Sustainability Curation Digest #4 👨‍🌾🌼👩‍🌾 by Carpedimus - MSP

in #minnowsupport6 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians!

First of all allow me to say sorry, this week I am running a bit late on publishing my Weekly Curation Digest, I was extremely busy the whole week and I guess it took its tall on me and I was feeling sick for the past few days.

So instead of publishing this post on Sunday as I was suppose to, I am publishing it today.

And although some of you might say "no worries it is not a big deal", it kinda is, as not publishing it on time sort of looses the whole benefit that this post might provide to the chosen writers.

And that is because some of the posts chosen for this list are already past the 7 day mark and that means they will not be able to enjoy the MSP Bote vote they deserve by being chosen for this post.
But that only part of the bad news, the other part is that even if I wanted I will not be able to make that vote anyhow as each member of the curation team gets to vote only during a certain day of the week and as I already mentioned, I am a bit late on that one...

So I am sorry lovely people, my bad...I hope being futured in this post is good enough of a prize for you ;))

So with that said...


This is my Sustainability Curation Digest for the week of 09/04/18 - 16/04/18 on behalf of the Minnow Support Project!

The Minnow Support Project has multiple curators on various subjects. Each week we pick five undervalued posts and the authors behind them to highlight through minnowsupport-curation. This way MSP and PAL (Peace, Abundance, Liberty) can help promote new promising writers and content creators on Steemit, and in effect reward them for doing a superior job.

Every week I will be making a list of my favorite post from the week on the subject of sustainability, eco-friendly solutions, permaculture, recycling, alternative energy, recycling, homesteading...or anything else that might help us all live in a more sustainable, eco-friendly world.

Lets dive in, here are my sustainability curation picks for this week:

(these posts are shown in random order; I liked all of them!)


from Back Acres: Useful Knots and Tow Strapping Brush with a Double Half-Hitch Slip Knot by jackdub


Back Acres: Useful Knots and Tow Strapping Brush with a Double Half-Hitch Slip Knot by jackdub

The first pick is a great post by @jackdub as mentioned above, as I was a bit late writing this curation digest so this post is already past its paying date, so I am terribly sorry that @jackdub will not be able to benefit from the MSP vote, but I had to mention him nevertheless.
Jack teaches us how to tie various kinds of useful knotes suitable for different purposes and uses.

I have been in numerous situations when reading this post could be of a great benefit for me so I was really happy to stumble upon it through my search for content for this digest.

So thanks @jackdub for sharing his knowledge and experience with all of us, I am sure it will be very helpful for others as it was for me.


from DIY gardening- - Indoor wall NFT hydroponic system by guanyu


The next one up is DIY gardening- - Indoor wall NFT hydroponic system, a post by guanyu

I must admit I am a bit biased on this one.
Apparently @guanyu was inspired from one of my posts about a DIY hydroponic system and decided to build one by himself.
I must admit that his version looks way cooler then mine and he even upgraded it with some T5 florescent lights.

Being passionate about hydroponics I am very happy to see that other people share the same passion.
And although @guanyu system might be inspired by my post, he definitely added so much of his own...

If you like gardening or thinking about starting growing your own food but lack the space or the time to take care of a conventional garden, I encourage you to check out this post and perhaps consider building one of those babies yourself.

Thanks @guanyu for sharing with us, It would be awesome to see how you lettuce is doing in a few weeks ;)


from Early Spring Homestead & Garden Update by sagescrub


Early Spring Homestead & Garden Update by sagescrub

Next one up is a post by @sagescrub, where he shares with us some great photos and Spring updates from his amazing homestead in Oregon.

He got some garlic, favas, peas, onions and even kale, bok choy, cabbage coming right up.

On top of the great photos, @sagescrub also shares the techniques he been using throughout his planning and planting.

"You can see the mountains just higher than the homestead here is speckle with snow." - sound so amazing :)

I encourage you all to check out his post, perhaps it will encourage you to plan your own little garden.

Thanks @sagescrub for sharing.


from Spreading My Wings and Gardening Things by amymya


Spreading My Wings and Gardening Things by amymya

Most of the time when we think about gardening we imagine ourselves outdoors, holding a shovel in our hands and working that dirt, planting our seeds and letting mother nature do its own thing.

But modern technology allows us to do it a bit differently as well.
Nowadays we can simulate nature and provide the plants with all the conditions they require in order to thrive, not outdoors, but right there, inside our houses.

In this post @amymya shares with us some awesome pictures from her indoor garden.
She has all kinds of plats growing in her home and even a special friend right in her basement ;)

Thanks for the share @amymya, looking forward to see them grow.


from First harvest from the garden, and a Rhubarb crumble to boot! by digitaldan


First harvest from the garden, and a Rhubarb crumble to boot! by digitaldan

The last one for today is a post by @digitaldan.
Not as some of the other posts mentioned in this digest, this one is not about how to plan or plant or build something, this post is about harvesting your hard work, both literally and figuratively speaking.

Check out this inspiring harvest and what @digitaldan decided to do with eat (pun intended) :)


from How long will solar panels last, anyways? by buzz.lightyear


Honorable Mentions

Below are a few interesting articles and exceptional posts I found that either do not fit in to a category or did not get first pick, yet I wanted to mention. Please check them out and give them some love where needed.

How long will solar panels last, anyways? by buzz.lightyear

How to Fail at Farming: Life of a Foot Hills Nomad by mouthofthecreek

How To Start & Use An Earthen Oven, I Made By Hand Sustainable cooking by quinneaker

Many Hands, Light Work: What Happens When Family Gets Together by @riverflows


from Many Hands, Light Work: What Happens When Family Gets Together by riverflows


That's it for this week, I hope you enjoyed the posts picked for my first curation digest.


Once more I apologize to the chosen writers for not being able to publish this post on time, I hope my love and appreciation is enough :)


If you did like it, make sure to give us your vote, follow and perhaps even a resteem.

Hope to see you next week. Till then I leave you with this quote :)

“You can cut all the flowers but you cannot keep spring from coming.

— Pablo Neruda

If you never heard about Minnow Support Project, I encourage you to visit our Discord Channel.

We are always looking for new steemit writers to curate and support, and I promise you will meet some awesome fellow steemians there.

If you have any feedback or suggestions for this weekly Sustainability Digest, make sure to write up your ideas in the comments.

Also, if you would like to be considered for next weeks curation, drop a link for your post in the PAL-sustainability channel, or in the comments of this post.

Hopefully you will feel some of the authors or posts mentioned here are worth an upvote and follow.

Thanks for reading!!

See you next week.


hr2
Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - Brought to you by:


wit-list


pal-sig-anim
hr2


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by carpedimus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Aw thanks for the mention! That was a special day. What amazing posts.. it's going to be a long morning tea and I am excited about following new people!

Only thing I don't like is not being able to up vote on the older post even though they are still good post and should be rewarded for it. Rewards really should be indefinite since it would change the platform to more of a long term thinking platform like everyone claims they want but only being paid for 7 days is very short term and hard to get people to think long term with those standards. I would even be ok with being able to promote old post so they would be able to be voted on for another 7 days. So many new members come every month that would still be getting good information from older articles that the writers don't benefit from anymore. At lest being able to promote it steemit would get that SBD back into the platform instead of it going to voting bots.

Thanks @carpedimus for the mention in your post and the kind words. I'm really looking forward to working with this system, learning more and sharing knowledge where I can. Hope you have a great week, and many congrats on the new addition!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85