Dr. The Leaping Koala_ my journey in life # 13_ To do or not to do. That is the problem!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Source

One day I was having brunch with a couple of friends and one of them stated that he never achieves anything which makes him feel useless then he said

"I am only wasting oxygen."

His words were too strong, I felt. To think of one living and breathing as a waste of oxygen!
My immediate answer to him was in the for of a question

"You never achieved anything in your life?"

"No, Nothing. I am struggling with everything"

He is originally from Iran and came to Canada to study, had the citizenship, finished masters I believe and now he is doing his PhD. So I asked

" What about your education. You are doing a PhD. That is something!"

"I am struggling with it, I don't feel like finishing my PhD. I feel like I have no aim or goal in life"

" You also got your Canadian citizenship. That is an achievement for many immigrants." I reminded him.

"But everyone get theirs easily as well" He dismissed it hastily.

" I don't agree. I think it is such a great achievement that you were able to get your Canadian permanent residency and citizenship without too much troubles or delays. I have been living here in Canada for the past 10 years and I just got my permanent residency after too much hassle and I have to wait another 4 years to get the citizenship. You may not think of it much since you have obtained it, but for me and many others it means a lot. It means safety and freedom. It means a second chance of new life and a new opportunity with happiness and success." I insisted.

"I guess.." He accepted reluctantly.

Then we went on chatting on other things until we parted ways..

On my way home, his words rang inside my ears again

"I am only wasting oxygen."


Source

I remembered my feelings of being worthless many times in the past to the point that I didn't want to be alive anymore! That was back when I was in Saudi Arabia, where I was not allowed to do anything in life mainly because I was a girl. I hated those days and those feelings. But the funny part, is that I worked hard to make myself feel worthless even after I came to Canada for quite a while.

~ How?

I noticed that when I want to do "something", I always find a way to make it NOT happen. Either by procrastination, by pretending to be too busy or by dismissing the idea of it all together as "something" I can't do. And the more I want to do that “something” the more I try to find reasons not to do it.
After a while, I remember that “something” again, which I never forgot in the first place, and think

“Ah, it’s too late to do it now!”.

From there I enter into a cycle of self deprecation, guilt and regret and end up having another reason not to do anything I want to do, because now I am such a WORTHLESS LOSER and I don’t deserve anything since I wasted my chance to do those many “somethings”. before.


Source

This cycle goes on and on and on…

But when I think about the reason behind this destructive behavior, I think it is the fear of failure and fear of judgment that causes us not to act on things we desire. Perhaps that is because if we fail, it means we are not good enough or we are less than other people. What is worse is that, if we fail, other people will see that we failed and they will think of us as worthless or useless. So, the bottom line is, we are afraid that our value in other peoples’ eyes will be diminished. Therefore, we are scared to take the steps necessary to try and fail. Rather, we try hard to prove to ourselves that we are useless to begin with and there is no need for us to try.

In my own experience from my past, I was never good enough with anything I do. I loved arts and drawings, but I was always told that I am not as good as my other siblings. I had high marks at school, but I was always punished in the rare occasions that I missed 0.5 from the full mark. If someone told me that I look beautiful, my mother will tell me

“No you are not. 'This or that' person are beautiful!”

I grew up always competing with others, whether I want it or not, and failing. I never won in any of these competitions.

Even when I finished my PhD, instead of saying a simple “congrats” I was told

“your cousin found a husband”

Which means that all those years of studying, hard work and my final achievement meant nothing.

Being in such environment most of my life was not easy. But I was stubborn and I wanted to prove those people who always put me down (my family) that they are WRONG . The funny/sad part is that even if I tried hard and succeeded, those people who I wanted to please will never be pleased. They will always find something else I didn't do to point it out. I finally ended up feeling there was no reason to try. That is, until I discovered how important for me to love and appreciate myself before anyone else does.


Source

Since then, when I think of doing something and start making up reasons not to do it, I ask myself "How important this thing to me? and to whom I am doing it?"

If the answer is: “it is important to such and such” then I will try to figure out why I want the approval of such and such. After that I will decide whether it is a healthy choice to do something for the sake of someone else or not.

But if the answer is: “it is important to ME” then I will try to resist the negative feedback programming that has been installed inside my brain for a long time and find a way to do it for myself.

To tell you the truth, the process of defying this negative programming is not easy at all. I still hear the disapproving voices and see the mocking eyes inside my head. They don’t give up easily but I am learning not to give up to them easily either.

If you don't have this problem, you may not be able to relate. So I say to you:

"lucky you and congrats to you for all your achievements past, present and future"

But, if you have such a problem then you will be able to relate. So, next time you have "something" you want to do and your negative programming mechanism started running, I hope you will remember asking yourself similar questions and I pray that you will reach the conclusion that YOU ARE WORTH IT no matter what other people say or think about you.

I hope you will start believing your worth even if you fail. Because each failure is a step to getting closer to success (Like the pain after a vigorous workout session).

Finally, to do or not to do is not the problem. It is the choice…


Source


Dr. The leaping koala 🙂

Many thanks for reading, commenting and upvoting :D

Sort:  

I can relate to your post on a personal level. A close relative of mine never has a good word to say about anything. Whatever we do for them is wrong and nothing ever goes right for them. Their worldview is that everything is always against them. To me, they are like a human black hole. Sucking in everyone's positive energy and self-belief and never giving anything back. They are exhausting to be around.

I learned long ago to basically ignore them. Do what is necessary to make sure they are comfortable and cared for but not to engage on an emotional level. It may seem harsh but it is more of a self-survival technique otherwise one would end up being sucked into their world of self-loathing and denial.

I totally agree with you that one must do what is best for oneself. Applying the criteria you have and resisting the negative programming as you do is a very positive step. I'm sure it will become easier the more you engage with this technique and your brain becomes 'rewired' in a more constructive way.

Till next time, take care.

Dear @maninayton,
It is good to hear from you again. Many thanks for the comment and the kind encouragement.

you description of such people

To me, they are like a human black hole. Sucking in everyone's positive energy and self-belief and never giving anything back. They are exhausting to be around.

is exactly what comes to my mind when dealing with them. After I came to Canada and it was time to go back for the "obligatory" family visit, an image of a huge black hole on top of the family house is all that comes to my mind. With every visit, I was so frightened that I will be sucked into that black hole never to appear again.

As for

I learned long ago to basically ignore them. Do what is necessary to make sure they are comfortable and cared for but not to engage on an emotional level. It may seem harsh but it is more of a self-survival technique otherwise one would end up being sucked into their world of self-loathing and denial.

I agree with you that it may seem harsh to some people who don't understand it or to the black hole people themselves, but it is not harsh at all.

When I decided to never go back to that black hole, I was constantly attacked by my mother for being selfish, cold hearted and shameful. At first, I suffered from those words and believed that I was selfish, but I still wouldn't bring myself to go back to that place ever again. I kept repeating to myself " if that is selfish, so be it. I want to be selfish for once in my life and protect ME from those non-selfish people"

Till next time...
You take care as well :D

Your friend needs to appreciate the things he already has, a roof over his head, health, good friends, to name a few. And you, Koala, have accomplished a lot. A huge congrats to a free minded hard working wonderful human being

You are right about my friend my dear @mike.rod.

Many thanks for your comment, upvote and your sweet words of encouragement. Such words are the precious power that gives me the strength and determination to persevere, despite being put down by the closest people.

I am happy I became free and even happier to be able to meet people like you who I can call friends and family, regardless of the distance, the blood or the first-hand knowledge.

Love :)

I am sure that everybody is good at something. Probably this is the hardest part for the parents to encourage their children at early stage to develop their skills. You are talented artist and even not appreciated when you were a child, I am sure that it is not only me saying that.

However, once one understands that there are ups and downs and if one fails this is not the end of the world but the next step to conquer another peak, than one can find out that it doesn't really matter what the others are saying or thinking.

I have been also compared with somebody else when I was a child. But I was stubborn and did not want to become something I don't like to be. Although it passed quite some time until I realized that I can't please everybody and it really doesn't matter what is the opinion of my relatives. Of course a word of encouragement always can motivate me and I keep telling myself how important is to do the same with my family, mates at work, neighbors.

Looking forward to your next post.

Dear @nelinoeva,
I can always count on your sweet words of encouragement and support. I am blessed to have you and other steemian friends around me.
I am glad you discovered that earlier and I am glad I discovered that as well, even if my discovery was a bit late which made me suffer for long. But I always tell myself "Better late than never"

Words of encouragement and appreciation will only make us and other people around us thrive, feel better and help each other more, which will build a better and stronger society in general.

Looking forward to hearing from you again. Hugs <3

I can relate to this since I am a perfectionist and really good at kicking myself in the shins on purpose. I don't like to fail, and when I do, I am consciously aware I was the one who sabotaged myself. What is even harder for me to do is to forgive or stop myself from falling into the pitfall of negativity.

I am still in the learning process and I feel I have a long way, but I am certain that at some point in life, I will realize that I can't make everybody happy and failure can be good sometimes.

Much love @theleapingkoala!

My dear @szuri,
I am sure the day will come when you learn to be easy on yourself and discover that everyone that matters and truly love you will be happy for you to be your happy and positive self.
Those people understand that your life is about you and not about them. If you try to please them, that is because you love them, and that would mean a lot more to them than anything else.

On the other hand, people who don't understand that, shouldn't matter

One thing that helped me moving away from the negativity cycle was to think of failure as a challenge to learn from or a road block I have to avoid.
If I keep falling back to the road block, it means I am not taking the right direction in my path or I am not learning the real lesson from that challenge.

In that case I ask myself "what is it that I need to do different to unstuck myself?" Then I try to figure out my answers by trial and error.

This gives "failure" a positive spin in my mind. I am NOT failing, but I am learning

Hugs <3<3

<3 Much love @theleapingkoala! I am blessed to have you in my "virtual" steemit life :)

me as well :D <3

I liked your comment on MAW and agree 100%. We need to do more for our fellow MAW friends. So I'm doing a little catch up over the next couple days, starting here.

It must have been very difficult moving from Saudi Arabia to Canada and starting a new life. I can't even imagine what that would be like. I would call that a very courageous act.

Dear @gregory-f,
Many thanks for the kind words, support and upvotes.

My transition from Saudi to Canada was difficult indeed but I am very happy that I had the chance to do it.

I gained lots of courage through the supportive and kind words like yours from both strangers and friends that met me in Canada.

Sadly, I never had support from family or friends in Saudi though.

As for fellow MAWs, I am glad you agree with me as well. Imagine that when your time comes, not only MAW bot will give you his vote, but at least 40 other MAW members with different percentages or with 100% (up to each).

But if each used 100% when voting the MAW of the day, when its their turn they will possibly receive 100% upvotes from 40+ MAW members.

I am personally planning to do that to whomever votes my posts from MAW group. At least for the resteemed post. Just like I save an upvote to MAW bot, I can save one for the MAW of the day.

Imagine that each of us will get at least 40 x 0.04 (the minimum of MAW with 500SP)= 1.6 SBD

This amount will increase as we grow in number of members and grow in SP as well. it will also help us grow faster and feel supported and assured from time to time

Not sure how I can get this message to reach all members. I am not really good with bots and automation. I send it manually to each member, but is there another easier and faster way to do it?

MAW is us and us is MAW

Cheers :D

I think the best way to "get the message out" is to do as we have done here. My plan is leave a little comment and upvote to each of the daily MAW resteemed posts. The comment will be something like, "Hello fellow MAW member..." and then some positive feedback on their post. Really just trying to let them know other members of MAW are supporting them.

Lead by example I think is the best way to get the message out. Some will join in others will not. Those that will not are probably here only for the daily upvotes and don't care about supporting the community. I hope they are the minority.

Thanks my dear @gregory-f for the suggestion.

I have done that already with 4 MAW members since I just joined the MAW group lately. None of them followed my example and 2 of them didn't even reply to the comment. Of course, that's only 10% of the whole group and may not mean anything
But that was the main reason I spoke up. I think some people need more than just an example to follow. I think they need to be reminded by direct words and then they choose to follow or not.

Many thanks for engaging in the brainstorming for better MAW practices and for making yourself a great example for others to follow

Cheers :D

It's hard to accomplish things when almost everyone puts you down for even trying. Doing it for yourself and people who appreciate you is a much better way. Enjoyed the article.

I certainly agree with you my dear @wernertek.

Glad you enjoyed the article and many thanks for the comment and upvote :D

Best lessons are learned from the most difficult situations. You have become very wise, beautiful to read your correct insights. Much love.

Happy to have you visit and hear your comments again :D

Big hug

than you for posting a nice motivational post. may God bless you. have a nice day.

Thank you very much. Bless you too :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51