You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday. "Antiques and Collectables." Part #2 "Chantilly Lace."

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Of course, this is the perfect song to get me be-bopping-along!

I will tell you what. I love walking through these markets, the ones that hold yesterday in high esteem, displaying everything a Special Touch, making some of those long for yesteryear. You don't even have to remember it for it to completely when your heart. Somehow there was a daintiness and a Romanticism that has all but disappeared in our decorating. Seems like nowadays so much is more functional and practical than whimsical, like it was way back when.

Also I think that people spent more time at home and wanted to be surrounded by beautiful things. Now I like to just get out and spend as little time as possible doing chores. Perhaps that might be just a touch of laziness.

I love perusing through your posts! You always post such wonderful things in your words are Mastery of weaving. Thank you so much for making Market Friday part of your week it. It is appreciated more than you will know.

Hand save those doilies for me and handkerchiefs. I love the beautiful lace work that was done. I must be out of date because I have two Hall trees! When I lived in Europe, they were a very practical piece to own and to this day I still love them.

Upped and steemed

Tip!

Sort:  

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments and kind tip, vote and resteem Denise. It is very rewarding to hear responses like this. You bring up some very valid points. Our furnishings today are a lot less ornate and we have become accustomed to clean, tidy lines without much adornment and this would have a lot to with mass production and cost cutting practises.

It must have taken people ages to hand paint, sew, decorate many lovely items in days gone by which for me, holds more value because of the time and love that went into making them, but most of us cannot afford to pay the hourly rates for the type of manufacturing we took for granted many years ago.

And you're right. Modern stuff lack's the romanticism that was enjoyed by older generations and this is why many people place a lot of value on these things now and are prepared to pay the sometimes exorbitant asking rates for individual items if they can afford them.

I will finish this series next Friday because try as I might, I take more photos than I should at times and they won't fit into a normal post. But then, this place is too far from home to visit at whim, so I made sure to cover as much as I could whilst I was there. (lol)

Have an awesome weekend my friend. xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62663.38
ETH 2445.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67