resolve or change them!

Where there is a will, there is a way – ALWAYS! No Excuses!

Life is short and it definitely doesn’t wait for anyone - so stop wasting precious hours on a merry-go-round of perpetually whining about your problems! Get up and start doing something to change the situation!

Quotefancy-2013544-3840x2160.jpg

If you want something bad enough, you will find a way. If you don’t, you will find an excuse. It’s that simple and trying to dress it up as anything more complicated is a lie, not only to yourself but to everyone you verbalise it to. This applies to every single thing in life. Money, love, friendships, career, emotions…. ALL of it!

Run after your happiness like it’s the last train of the night – and for heaven’s sake STOP whining – you are only perpetuating the problem!

Make it happen! You ARE awesome, I PROMISE! We ALL are! We are ALL capable of SO much more than we give ourselves credit for.

“If you took one-tenth the energy you put into complaining and applied it to solving the problem, you'd be surprised by how well things can work out... Complaining does not work as a strategy. We all have finite time and energy. Any time we spend whining is unlikely to help us achieve our goals. And it won't make us happier.” ― Randy Pausch

So on that "moan free" note... hehe Go kick some ASS today, OK!

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

Sort:  

I'm a mobile visa.

I saw your post in my facebook group Seemit Community. I have decided to upvote it for its quality. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks :)

Oh, that kind of moaner...

waahahahahaha!!!! uhuh! :)

I love this. I cant stand a complainer. There are so many things in this life to be happy about. You have to choose to see the good. It's easy to complain and stop doing things, or never even start. it's hard to put yourself out there and consistently find the positive and make shit happen. Im really starting to adore you Ms. @jaynie

I cant stand a complainer. There are so many things in this life to be happy about.

Well said @thequeendizzle

and yes, it can often be VERY hard to consistently find the positive in things, but I will say this - it takes 21 days to make or break a habit... which ones each person chooses to make and to break is their choice :)

Thank you for the lovely input and for the wonderful compliment xxx

Yes 21 days. Then you gotta keep it going! It takes 21 days to change it and a lifetime to maintain it. You rock @jaynie

rightbackatya :)

Hah, i connect to this post so well and could not have said better. And you are damn right, that energy spent on improvement rather on whining will always get your further :) Silly whiners :)

lol @ silly whiners! Agreed! Thanks for the awesome feedback! :D

Mona Lisa had too much of a sneaky smile to be a whiner. But thus other Moaner us a whiner if a whole different variety. She sounds like a screeching sweet of the worst variety.

I like the poet in you :)

Just remember some people have clinical depression.
So dont be so harsh (That's how your tone could come across to someone who is suicidally depressed).
So, judge less. Why should this bother you so much if you've gotten it all figured out? (Again the tone your message could imply)
There's always a reason someone doesn't or does do what they do. And lastly just because a certain methodology or mindset worked for you personally doesnt mean it will work for everyone.
Interested to see if a different perspective ticks you off, because it shouldn't. Have a great day. =)

@chelsea88 has a valid point. As someone who also suffers from severe clinical depression I can back up what she said. We aren't being pessimistic for the sake of it. In fact I don't even consider myself as a pessimist because that isn't right considering depression isn't a choice and it's an illness. However the best I can do is manage it the best way I can and I think I have been doing a good job lately.

Exactly @miriamslozberg it's not a choice. Thanks for your insight.

Not at all "ticked off" @chelsea88 Everybody that exists here is entitled to their opinion, perspective, feeling and personal experience.

I have a family member who has suffered with severe depression for many years so I have an acute understanding for it, but I will not change my approach on things... because as much as who "they are", and where "they" stand.... I am "who I am" and I "stand where I stand".... and you too should respect that :)

Sometimes, the harsh"er" approach delivers a well needed message a lot faster. Take heed of that too :)

@chealsea88 and @miriamslozberg In addition to what I have already said in the comment prior..."judgement" is a VERY harsh word. What I posed what not a judgement, it was a perspective.

There is a GROSSLY large difference.

You are also "assuming" to know my circumstance. Perhaps I too, suffer from a degree of depression... and this is how I deal with it... (there comes that little nagging word "judgement again) - Slow down.

There is a quote I read once which I think would be aptly applicable here...

"Read it. Take from it what you will and leave the rest."

@jaynie I didn't mean to say you were actually harsh just mainly meant to imply and I quote:
(That's how your tone could come across to someone who is suicidally depressed).

I didn't mean to say you were actually judging just mainly meant to imply and I quote:

Why should this bother you so much if you've gotten it all figured out? (Again the tone your message could imply)

No ill will or harm intended. Have a nice day

I think perhaps you misintepret me but but no ill or harm received either...

Read it take what we will and leave the rest so we aren't allowed to pipe in wth out opinions? Contradicts what you just said in the previous response

No love that is not at all what i meant by that... i meant dont let it get to you so much. You seem upset and you neednt be. Thats all.

"A) Too lazy to make an effort towards change
B) like the attention they get from the moaning itself.
If you want something to be different in your life, for crying out loud, get off your butt and start making an effort to make it different."

It is not getting to me. I'm just pointing out to you that there are a plethora of people out there who would view your entire post as antagonostic. Get up off your butt? Sounds like you have some pretty negative views towards people. Not all people can just hop off their ass and change something they Do not like. Again, you spin this post as your way is the only way. As i said before, just because a certain methodology or mindset worked for you won't work for everyone.

You call people "too lazy ", ill tell you clinical depression doesn't just happen to lazy people. For instance i have it, have a successful career and life.

I , as a healthcare professional, do get bothered by lack of awareness, and yeah, I'm going to soeak up for all those with clinical depression to someone with a seemingly one size fits all approach.

Well have a nice day, and remember don't sit on your butt too much

@chelsea88

you spin this post as your way is the only way. As i said before, just because a certain methodology or mindset worked for you won't work for everyone.

Nobody is forcing you to read my content, to take my advice or even to take me seriously.

Let's agree to disagree shall we. I have absolutely no desire to enter into an argument with you over something that we will very clearly never see eye to eye on.

I respect your opinion (you are after all entitled to it).... and you can return the favour and respect mine... whether you agree with it or not.

The end.

Okay, love. but You should get used to dissenting opinions, instead of Seemingly trying to make a person feel poorly for even bringing it up... after all, that's what it's all about here. You're going to encounter people from all walks of life and you won't always have a group of "yes men" to agree with everything you say.

@chelsea88, I am very obviously not the one here that has an issue with this. I have said repeatedly to you that whilst I hear your opinion and I can understand your point, I am STILL entitled to write what I want, how I want.... it is YOU that is simply not respecting that.

You want me to respect your input (which I do - You cannot force me to agree with it though) but you are not respecting my right to express things and opinions the way I choose to - nor are you even trying to see the article from the perspective in which it was written.

You had your say about how my tone might negatively affect people who suffer from severe depression etc. I heard you. Yes, this might be true - but for the sake of looking at facts honey... there are also people out there who do not suffer from depression.

You are also assuming to know me. You are also assuming to know the tone in my article. You are assuming an awful lot actually.

I heard what you said. I respect it - I have taken from it what I will and I am leaving the rest.

Now you too need to let it go. You had your say. I had mine.

What is the issue here exactly - other than the fact that I am standing my ground and you don't like it.

What "Winning Words"!

When I ask somebody, "How are you today?" and they answer, "I can't complain," I reply with a smile:

"That's great, because nobody wants to hear it anyway."

lol yip! That about sums it up!

I hate moaners myself, so I greatly enjoyed your post. Although, sometimes I find it comforting to listen to people whining about all sorts of problems. At the end of the conversation I feel so much better about myself :))

hahahaha - Love it! (at the risk of sounding uncaring) - I think it is fabulous that you look for the silver lining ;)

Us Brits like to moan. However, I moan a lot less not being in the country.. mind you, can't complain about the weather in Spain so that's one of the moan-list right away!

Have a good day, and thanks for the reminded not to sweat the small stuff :)

Hahahahaha! Indeed, I would imagine there is VERY little to whine about in Spain! I hope you are having FABULOUS time! - Don't forget to share some photos too! Thank you for the lovely comment xxx

My pleasure! What would you like to see?

Valencia, my current home city...

I have the awesome Torres de Serrano:

IMG_6599.JPG

Standard photo of lovely quiet beach and ocean with sail boats on the horizon:

IMG_6991.JPG

A view of the Turia river, now a lovely park that dissects the city:

IMG_8647.JPG

And a reflection of the futuristic looking Arts/Science/Cinema complex!

IMG_7228.JPG

oh em geeeee!!! Now you are just gloating!!! lol ;) Lucky LUCKY man... !! Have you even ventured down to the deep south - Cape Town, South Africa?

haha, well it's a lovely City to be honest, but i will be moving on soon enough!

I have not ventured as far as South Africa and Cape Town, should it be on every travelers list?

Are you kidding me?!!! It is ranked as one of the top 10 tourist destinations in the world! (and I get to call it home... so there's a little of my own gloating hehehe)

Yes absolutely! If you need any further convincing... take a look at some of the pics in these posts of mine...

https://steemit.com/travel/@jaynie/welcome-to-my-world-cape-point-adventure

https://steemit.com/travel/@jaynie/sunday-fun-day-in-kalk-bay-cape-town-south-africa

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jaynie/beyond-the-glass-oh-yes-it-s-wine-time

and these don't even cover an eighth of what there is to explore in this beautiful place :)

You simply MUST add it to your list!!!! :)

Consider SA added!

There's so much to choose from I guess, you have a sizeable plot of land 😁

#beyondtheglass I shall have to remember also!

There certainly is!!!! and yes... would love to see some #beyondtheglass shots from Spain!!!!!!!!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50