The Beauty Of Hitting Rock Bottom || Why Starting From The Lowest Point Can Bring The Greatest Change

in #life6 years ago
Rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life. - J.K. Rowling

One of the most valuable aspects of breakdowns is the opportunity to breakthrough afterwards in a way you've never done it before.

Rising from zero retrieves an extraordinary hunger for success, thus a great potential.

Here's to the importance of hitting rock bottom and the incomparable return of overcoming a low-point!

Picture kindly provided by pixabay.com

Touch-down

Whoever has hit rock bottom once knows: There are few things in life that are more powerful than the fighting spirit you're able to develop after overcoming the lowest point.

We've got all that survival instinct.

One of the biggest advantages of starting from zero is that you have nothing to lose. You can't fall deeper than on the ground. Being aware of that situation is like the very first tendency to stand up and rise.

Setbacks are a true disaster. But they'll grow something inside you success would never be able to create. - Kai B. (one of my ex bosses)

Learn it the hard way, pull yourself up by your own bootstraps and you'll face the essence of life!

Two years ago I was in a situation like that.

I had made a huge mistake that directed my life into a desperate situation. I got stuck in a terrible blind alley, being far away from my friends and family. I was litterally lost.

From today's point of view I know that this period of time shaped my real character.

Thanks to that disastrous experience that brought me to my limits, today I'm able to face a lot. Probably the hardest times generate the most valuable learnings in life.

Also it actually doesn't matter if you suffer a setback in business or a private life situation. They're both able to knock you out for a while - and convert you into the strongest version of yourself.

When hitting rock bottom you naturally go through the same stages:

  1. Crise
  2. Impasse
  3. Sanctuary
  4. Reflection
  5. Recovery
  6. Rebirth

Doesn't the fact that the actual crise is just stage no. 1 of many make us already feel much better?

Everything always depends on your point of view and attitude. So if you managed to keep stage no. 1 as short as possible, the whole process could become much more tolerable.

From an impartial and rational perspective setbacks are more like speed bumps.

They slow you down in whatever process you're currently in, but they're actually not able to stop you in the long run.

I can only tell you from the bottom of my heart that pulling myself up by my own bootstraps has been one of the most valuable experiences in my whole life so far.

Nothing beats the real fight for your existence.

Best of luck for yours...

Marly -

Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget that this is a troll-free zone.

Original content. Quote found on pinterest.com.

Sort:  

It's only when you're in the barrens that you can clearly see the stars :)

Nicely said :-)

thanks for this. I'm at rock bottom right now. I had to close my business 2 weeks ago and I'm broke with no direction. Words like this are meaningful.

Oh, wow - thanks for the insight! I really hope you're going to find the right path that'll lead you out of the dead end. Remember: hitting rock bottom just slows you down, it can't actually stop YOU.
My fingers are crossed for that future path of yours!!!

Thank you so much. It's really hard right now because I loved what I was doing. Your post was very timely and I'm glad I found you. You have great posts and I look forward to reading and voting on them. I love that you surf. It such a spiritual pursuit. I want to get back to it.

So good. as always :D

Thank you Drew!!! :-*

Hitting rock bottom is one of the good things which can happen to you in life. It just gives you full potential and free you from all the fear and worries because now you know you have nothing to lose so nothing worse can happen.
A state where you know it is either make it or break it then you end up performing exceptional and unbelievable.

I see we're thinking in the very same direction :-)

Yeah, that's true.
But the thing is at that time you have to be really really strong otherwise some people break down at that point.

I’ve had some pretty low points in my life but I wouldn’t change them for the world, they’ve made me who I am today and I’m proud of that! Good on you for not giving up and fighting back :)

J. K. Rowling really knows what it's like and I give her massive credit for not giving up, I mean Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone got rejected 12 times and she was told "not to quit her day job." I don't think I would have the strength to go through and publish a fiction book (or any product) if if got rejected that many times. Especially because she put so much effort into it. Anyways, great post, they should have a #wednesdaywisdom tag on here :P

Most of the time success doesn't come over night but is the product of hard work, patience and consistency. She's a very good example indeed!
Maybe I'd rather need a #dailywisdom tag :-)

Absolutely!

I've been following @wwf and @abigail-dantes recently and they offer really interesting writing with regards to a particular rock-bottom - depression.

When you hit the lowest point it is a test of your survival instinct. Do I want to live? I'm a going to try to make the most of my time here? And if the answer is a 'yes', then it's time to make your move/change/comeback.

I've lived this, and damn it feels great to know how far I've come from that low in my life - how far away it seems now - YAY!

Cheers!

I've lived this, and damn it feels great to know how far I've come from that low in my life - how far away it seems now - YAY!

Congratulations, Ash!
One of the best things of the human brain is that it tends to forget especially the negative experiences/feelings. What remains is the incredibly good feeling of: YES, I made it. I can totally relate and am happy for your achievement :-)

Thanks for mentioning these two, I'll check out their blogs. I love to read pieces of content that go deep - not only the superficial "Steem to the moon" posts on the trending page :-)

Have a great day!

Thank you :)

Yes I think selective memory is helpful to continue day-to-day. I just know it was a very dark time and one I wish not to visit again.

I hope you find interest in the blogs above, maybe see you on Steemit! :D

I can relate whit this post on so many levels. But I have to say that it does not work for everyone. Some give up. Those who do not and fight, become much stronger. It is not about how hard you hit, it is about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much can you take and keep moving forward, that's how winning is done-Sylvester Stallone:).

That's true. This post was written for those who are not sure if they can stand up. I'd tell them: you can do it! :-)

The real catastrophe is that many generations are not afraid of their first defeat and lose all their courage and willpower? No one should see himself exhausted as long as he breathe. You can not hope for the future as the heart beats. Defeats are a source of strength for those who can tolerate it.. @surfermarly

Probably you're right and the next generation is one that prefers to accept setbacks instead of fighting for a better situation. I have no idea. Acutally there have always been those who're willing to come further and those who're not. I remember that a friend from my young days texted me on facebook the other day. He congratulated me on my life. While he was dealing with drugs in college and didn't even make his homework, I studied hard. Now he's in trouble with his whole life and I'm enjoying mine. So he saw the reason quite late. I hope he'll be able to fix it.

The next generation of technology has become the prisoner.And this technology is destroying people's love, respect and courage from their hearts... My power so so low ,even so %100 vote ! :) @surfermarly

wow!!thanks for the amazing post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23