2019 - The Year of the Mucus?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I ended 2018 and began 2019 with a massive sinus and ear infection. It sucked, but I got better while I was on retreat during the first week of the year. It was nice to get cleared out. After this past weekend, I am once again finding myself beholden to a box of tissues. I switched from the DayQuil/NyQuil tradeoff to Mucinex DM, and I have to say that I think there might be some relief in sight. It is nice to be able to actually have air flow through both of my nostrils at the same time.

There is not much else that is on the horizon at the moment, and it has really stifled my creativity, as I am forced to clear out my airways. The ongoing frustration from that, coupled with the whackadoodle effects of having medications coursing through my system have really put a damper on my writing.

Plus, the whole thing of having 7 classes this semester. That's not conducive to having much in the way of time.

Still, I managed to post something up recently in terms of creative writing/short story, and I am hoping to get something going with some sort of regularity. I also wrote something else, and I mean literally wrote it - with a pen on paper, using cursive - which I have yet to copy into a digital format. Part of me wants to edit it as I go, and yet another part of me likes the rawness of it, the fact that it was a full stream of consciousness with very little in the way of edit-as-I-went. The only pauses I made were with regards to fleshing out the sentence structure. I literally wrote it in one evening, roughly 6-7 pages hand-written.

Hand-written.

I love that. I have not done that in ages. Literally, the last time I did that, from start to finish, was during my undergrad. 15 years ago or later. And I was working on some fanfiction back then. Oh, youth... Still, I don't consider it time wasted, just time well-spent in learning how to write something that is worth putting down on paper.

Here's to hoping that I am cleared out by the end of the weekend, and that the rest of January treats all of you to far less mucus as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42