“Strange Days” or “My Week Without My Meds”

in #mental-health5 years ago

There_Is_No_Stigma.jpg
Let’s start with the idea that, being honest, there is a stigma for anyone who is taking “meds.” I’ve witnessed the strange looks that my friends with diabetes have gotten as they have done their glucose tests. I have friends who have clinical depression and are on medications for their depression, and anytime that it comes up, they are looked upon with derision, and people shrink away. These folks are fine people — Ted Bundy they ain’t.

As for me, I suffered from a traumatic brain incident in early 2014. It has been almost 5 full years since it has happened, and I have spent most of the time since then on medication to regulate my neurochemicals. It took me a little while to accept that I needed the meds — I have a degree in Psychology, and I am a huge proponent of seeing people take care of themselves, so I hate the stigma. Contrariwise, I have never been OK with the idea of taking meds. I’ve had major surgery and not taken anything stronger than Tylenol. I do not like meds when it comes to myself, and I have to be seriously ill in order to take them. Even cold medicine. So it took me some amount of time to accept my limitations and then to embrace the necessity for medication. What I take amounts to the equivalent of insulin or synthroid for my brain. I know it sounds like a denial, but I’ll be frank — I’ve had episodes of depression years ago, I’ve been to therapy long before the traumatic brain incident (TBI), and I’ve been to Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) to help me adapt to the “new” way of living after the TBI.

CBT helped me arrive at the conclusion that I was not going to regain that which I had lost. While in comparison, what I had lost was not that much, it was enough. I had an argument once with someone who denied the damage that I had incurred due to the TBI. She had a friend who had wrapped his car around a telephone pole, and he had suffered massive brain damage, so in her eyes and by her comparison, there was nothing wrong with me. I used the analogy of an amputee to try to explain to her the extent of my injury and loss.

  • Her friend had lost his entire left arm due to his car accident.
  • A stroke victim might have lost her entire left hand.
  • I only lost a couple of fingers on my left hand (I am right-handed), although I am a concert pianist and I am expected to continue to play with 3 fingers but with the same skill and prowess as when I had 5 fingers.
    piano-playing-animated-gif-36.gif
    And there is a lot that I've lost, skills and abilities that I may never regain. Sometimes, it is still a difficult thing to accept.

Bring us to recent times, as I am taking the medication, I learned a few important details regarding how it functions in my brain. Caffeine, for instance, has a cumulative effect, and physically builds up in my brain, so I get the whole “ninjas-on-the-lawn” thing going for me after about a week or so of heavy coffee consumption.
(WARNING: Strong language ahead)


Although, admittedly, I am not nearly as funny as that fine gentleman.

Other stimulants produce a similar result. As I stated in my post from a a few days ago (https://steemit.com/writing/@phoenix32/2019-the-year-of-the-mucus), I’ve been having sinus congestion like you wouldn’t believe. When I had the infections at the turn of the year, I was given prednisone, and that really played merry hob with my sleeping when taken in conjunction with my normal meds. I had consulted my doctor regarding my normal medication and skipping it in light of the other stimulants and she instructed me that, in my particular instance, skipping my normal meds so as to not be over-stimulated was advisable. Bearing that in mind, as I was taking Mucinex DM, I decided that being overly-stimulated was a bad idea, so I followed her advice regarding skipping. So I spent a week without taking my normal meds and instead crutching along on the stimulants that would help clear my sinuses.

And boy, let me tell you, there is NO substitute for the real deal, ladies and gentlemen.

My decision-making process was fairly straight-forward. I found myself at odds with the different needs of my body:

  • Taking my meds alone would have helped my mental state, but the constant flow of snot would have continued unabated
  • Taking my meds and the Mucinex DM would have helped my mental state and stemmed the flow of snot, but would have made me way too hyper and irritable, thus offsetting the benefits of my neuro-meds.
  • Taking only the Mucinex DM would have helped my sinus issues and would give me enough stimulant to compensate, at least temporarily.

Option “C” proved to be fruitful, to a degree.

The first day was Sunday a week prior. I managed to get through Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day of Service, and my slowness and impairment was due more to being sick than to skipping my meds. I knew that I would have a couple of good days left in me before I would begin to notice a difference.

Tuesday presented itself in the usual manner, and I was still fighting the mucus and able to function in class, my independent study with the Rabbi, and my evening class as well. Granted, I was exhausted by the end of it, but the cause of that might have been more than the absence of my meds and the stress of functioning without them.

Wednesday was proving to be a bit more difficult, but a full night’s sleep was helpful.

But towards the end of the week, I was not feeling great. Thursday was tougher, for sure. My brain was not firing on all cylinders — I was slower, my retention was lowered, and I was rather grateful that my Friday schedule tends to be mostly empty in terms of academics. Not that I accomplished much of anything for my reading and homework for the other classes. My attention span was almost non-existent, and my ability to focus and concentrate was downgraded to that of a Neanderthal.

Come Sunday morning, I was feeling it. I didn’t like the way that I was feeling, but just as importantly I didn’t like the way that I was thinking. It wasn’t the thoughts that were in my head — those, thankfully, were healthy — but it was the way that the thoughts were flying about.
Harry-Potter_and_the_winged-keys_PS.png
It’s hard to latch onto the one that you need when they are flitting about randomly and wildly.

Today is Day 2 being back on my meds, and I can feel a particular clarity that I was missing come the end of last week. The last week was a real and condensed version of what I went through initially with the TBI.

  • I had a period of physical recovery during which I was exhausted easily and not well.
  • I chalked up my exhaustion and inability to focus to the physical issues and tried to address them with better diet and a proper sleep schedule.
  • I realized that, as the physical issues abated, I was still having difficulty with concentrating.

This “accidental experiment,” if you will, allowed me to confirm that which I already knew about my initial journey after surviving the TBI, and it was gratifying to know that I was correct. It was also good to know that I could go for a couple of days without my meds in the event of an emergency, and that there is a quasi-substitution in the form of coffee or other the side effects of medicines for other physical issues. Not that I would ever suggest to anyone to EVER change up their medication without consulting with a doctor. Check my statement a few paragraphs up regarding consulting your doctor. And I would not have even considered proceeding as I did if not for the advice and recommendations of my doctor.

Sort:  

I have a different condition than you, but I get the same response often. I should be grateful that I do not have XXX or that I am not as bad off as some other person. I wonder why people cannot just feel empathy.

I used to take a million pills for what I have and lost "half my size" 8 years ago. When I asked my 3 doctors if I could cut any dosages, the answer was "no" from all of them. So I instead ended all of it over the course of a year - weaning off most of them with doctor's monitoring me.

I thought I would add back what I needed, but ended up to need none of it. I now just take a few painkillers a month on bad days. This was a very unexpected result.

Regarding sinus issues, have you ever tried a neti pot? I used to have terrible sinus headaches constantly and took a ton of drugs for them. Once I started the neti pot, I no longer have the headaches at all. It took about two weeks for all kinds of old crud to come out of me by using it daily. Now I just use it a couple times a week.

My son also has this trouble and the neti pot helps him too. It's worth a try. Those sinus meds really did a number on me and I always had brain fog.

I love my neti pot, that thing is excellent! Thanks for the suggestion, glad to know that I am not alone in my use of it.

And you're so right... Whatever issues we have are unique to us - even if we have the same condition as someone else, it will affect us differently, and that is something that no one considers. When I was in CBT group therapy, there was a woman who was a stroke victim, and she routinely got the "but you look OK" line from everyone. There is a vast difference from "looking OK" and "being OK."

Glad you had success with your meds. I am hoping to not need them one day, and while that does not look likely for me, I always tell myself that at least I can still function.

So true. Whatever it takes to keep going - do it.

I have bad hands from arthritis and a cell phone is a killer for me. Texting and using my thumbs as needed and even holding the heavy thing are things I avoid. I'm grateful a regular keyboard on my laptop is not a problem.

But people tell my OFTEN that if I would just try - I could use a phone. Since I cannot open a water bottle with my hands, etc etc etc - I do not see any need to break them with a phone. But this message gets through maybe 5% of the time. Everyone else wants to figure out how I can use a phone lol. It makes my hands sore just to think about it.

I missed saying before - thank you for being so brave to write about this in the first place. I'm sure it is helpful for you and maybe will open some minds.

It's funny (not "funny haha like a clown", mind you), but the first thing I started thinking of, as an IT guy, is ways for you to communicate so that you wouldn't have to use a phone. People don't understand - it's like, "Well, you lost your leg. Have you tried walking on it anyway? Or maybe growing a new one?"

And yet we persevere. Not just with our limitations, but against the rampant ignorance that only comes from a first- or second-hand understanding of the struggle. Thank you for your praise, and thank you for your comments, as well!

"Well, you lost your leg. Have you tried walking on it anyway? Or maybe growing a new one?"

Hahahaha! This is it exactly!!!

So glad to run into you too :)

Me, too!

I have a family member who falls into the Autism Spectrum, and his father was getting a bit impatient with the fact that he was pushing 30 and was still exhibiting some behaviors like a teenager. And the "growing a new leg" analogy was the same one that the mother used to describe to the father how their son was not going to develop in the same areas as others. Fortunately, it opened the father's eyes and his patience grew, and he also acknowledged the areas in which his son excelled. So there is hope for people to learn about those of us who have a few extra obstacles in our paths.

It's always a wonderful development when someone "gets it." I will keep that analogy with me too :)

i have seen this amazing movie

Quite an eventful number of days there, @phoenix32.

Thanks for sharing this. I'm sure there are people who will benefit from this—on either side of the judgment issue, as well as those who might want to go off their medication.

I can identify with your not wanting to be on medication. I'm not a fan of even small things like cough medicine, either. I don't like how I feel when I take it, even though it helps me stop coughing for a few hours.

Still, I'm glad you've come to terms with what you need. There's a big difference as far as I'm concerned between taking some kind of drug for every possible thing (especially when it's unnecessary) and basically needing it to perform your daily tasks. If you didn't have to, you wouldn't take them.

I'd say that if you can play piano with eight fingers as well as you could with ten, you're better than you thought you were. :) Maybe time to ask for a raise.

And congratulations with the curie.

Hey @glenalbrethsen, yeah, it was certainly interesting! I hope that it will help all of us when it comes to the "non-existent" stigma when it comes to medications. I'm glad I'm not the only one who hates having to take medicines. You're absolutely right - if I didn't need it, then I wouldn't be taking it.

And to be honest, I can't "play the piano" nearly as well as I used to. I lost a number of skills that I had come to rely upon, and it was bizarre to be in my 30's and have to re-learn them or learn to live without them. There are times, without a doubt, that I feel like a pale shadow of the person that I used to be. But every crisis is an opportunity to become a better person.

Judgement is the new black in society it seems. I judge your honesty and find it, and your blog, to be most excellent. 😎😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Meds can really be a roller coaster. This post reads quite clear and focused, though. SO, congratulations.
It is a pity that with so many scientific advances in some areas, we still are on shaky grounds when it comes to certain medications. SIde effects can be a bitch.
Wish you a long and healty life, despite your health issues.
Thanks for the Robbie Williams video. It had been a while since i last saw him. Funny guy.

You're welcome! And yeah, it is quite the up-and-down journey with meds. Long and healthy life to you, too!

I am a concert pianist and I am expected to continue to play with 3 fingers but with the same skill and prowess as when I had 5 fingers.

I have the same with my back, please let the stubbornness win this fight and play as good as before with only 3 fingers 😎

I had consulted my doctor regarding my normal medication and skipping it in light of the other stimulants and she instructed me that, in my particular instance, skipping my normal meds so as to not be over-stimulated was advisable.

But nonetheless good to read you can last without any meds. Not preferred but always good to know. How did the doctor measure this testing with meds?

It was a real trial-and-error type of situation. The first call to our attention was the caffeine and how it would build up in my system. After that, it became a matter of watching carefully what I ate, what medicines I used - basically evaluating what I put into my system and how it would affect me. It was a lot of journaling so that I could remember clearly what was going on at each instance and convey it properly. It's now Day 3, and I am feeling much more like I prefer and should feel rather than the lower level of functionality of the end of last week.

Good to hear your feeling a lot better today!

What kind of notes did you take to remember how you did feel that day? Large description how you survived or with only a few words?

Thank you, @guchtere!

Do you mean the day of the TBI, or during this past week?

Sorry about your accident and glad you are doing ok. My grandpa will make you take every prescribed medication just because a doctor says you should. Sometimes, the one taking the medication is the best person to know what's good for them.

Posted using Partiko Android

So very true! Not an arbitrary decision, either - it is important to be self-aware.

I feel for you, having to put up with people's insensitive comments and the fact that you have to take meds, even though you would prefer not to.
I'm happy for you that they have a medication that helps regulate your neurochemicals.
This is one of the miracles of modern medicine but so often people, myself included, stay away from pharmaceuticals, often because of mistrust, and it is unfortunate, for, as in your case, they could make for a better quality of life.
Thank-you for making that point clear that there are medications that give you better quality of life.

Honestly, as much as I gripe about it, I prefer the clarity of thought and I prefer feeling closer to my "old self." That mistrust is something that we share, and it is taking me quite a while to break through that well.

Glad you did break through the wall!
Personally, what ever works for you, to bring you quality of life, is what matters.

Thank you for sharing your story. It sounds like you have really been through a great ordeal.

I am glad you were able to get off your meds and you did so consulting a doctor, not just on a whim. Some people go about it the wrong way and it can have disastrous consequences. What some people don't realise is some pharmaceutical drugs have withdrawal symptoms, so for some drugs you can't just go cold turkey. A doctor is needed to help manage this by slowly reducing your dose over time.

My dad suffers from serious anxiety and mild depression. He has had it since he was a teenager, a few years ago he was able to reduce his medication intake by managing his triggers. He still has his medication but only needs it very occasionally if something sets him off.

Diet and exercise can also be super beneficial for mental health related issues. People don't realise exercise in particular does wonders and eating certain foods like almonds which contain things like the amino acid tyrosine that can help reduce stress.

I am fortunate that I could take a step back from them. I'm back on them for 3 days now, thankfully, and it is making a difference. It is nice to be able to manage my thoughts properly.

That's terrific news for your father - honestly, when one can control the triggers, it is a great day. When one can manage the triggers and reduce the meds, that is an even better one! Tell him to keep fighting the good fight, he's not alone!

People mostly judge us by our appearance and compare us to others. They can't see inside of our head and understand what's going on there. BUT I would personally never try to make the situation of one person easier than the other one 'just because' one of them lost entire arm while the other one just a couple of fingers. I'm sorry that you experience such discussions.

Oh, and I'm glad that you survived that 'experiment' without your meds and that you're back on track right now.

Have a good Tuesday!

Thanks! That was the best analogy that I could come up with at the time to explain my predicament to my (now ex-) girlfriend. Like you said, she couldn't see inside of my head.

Thank you for your understanding! It is a great comfort to know that there are people out there who get where we are all coming from, whether they have experienced what we have gone through or not!

Empathy is unfortunately so difficult for some people but well, we're all different. It would just be nice if everyone would be able to accept that we simply are not the same and that judging and comparing doesn't help much :)

Stay strong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91