making it on Steemit, seven cents at a time

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to the 11th weekly installment of my series on Steemit income and growth!

Income on Steemit is generated by "investment" (the more Steem you have, the more you earn) and by "work" (earning Steem by contributing content that adds value). Already having invested my savings in Steem, I'm now "working" by uploading unique valuable content to the blockchain. My goal is to increase my average weekly income to 15 Steem.

Calculating weekly income

Considering income from all accounts that I own, and that my wife owns, and accounts started as group projects with my funds (currently @drutter, @medikatie, @greatesteem, @hempy, @girlsofgreen, and @sativazeee), here's the running tally:

Week 01 - 0840 (+ ? ) Steem (+?%)
Week 02 - 0848 (+ 8 ) Steem (+0.95%)
Week 03 - 0862 (+14) Steem (+1.65%)
Week 04 - 0868 (+ 6 ) Steem (+0.70%)
Week 05 - 0876 (+ 8 ) Steem (+0.92%)
Week 06 - 0888 (+12) Steem (+1.37%)
Week 07 - 0914 (+26) Steem (+2.93%)
Week 08 - 0929 (+15) Steem (+1.64%)
Week 09 - 0936 (+ 7 ) Steem (+0.75%)
Week 10 - 0953 (+17) Steem (+1.82%)
Week 11 - 0960 (+ 7 ) Steem (+0.73%)

Average weekly income (last 10 weeks): +12.0 Steem (+1.35%)

It was a slow (baseline) week, without any big projects or large upvotes. This brought the average** down a little, to 1.35% growth per week. At that rate, we'll reach our goal in a projected 11 weeks!

** I'm using a 10-week average (instead of an average of all weeks) now that I have more than 10 weeks of data. If you're familiar with forward-weighted moving averages, it's akin to that. It's probably more accurate this way, and requires very little extra calculation.

It doesn't seem like the current week (to be reported next time) will be a huge one, so the average will probably drop again next week. Even if it falls all the way down to 1.25%, we'll still make our goal in 2018. :)

my purpose.png

Someone asked me to explain how to make unlimited free instant Steemit accounts, so I'm going to make a post about that soon!

The value of all cryptos has crashed again lately, and the site's growth seems to have stalled, but upgrades are just around the corner and the crypto market will turn back up again soon.

Hang in there, and Steem on!

Sort:  

I've been following your journey since the silver days of You Tube. It's nice to be able to share an up vote with you. Thanks for all the interesting content you have produced. I look forward to sharing much more.

Hey there and welcome to Steemit! Thanks for the upvote and comment :D
I'm always glad to connect with likeminded people, especially those who have been following me (and similar content) for a long time. I hope you stick around! Let me know if I can help with your Steemit questions.

Just caught your post @drutter!
Having goals certainly helps to keep you interested as time marches on.

I appreciate your advice and upvote.
Goals have helped me stay on task despite the seemingly long road ahead. I imagine you've already reached some of your earlier goals here, which is great, and it sounds like setting new goals keeps it fresh. That makes sense. Thank you :)

Great to see dedicated users acknowledging the potential of what the Steemit ecosystem can do for us all! I wish you the best on achieving your goals!

Thank you very much! Glad to be here with you :)

Keep going, I think I see the exit up ahead! Just a few more miles! heheh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56