Freedom and self-discipline

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I used to think that the happiest state of life is freedom, the greatest pursuit is freedom. Freedom, from what I understand, is arbitrary, free, do whatever I want to do.

This is such a cool and happy things.

Do whatever I want, work whenever I want, decide when to holiday, travel whenever I want, such a life is so good.

Every day, wake up naturally without an alarm, go to bed whenever I want, the life is so much better this way.


source

No time constraints, no worries about the financial burden, no need to worry about how others see you.

Life is mine, the days are mine, the world is also mine.

However, as I grow up, I slowly found that the freedom I imagined is not so easy, freedom is not that simple.

There is a period where I had nothing to do, I thought that no need to work is good, free to arrange my daily life, live the life I want.

I thought I will read a book, write a post, learn a new skill, exercise, and clean the room.

Supposedly, every day nothing to do, and no task, really can do what they want to do.

But is it actually true?

Those days, the book turned a few pages, the post was written once, the room did not clean, nor exercise. I don't know what I'm doing, suddenly, time is all over.

This is a good time to live the life I want, but in the end, I didn't do anything that I wanted to do.

What the hell is going on there? What's the reason? I thought that I can live a free life, but eventually, I found that it is unable to achieve.

In the end, which part went wrong?


source

Later, I saw about self-discipline, self-discipline refers to the principle of not being bound by the outside and emotional domination, do according to their own rules and their own laws and actions.

Many successful people have a strong self-discipline. Most people with high self-discipline are successful.

Many self-disciplined people say that self-discipline can bring freedom.

After knowing about self-discipline, I began to ask myself to read at least a few pages every day, write at least 500 words, walk at least 500 steps. Daily mandatory requirements, not too much, no matter how busy I am, I have to complete it. In this way, unconsciously, I read a few books, my writing skills have improved.

A few days down, I slowly found that I have better control of my life, I began to find that I really live a day to read books, write a life.

Self-discipline really can let oneself be free to control the life.

But why should freedom have to be self-disciplined? Isn’t freedom all about doing what I want?

Why are there so many demands?

No, not whatever you want. Confucius said, “follow the dictates of your heart; for what you desire no longer overstep the boundaries of right.”

Even if arbitrary, but also need to be within certain boundaries.

These boundaries, the rule, is the self-discipline, self-restraint, in this range arbitrary.

Only partial freedom, only limited freedom, this is true freedom.

follow

PREVIOUS RELATED POST
Slap yourself in the face and re-recognize yourself
Completion is more important than perfection
What should you do now so that you won’t regret in the future?
Get out of the comfort zone and meet a better self
People with this thinking will become poorer
Too many things want to do, but what you can do is too little



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://walkinharmony.vornix.blog/2018/09/10/freedom-and-self-discipline/

Sort:  

It is wise words, remind me a lot of the essence of a Thai book that I was given at my birthday, it was called what poor do and what the rich do but actually, it is about like you write self-decipline.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36