You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Strange Days” or “My Week Without My Meds”

Quite an eventful number of days there, @phoenix32.

Thanks for sharing this. I'm sure there are people who will benefit from this—on either side of the judgment issue, as well as those who might want to go off their medication.

I can identify with your not wanting to be on medication. I'm not a fan of even small things like cough medicine, either. I don't like how I feel when I take it, even though it helps me stop coughing for a few hours.

Still, I'm glad you've come to terms with what you need. There's a big difference as far as I'm concerned between taking some kind of drug for every possible thing (especially when it's unnecessary) and basically needing it to perform your daily tasks. If you didn't have to, you wouldn't take them.

I'd say that if you can play piano with eight fingers as well as you could with ten, you're better than you thought you were. :) Maybe time to ask for a raise.

And congratulations with the curie.

Sort:  

Hey @glenalbrethsen, yeah, it was certainly interesting! I hope that it will help all of us when it comes to the "non-existent" stigma when it comes to medications. I'm glad I'm not the only one who hates having to take medicines. You're absolutely right - if I didn't need it, then I wouldn't be taking it.

And to be honest, I can't "play the piano" nearly as well as I used to. I lost a number of skills that I had come to rely upon, and it was bizarre to be in my 30's and have to re-learn them or learn to live without them. There are times, without a doubt, that I feel like a pale shadow of the person that I used to be. But every crisis is an opportunity to become a better person.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59169.46
ETH 2597.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42