1% growth, not every year, or every month.... every WEEK!

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to the 5th weekly installment of my series on Steemit income and growth!

Income on Steemit is generated both by "investment" (the more Steem you have, the more you earn) and by "work" (earning Steem by contributing content that adds value). Already having invested my savings in Steem, I plan to "work" by uploading unique valuable content to the blockchain. My goal is to increase my average weekly income to 15 Steem.

Calculating weekly income

Considering income from all accounts that I own, and that my wife MediKatie owns, and accounts started as group projects with my funds (currently @drutter, @medikatie, @greatesteem, @hempy, and @girlsofgreen), here is the updated running tally:

Week 1 - 0840 (+ ? ) Steem (+?%)
Week 2 - 0848 (+ 8 ) Steem (+0.95%)
Week 3 - 0862 (+14) Steem (+1.65%)
Week 4 - 0868 (+ 6 ) Steem (+0.70%)
Week 5 - 0876 (+ 8 ) Steem (+0.92%)

Average income = +9.0 Steem per week = +1.05% per week

The picture the data are revealing is that of 1% gains per week. Week 5 felt approximately typical: I posted several times, commented frequently, and kept on top of my curation. No major projects paid out. I think a pace of 1% is going to be possible as long as I continually put effort into my Steeming.

At an average 1% weekly rate of growth, I'll reach my goal in 54 weeks.

my purpose.png

I believe anyone investing some capital and a year of full-time work on a project can expect to be compensated. In a year, if Steem is about $4 each, I'll be drawing about $200 (50 Steem) per month as income. It isn't a lot in terms of money, but I'd be doing what I love, and though slowly, my account would continue to grow. That's what I call "Steemit rich".

Impossible!


I was told by a random Steemian this week that my goal is "impossible" unless I focus my efforts on marketing. Things like spending money on advertising bots, sharing my links on chat programs, reaching out to whales, joining pools etc. Marketing seeks to benefit the marketer, at the expense of the marketed. Marketing is deceiving the target in order to profit. Marketing is a tool for those whose content is lacking. If a person can't make it simply by being great, that's a problem with the system, not the person. If "you'll never get anywhere on Steemit if you don't play the game", then Steemit is broken, not the content creators like me. Rather than content creators playing games and trying to out-market each other, I think content should speak for itself. If there's no value in my content, it should and will fade away. If there's value, and Steemit isn't broken, that value will be found and rewarded. If the system is broken, fix the system, not every single individual.

Do you think I can do it, without resorting to marketing?

Are DRutter, GirlsofGreen, and my other projects adding value each week?

Comments are encouraged. Until next week's update.... Steem on!

Sort:  

1% per week seems good, but keep in mind part of that is "work" and part is "investment" combined. What portion of the income is work and what portion is investment? That calculation might be harder, but the information would likely be useful.
Go team!

I think you will kick ass at this game. That said, that "random steemian" is one of the best people on here, he may be rough around the edges but he is a really good guy, and his advice was meant to help. And truly, if you got into discord a bit you would realize it is not "marketing" so much as it is networking. My growth was much accelerated by getting in there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88