Day 499: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: meat and gravy

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

20375730_1536305783057947_8074959423428989877_n.jpg

There were some good things about it.

As she walked her dog around the perimeter of her property she ticked them off: no going into the thickets to get any soccer balls, no shoring up the shed for the chickens before winter, no need to tackle the poison ivy in the spring, the water could just leak in all it wanted from the missing flashing on the roof, the piece of broken stone could cut someone's shin to shreds for all she cared.

Inside, a short rib stew was ready on the stove, her kids' favorite meal. Lots of potatoes this time because they'd been off gluten ever since her middle child had gotten so sick. That reminded her of another good thing, a huge one: no need to fret about the mold in the basement.

Or the crooked toilet, or the cat-shredded wall paper, or the dog pee stains on the oak floors. She wouldn't be needing to refinish the floors, she wouldn't have to remove any wallpaper or fix the broken windows or care any more at all about the falling down house that she bore her three children in.

The cons were few: she would just have to figure out where to move, she just had to figure out how to pay for the move, and she would just have to move.

But the worst thing: she had to figure out how to tell the kids they would be moving, and moving in a hurry.

"More meat and gravy honey?"


This is my entry to @mariannewest freewrite challenge: https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-499-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-meat-and-gravy-1551589645


Note to self: I wrote for exactly five minutes, just freaking took off and wrote, then took all the time I needed to proofread.

Sort:  

Fresh and nice green photo I love your post thanks for sharing

Why thank you for the appreciation! And the nice upvote!

Wow, your story surely did take off. Nice work. The note to self cracks me up. Glad to read I am not the only one who does that. :)

Thanks! I'm very happy with it, even if I did have to feel some hard feelings to get it out. Writing is so much like acting, at least for me. If I'm actually feeling, the story writes itself, just like if an actor actually feels what the character would be feeling. Thank you for reading my story.

I agree. I find myself skipping a few prompts if I don't feel the story. The days I have long ones are the day I really feel it flowing, like I don't even have to look at the screen, just the keyboard (since I do the 2-3 finger typing lol) But yours story was amazing.

The days I have long ones are the days I have cheated!

I just note at the end if I go over the 5 minutes :) But I do sometimes struggle with leaving any typos. :)

Thank you for the resteem! Much appreciated!

You're most welcome. The story deserved it so we get your name out there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70