You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Go ahead... see if you can resist the urge to mosh... Metalcore [Metal Tree: 19]

in #metaltree7 years ago (edited)

Ummm, now I have to ask ... who came first, D.R.I. or Metallica?

I'm going to assume D.R.I. ripped off Metallica's sound for this Acid Rain song (or do they always sound like Metallica?).

Sort:  

Acid Rain is from 1992... so way after Metallica.

I do remember hearing D.R.I. before they crossed over. They crossed over to the Thrash sound after Metallica opened the flood gates. In fact, that is when the crossover phenomenon really started happening.

I remember it with D.R.I. and Agnostic Front. There were others. I owned some DRI though.

Here is their first album from 1983 - This is what they sounded like before crossing over to Thrash.

Big difference. Sounds like British Punk sort of.

Yeah. The crossover phenomenon when it happened was interesting. I had friends that were into Hardcore, I was into metal and it was I who brought Thrash Metal to the town I grew up in and High School I went to. So I was exposed to Hardcore Punk, and Punk from friends but it wasn't really my thing. They in turn were exposed to Thrash Metal by me. It was interesting when some of their bands crossed over and started essentially making Thrash Metal.

This Metalcore movement in the early days really just seems to be another name for Hardcore Punk acts that switched over to something closer to Thrash Metal. Though they were more the Fight Fire With Fire type Thrash. In the later ages I am not quite sure why some bands are considered Metalcore. I added them because that is where the Wikipedia had them.

I suspect it will be another case of Sub-Genres doing a lot of overlapping. With a few exceptions I am starting to explore sub-genres that I am unfamiliar with the labels. I listen and go... "oh so that had another name?" There are a few sub-genres left I am familiar with, but a lot of the up and coming ones I'll be learning WHAT makes something that sub-genre as I do the research for the posts. That is partially why I was excited to do this. Sam Dunn had a nice chart, and a lot of the stuff I'd never heard of before.

Here is their 1985 album... still not quite there

It was likely this one that they named Crossover which came out in 1987. And yes I remember this coming out... I used to play that first song on my guitar quite a bit and sing the song (I joke sing a lot)...

Metallica's Kill 'em All came out in 1983.

Hit The Lights song by Metallica appeared in 1982 on Metal Massacre

The No Life Til Leather demo had Hit The Lights, The Mechanix, Motorbreath, Seek & Destroy, Metal Militia, Jump in the Fire, and Phantom Lord... so it was almost Kill Em All and it came out in 1982.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48