our Steemit growth has stalled

in #money6 years ago

Welcome to the 14th weekly installment of my series on Steemit income and growth!

Income on Steemit is generated by "investment" (the more Steem you have, the more you earn) and by "work" (earning Steem by contributing content that adds value). Already having invested my savings in Steem, I'm now "working" by uploading unique valuable content to the blockchain. My goal is to increase my average weekly income to 15 Steem.

Calculating weekly income

Considering income from all accounts that I own, and that my wife owns, and accounts started as group projects with my funds (currently @drutter, @medikatie, @greatesteem, @hempy, @girlsofgreen, and @sativazeee), here's the running tally:

Week 01 - 0840 (+ ? ) Steem (+?%)
Week 02 - 0848 (+ 8 ) Steem (+0.95%)
Week 03 - 0862 (+14) Steem (+1.65%)
Week 04 - 0868 (+ 6 ) Steem (+0.70%)
Week 05 - 0876 (+ 8 ) Steem (+0.92%)
Week 06 - 0888 (+12) Steem (+1.37%)
Week 07 - 0914 (+26) Steem (+2.93%)
Week 08 - 0929 (+15) Steem (+1.64%)
Week 09 - 0936 (+ 7 ) Steem (+0.75%)
Week 10 - 0953 (+17) Steem (+1.82%)
Week 11 - 0960 (+ 7 ) Steem (+0.73%)
Week 12 - 0966 (+ 6 ) Steem (+0.63%)
Week 13 - 0973 (+ 7 ) Steem (+0.72%)
Week 14 - 0980 (+ 7 ) Steem (+0.72%)

Average weekly income (last 10 weeks): +11.2 Steem (+1.22%)

Now a month into this SP drought, the moving average is starting to drop. Growth for next week is looking fairly anemic so the drought may continue. If we manage to maintain 1.22% average weekly growth, we'll reach our goal in under 5 months. If growth cools to the current 0.72%, it will instead take 2 years.

my purpose.png

Of note, my account has been shadow-banned, so only me and my followers can see me or my posts. This is making adding new followers very hard to impossible. Luckily we aren't really counting on this account receiving followers and votes. This is where most of my invested Steem is, so I use it primarily for GIVING votes. Still, I wish the site admins would restore my account to proper status because my team and my activism depends on me. I moved all my funds and my efforts here to Steemit and I'm starting to feel a bit abused. I came here with a few grand, and I've been working full time for 7 months. Even so, my investment's value has fallen to under one thousand dollars. I need to be able to grow, just so I can work my way back to zero! :(

My team's camera is almost completely dead, and the quality of the pictures and video it takes now is poor. It's 12 years old. We are hoping to make about $300 here so we can get a new one, but that seems less and less likely.

Hopefully things take a turn for the better! My upvotes have gone from 35c each, to 5c each. If they fall much lower, I won't even be able to make the minimum payout required on my own. I also just noticed that Steem is down from the #18 biggest crypto to the #35 biggest.

As the weeks flip by and the "any day now" update never comes, and the ability to be seen here appears to be getting taken away, I'm starting to ask:

Is there a future for the Steem blockchain?

How do things feel to you? Are we still leading the world here? Is this where the brightest and the best are making their stand? Is the site growing anymore? Is it really decentralized, or can users and posts be deleted by admins? How quickly are you gaining followers and Steem lately?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55