Meditators of Steemit.... I need your help! | Day 4 of Seven Days of Meditation on FOCUSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #meditation6 years ago

Steemit-Covers (30).png

Another day, another meditation. OK, I’m about half way through a solid month of daily meditation, and here’s what I’m thinking. I’m struggling. Not do to the meditation itself, but it seems like whatever I’m focusing on, is exactly what I’m MEGA struggling with for the week.

During last week’s focus on gratefulness, I was feeling pretty frustrated about my body in particular. My back pain and not feeling myself was really getting to me. Now, in similar fashion, on the week I’m trying to improve focus…

MY FOCUS IS TERRIBLE!

Whyyyyy!!!!? Meditation community of Steemit… is this a thing?? I’m not new to meditation, but I’m certainly new to daily meditation with a focus. DAMN!

Maybe I underestimated how tough this would be. Maybe it’s just a coincidence, and maybe I’m just reading too much into the whole thing and self-sabotaging...

But I’m going to continue. I’m going to keep showing up and doing my best. <3

At the very least this is a good opportunity to practice being nice to myself when I completely mess up! Yes. That shall be the plan. I decree it!

It’s taken me an embarrassingly long time for me to write this post so I should bring it to an end BUT I shall persevere. I shall be back tomorrow, and I shall NOT BE FINISHED MAKING MORE DECREES!!!

Your faithful friend and frantic focuser,
Dayleeo

meditation-banner.png

graditutde2.png
focus.png
peace.png
letgo.png

Sort:  

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @sammosk.

I almost feel like there was a bit of cosmic interference over these past weeks. March to me as been, on a 'meditative' level, very disruptive. MUCH Like my very physical reality of late (during two storms) our world shutting down with no power little internet and grocery stores like Russia with very few lights and entire sections of fresh food aisles just empty. I had been, up to these storms and now even post these storms, really feeling a sort of 'global imbalance'. We seem to be at an odd political place and the world is preparing for another big move it seems. They say in the days before the great war and the second it was palpable in the air, I don't mean we are heading towards world war (I mean maybe who knows?) but it seems like our collective connections we have made over the years with the internet bringing the common people together is being attacked in some odd psychic way. This all sounds weird or fruity and I swear I am not a flowy dress, pick flowers singing kumbaya sort of girl, but I honestly feel a sort of odd kinetic palpable esoteric vibe is kind of being reported by many people this month. Odd things so maybe your focus is thrown off from all of it, who can say?

Even my writing this is very odd but there you go. @winstonalden and I keep saying "crazy Smarch weather" and that is a simpsons quote that just seems fitting. :)

I think you are 10000% percent correct my friend flowery dress or not. It's times like these I feel like I need to just hunker down and wait for brighter days, weather wise and cosmically... <3

Ain't it the truth. And I hope your expatish issues are working out. Woe to be an American :(

Still trying to figure out the best plan, either way I fly back in a few short weeks- the goodbye part always hurts so much, even if its not forever- feels like I'm leaving a piece of me behind- talk about emotional jetlag

So sad, I know. Do you go back in 6 months? I'm going to try the 6 in 6 out but I'm not going to be back in London until the end of October this year. I'm hoping once settled I can catch one of the London Meetups.

we should talk on discord, because it's quite the saga, but the short version is i go back in about 4ish weeks - the 6 month thing is tricky, ive been cautioned about it at the border

Oh really yikes. Ill have to think on that. Oh and i'd love to chat on discord but I'm still a little shaky on how to use it. Do we have to be on the same channel? Do we just chat no matter what channel? etc.

As long as we add eachother as friends we can DM, but I believe you're already in our server as well- Let me see about sending you an invite :)

It is odd that you posted this, on a personal level for me, that is. I have a friend who is a yogi and meditates 3 times a day. It has helped him stay sober ( and i don't just mean alcohol) for 6 years and he is helping others (addicts or otherwise) through meditation. He was talking to me the other day about blogging here on steemit and he asked if this would be a good place to blog about what he does.
He did a 30 day meditation series that I tried doing to support him , but I am not a meditator...I just can't do it. My meditation is in losing myself in something I find enjoyable, like crafts or learning a new language. I did his guided (focused) meditation for a full week before I finally admitted defeat. He was impressed with how long I stuck to it, but I think as with most things, meditation is not a one type fits all sort of activity.
I wish you luck with your focus, but know that if it is not relaxing or does not yield the results you're after...there are other ways to 'meditate'.
(i'm hoping that did not come across in a weird way...sometimes I have a hard time making my point.)

NO way thank you for the encouragement @baracudadiaries! It's hard to know when to "push through" and knowing yourself to know that it just might not work for you. I will say that when I meditate after yoga its AMAZING- I think because the tension and anxiety in my body is gone and my brain can actually get to a place where it works.

I think I needed that reminder.

Also, what you're talking about, being in the zone with things you love the Japanese call FLOW... and you're right that's just as good! I actually wrote a bit about it in my IKIGAI series. <3 Needed THAT reminder too

SO SO appreciate you sister <3

ok...that book sounds great! what's funny (or maybe not) is that I was one of those yo-yo dieters that is always falling for the next diet craze and there was one year I bought the Okinawa diet book, because it said they are the healthiest people!
My husband's parents are both retired but they both volunteer regularly at soup kitchens and museums and thrift shops that benefit local charities. They walk daily and my FIL has a weekly tennis date with old professor friends and he builds model ships! They are in their 80s! They DRIVE from Ohio to Cape Cod once a year still! Staying active in both body and mind is so important. If you want to live a long life, you had better make it count, right!?
I love whole concept...thank you for sharing the link to your past posts!

Sounds like you're surrounding yourself with IKIGAI-ers already, can't hurt! I hate to self promote like that, but I really had a feeling youd dig it <3

perhaps you're trying too hard? expecting too much?

no, I really don't know. Believe me, I am half a month in and I don't see a lot of results either but I feel this is only the beginning and - as is the case with Steemit - and all other things in life that are worth it - it takes months of perseverance and dedication to get some results. And, even then, it might turn around again.

The main thing is, to not give up and - more importantly - to not feel bad about whatever your meditation leads to. I feel that is one thing that I'm definitely learning these weeks. Whatever happens, it has way less effect on me than it would have in the past.

Also you might want to give the post that I wrote 4 days ago - music that is changing my life - a try. It has really helped me.

All the best,

Vincent

I kind of echo the comment above sounds like you are trying too hard, what is your focus?? Is it too big could you bitesize it down to something smaller and more easily reachable.
Its easier when you clear your mind to meditate than for focus, alternative to that I don't know if you can but there are other types such as watching a fire, that could help also??

ooh sitting near a fire and zoning out is one of my favorite things to do... unfortunately I don't have access to any open flame at the moment, but @teamhumble has an awesome campfire video that's about 2 hours! I love it, and If i sit close enough to our electric heater it feels real hehe

will do friend, and thank you for the encouraging words- it wouldn't be the first time i've over thought something or tried too hard. I've had a tough day and I'm exhausted so taking today off too and we'll see how we go for the rest of the days.

I'm having a hard time even putting a post together and replying to comments, much less dealing with my own lofty monthly goals at the moment

Will totally check out your post, thank you!

I totally get it. Enjoy your day off! You totally deserve it.

I am trying to rest more myself too. The calm app reminded me of the importance of rest. Right now, I feel I don't have the head space to figure out my plans and I can't stay in airbnb's eternally as I'm far from being a crypto millionaire ;>)

Take care!

Haha hang in there! I hear you!

You just planted 0.27 tree(s)!


Thanks to @phoenixwren

We have planted already 3676.40 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20754.41
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Great to read your post and your honest sharing. In my meditation experience I was struggling at the beginning because I was shifting from one meditation to another and I had no one who could guide me. Then I started doing one thing and just said, whatever, I'll go with this for couple of weeks without changing a thing and it worked. I only got deeper and now I've been doing the same thing for a year and half, every day the same and it's perfect. No shifting from one thing to another is what has been super eye opening for me. There are couple of videos from really amazing teachers I would suggest so hit me up if you are interested :) Blessings on your journey!!!

That's really awesome and thoughtful advice about switching too much- I really appreciate that, any resources you have to share would be super welcome! Thanks @ommmsome!

I think forcing themes, and setting too much of a schedule was my downfall for sure...

Check out dandapani I hope it was in this video where he talks about always focusing on one thing in meditation, not switching from one thing to another all the time. I really like Deepak Chopra for meditation though, have you checked his content?

This is something that completely changed my meditation practice, so much energy after doing this for a while :)

Thank you! Stoked to get into this. Looking forward to trying it out and reporting back <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60