Completion is more important than perfection

in #life6 years ago (edited)

In life, a lot of people like me, want to complete something perfectly, so that I only need to do it once, without the effort and time to revise and make it perfect.

But the reality has always been unable to satisfy us, almost everything we do only once did not achieve the desired results, we often need to spend a certain amount of time and energy to improve, or even repeat the original steps back and forth to do it.

We can’t help but sigh, can't I just do it perfectly all at once?

It turns out to be difficult.


source

In the process of growing up, the longest thing I have done can be said is going to school (and also sleep & eat).

More than 10 years, day after day, year after year circling around the study.

I have more than once fancied that if I can have a photographic memory, so I can just read the book once and remember everything;

If my memory is superior, after listening to the teacher explanation, and then if encounter similar problems, I can effortlessly solve it;

If my brain can be like a computer, anything I input, and when I need it, I will be able to output it at any time, then how good it will be.

After all, these are just my fantasies, and without efforts, it is useless.

During school, to remember some of the points are really difficult, want to remember after seeing once is not possible at all. So does it means that we don't have to remember? Of course not, we have to read it again, to complete the memory. In the process of solving the problem, encountered a problem, open the book, and consolidate the part you don’t remember. Only memorize first to know which part you did not memorize, then you will know where to improve.

During the exam, we will inevitably encounter the questions that we don’t know, but we are going to leave it empty? I don’t think so, we all know that we still have the possibility to choose the correct answer for multiple choice questions. For the question that is don’t provide a choice, the best way is to write what you know. Although you did not write the standard answer, not perfect enough, at least it is better than leaving it blank.

When encounter something, finish it first, so that we know where to improve, so that the success or its endpoint further, the result is relatively better.


source

I want to use words to record my life, but I feel that I have no literary talent, can’t describe as good as the writers.

I have this idea in my mind, but I have never start writing and just keep in my heart.

Then I thought to understand, if I only think, it always just a thought, I won’t be able to achieve it. I must get out and take the first step and start writing first.

And cannot covet perfection, nothing can be done overnight.

Perhaps when I start writing, my words is not readable, but I firmly believe that as long as I continue to do it every day, after a long-term, I will slowly become good.

This is a matter of time, of course, I also have to insist on accumulation and practice during this period. In this way I will clearly express what I want to express and the literary progress will be improved.

Then we can only talk about perfection after the completion.


source

Completion is more important than perfection.

We finished first, but also a little bit closer to success, and then continue to improve and strive for perfection.

This is like developing a mobile application, we must first develop it, and then through the testing, or as the development of science and technology, constantly update the system to meet consumers’ new needs, create a 1.0 version first and then upgrade to 2.0 version, and then continue to upgrade to the 3.0 version.

After all, it is impossible for anyone to develop a software that is perfect to meet the needs of different eras.

We should have a little time to do a prototype, and then gradually improve.

In addition, we should understand that doing anything even if we do a lot of preparation, but in the end will also find that we are never really ready.

Only by first practice, implement, will know about the deficiencies, know where needs to be perfected, so as to be further from the perfect. Never come up with a delusion of perfection, or you will only be disappointed.

follow

PREVIOUS RELATED POST
What should you do now so that you won’t regret in the future?
Get out of the comfort zone and meet a better self
People with this thinking will become poorer
Too many things want to do, but what you can do is too little
Life can be better if you stop complaining
Ten things to learn time management



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://walkinharmony.vornix.blog/2018/09/06/completion-is-more-important-than-perfection/

Sort:  

I love the example of the exams. So few people look at their exams after they've been graded. If they did and questioned why their answer was wrong . They could learn from their mistake . But most are concerned with their grade on the exam not the continual quest for knowledge.

In some ways I believe that perfection is an illusion. What may have been perfect in the past doesn't necessarily line with what is perfect the present.

Posted using Partiko Android

Greetings @walkinharmony! Your post was randomly chosen and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

Love what we do? By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables. If you need more information about us, click here.

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36