Market Friday. "Antiques and Collectables." Part #2 "Chantilly Lace."

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

"Antiques and Collectables." Part #2

My theme for this weeks Market Friday (a fun challenge organised by @dswigle) is, "CHANTILLY LACE."

As I was preparing this blog, I noticed that I had captured a lot of Shabby Chic styled images with lace appearing to feature regularly. Somewhere in the deep, dark recesses of my mind, I recalled a song by the name of 'Chantilly Lace.'

I couldn't remember the lyrics or the tune but as soon as I listened to it on You Tube, it seemed to ring an ancient bell. Did my mother play this for me to lull me sleep when I was a babe in the crib (lol)? Probably not, because the Rock n Roll vibes were a little too lively for that.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this blog titled, "Chantilly Lace."

S Chic.jpg

I thought it would be cool to provide some music from the era from which, most of the following antiques and collectables below are associated with, so I have provided the song, 'Chantilly Lace' to accompany you as you take a stroll down Memory Lane. And if you, (like me) couldn't remember the lyrics, here are a few lines for you sing along to. So, skip the ad and start Bopping with, "The Big Bopper!"

"Chantilly Lace and a pretty face, And a pony tail a hangin' down
That wiggle in the walk, And giggle in the talk
Makes the world go round, There ain't nothin' in the world
Like a big eyed girl, That makes me act so funny
Makes me spend my money
Makes me feel real loose like a long necked goose
Like a girl, oh baby that's what I like...…."

Ornate edged, gold mirrors and fancy china vases are displayed with a touch of class, complete with an old fashioned hair brush on a lacy doily.

Shaby chic.jpg

Crystal fringed lamps were all the rage not so very long ago, along with china vases and dolls. They took pride and place in many selectively decorated bedrooms of yesteryear.

FAA Old F lamp small.jpg

FAA wooden horse.png

A sturdy basket is a convenient way to place a variety of lace trimmed, or crotched edged doilies on display, all of which were, For Sale. The basket is placed on hand painted, worn, wooden tables. Flowers were always a popular decoration for adorning many surfaces and as a subject for oil or water coloured paintings to be framed. But roses seemed to feature more often than other flowers.

Basket of doilies.jpg

Mirrored hat stands were a common feature in many hallways and some were more ornate than others.

Hat stand.jpg

Just look at all these interesting old household items that are now considered, 'Antique' or 'Collectable.' The teenagers of today will not for a moment fathom that what they are wearing, and using to decorate their bedrooms right now, will one day be considered, 'Obsolete.' Even their much loved technology will be outdated at some point in their lives. But it is a phenomenon which happens in every generation, as the new make way for the old.

Collectabes.jpg

The fashion that this stylish lady is wearing is from the Victorian era. But wait a minute! Didn't I see something similar worn by the elite of society at Prince Harry and Meghan Markle's wedding recently? Which is why some people simply refuse to throw away favourite things they once cherished but are now, way out of date. But, fashions come and they go and sometimes they come back again and if they have been been preserved in mothballs, they may even be worn again, or re-produced when a famous designer declares it to be fashionable once more.

Best China Lady.jpg

Phew...….it's very tiring wondering if I am doing an ok job with keeping up with the modern day Jones'es. I think I'll make myself a cup of tea and put my feet up for five minutes in this very comfortable, bright red chair with the gaudy cushions.

Old F decor.jpg

Thank goodness I made some biscuits earlier in the week for such occasions. They stay fresh and crisp in these beautiful air tight tins.

Biscuit tins.jpg

Don't you just love the quote on this first biscuit tin? "HOUSEWORK CAN KILL YOU BUT WHY TAKE THE CHANCE?" A word of advice to all you hard working housewives and househusbands. Do the necessary chores but don't forget to have a break in between jobs. Better still, go shopping at an antique store every now and then and you will be very thankful for all your time saving gadgets in your home. And spare a thought for your mothers and grandmothers who knew what real housework was all about.

Biscuit tin-collage.jpg

Darn......all this talk about housework has caused a few beads of perspiration to break out over my fevered brow. I think I will just pick up one of these dainty, lacy handkerchiefs and dab them away. And alas, I believe I feel a few tear drops welling up behind my eyes as I am afraid I will have to leave you for now and bring you Part 3 next week as its 5 o'clock. Time to close the doors on this fascinating Antique and Collectable Store and go home and cook dinner for my famly.

Crotched doilies.jpg

Thank you for browsing and reminiscing with me. Until next week, Stay Well. Be Happy and Bye for now.

off and running .jpg

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

Of course, this is the perfect song to get me be-bopping-along!

I will tell you what. I love walking through these markets, the ones that hold yesterday in high esteem, displaying everything a Special Touch, making some of those long for yesteryear. You don't even have to remember it for it to completely when your heart. Somehow there was a daintiness and a Romanticism that has all but disappeared in our decorating. Seems like nowadays so much is more functional and practical than whimsical, like it was way back when.

Also I think that people spent more time at home and wanted to be surrounded by beautiful things. Now I like to just get out and spend as little time as possible doing chores. Perhaps that might be just a touch of laziness.

I love perusing through your posts! You always post such wonderful things in your words are Mastery of weaving. Thank you so much for making Market Friday part of your week it. It is appreciated more than you will know.

Hand save those doilies for me and handkerchiefs. I love the beautiful lace work that was done. I must be out of date because I have two Hall trees! When I lived in Europe, they were a very practical piece to own and to this day I still love them.

Upped and steemed

Tip!

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments and kind tip, vote and resteem Denise. It is very rewarding to hear responses like this. You bring up some very valid points. Our furnishings today are a lot less ornate and we have become accustomed to clean, tidy lines without much adornment and this would have a lot to with mass production and cost cutting practises.

It must have taken people ages to hand paint, sew, decorate many lovely items in days gone by which for me, holds more value because of the time and love that went into making them, but most of us cannot afford to pay the hourly rates for the type of manufacturing we took for granted many years ago.

And you're right. Modern stuff lack's the romanticism that was enjoyed by older generations and this is why many people place a lot of value on these things now and are prepared to pay the sometimes exorbitant asking rates for individual items if they can afford them.

I will finish this series next Friday because try as I might, I take more photos than I should at times and they won't fit into a normal post. But then, this place is too far from home to visit at whim, so I made sure to cover as much as I could whilst I was there. (lol)

Have an awesome weekend my friend. xox


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

que buen postte quedo bueno

Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

hello pretty, that's my weak point hehe
the photos a wonder.
But what I would really like is to be in that trade and touch and see everything.
have the fat portfolio and buy me everything
happy pretty Friday

Haha.....then you would need to buy a bigger house to put all your purchases in @txatxy Thanks so much for stopping by and showing your support. It is much appreciate my friend. xox

Wow a cool theme for this post and some amazing Images

I remember that song well, have it in my head now :)

Many thanks for your wonderful support @tattoodjay I do hope you were able get rid of that song as I fear it may be ones those songs that linger uninvited after a while.

@trudeehunter I actually like the song so it wasn't a problem

That's ok then Jay. This song has a very upbeat/fun vibe to it and certainly was popular when it first hit the charts. Have a wonderful weekend.

Thank you Jay.....I finished my weekend with a lovely beach walk whilst taking photos of a beautiful sunset.

@trudeehunter Sound slike the perfect way to end a weekend

It was the perfect way to end my weekend JJ.

I remember that song well! My mom would play that on her record player and have us kids dancing around and singing right along! Great memories and awesome post @trudeehunter!! I love checking out these kinds of shops! ❤

I'm glad this post enabled you to recall great memories @deerjay I often think that older songs were much more melodious and had depth to them. I do not enjoy a lot of the modern stuff (yeah......I'm showing my age) because they lyrics are sooooo boring and very repetitive. Thanks very much for sharing your appreciation. I'm very grateful.

You're very welcome @trudeehunter and I totally agree!!

What a great Market Friday, Trudee. Kitchen tins are hilarious. Chantilly Lace - great song...I have to admit I remember it.

I'm so glad you like this post @redheadpei I found my stroll through this Antique shop to be both interesting and absorbing. Many thanks for your wonderful support. You're a gem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62755.94
ETH 2446.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66