You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meditators of Steemit.... I need your help! | Day 4 of Seven Days of Meditation on FOCUS

It is odd that you posted this, on a personal level for me, that is. I have a friend who is a yogi and meditates 3 times a day. It has helped him stay sober ( and i don't just mean alcohol) for 6 years and he is helping others (addicts or otherwise) through meditation. He was talking to me the other day about blogging here on steemit and he asked if this would be a good place to blog about what he does.
He did a 30 day meditation series that I tried doing to support him , but I am not a meditator...I just can't do it. My meditation is in losing myself in something I find enjoyable, like crafts or learning a new language. I did his guided (focused) meditation for a full week before I finally admitted defeat. He was impressed with how long I stuck to it, but I think as with most things, meditation is not a one type fits all sort of activity.
I wish you luck with your focus, but know that if it is not relaxing or does not yield the results you're after...there are other ways to 'meditate'.
(i'm hoping that did not come across in a weird way...sometimes I have a hard time making my point.)

Sort:  

NO way thank you for the encouragement @baracudadiaries! It's hard to know when to "push through" and knowing yourself to know that it just might not work for you. I will say that when I meditate after yoga its AMAZING- I think because the tension and anxiety in my body is gone and my brain can actually get to a place where it works.

I think I needed that reminder.

Also, what you're talking about, being in the zone with things you love the Japanese call FLOW... and you're right that's just as good! I actually wrote a bit about it in my IKIGAI series. <3 Needed THAT reminder too

SO SO appreciate you sister <3

ok...that book sounds great! what's funny (or maybe not) is that I was one of those yo-yo dieters that is always falling for the next diet craze and there was one year I bought the Okinawa diet book, because it said they are the healthiest people!
My husband's parents are both retired but they both volunteer regularly at soup kitchens and museums and thrift shops that benefit local charities. They walk daily and my FIL has a weekly tennis date with old professor friends and he builds model ships! They are in their 80s! They DRIVE from Ohio to Cape Cod once a year still! Staying active in both body and mind is so important. If you want to live a long life, you had better make it count, right!?
I love whole concept...thank you for sharing the link to your past posts!

Sounds like you're surrounding yourself with IKIGAI-ers already, can't hurt! I hate to self promote like that, but I really had a feeling youd dig it <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58