Quick to Listen, Slow to Speak, and Slow to Become Angry

in #life6 years ago

There is a Greek philosopher named Epictetus who is credited with saying the following:

We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak. source

This quote reminded me of James, another ancient writer, who was inspired to write the following:

My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry (James 1:19 NIV)

5gx7vg5c52.jpg
source

Be Quick To Listen

Here are some of my thoughts on listening:

  • Engaged listening shows genuine care for others.
  • Hearing and listening are not the same.
  • Forming a response while "listening" is not authentic, engaged listening.
  • Sometimes people just need to be heard. A response is not always required.

Be Slow To Speak

Here are some of my thoughts on speaking:

  • Choose your words wisely.
  • Don't interrupt someone who is speaking (even when you have the "right" to defend yourself).
  • Momma said "if can't say something nice, then ...", but sometimes you need to deliver the truth. But always do so with love and kindness.
  • Earn the right to speak into people's lives before exercising the "right" to speak.

Be Slow To Become Angry


Here are some of my thoughts about anger:

  • The emotions you project as you speak are just as important as the words you proclaim.
  • Anger impacts your voice inflections, tone, body language. Anger impacts your message.
  • Anger is often a reasonable response to any given matter, but it is not also the best response.
  • Never go to bed angry.

I want to hear from you!


Let's continue this conversation​ in the comment section.

  1. Do you find it more difficult to speak or to listen?
  2. What is the biggest obstacle to engaged listening?
  3. How do you control your anger when communicating with others?
  4. Do you have any advice to share in regards to listening, speaking, or controlling anger?

Thanks for stopping by!
@SumatraNate

Sort:  

Those are both such great quotes and the world would be a far better place if more people followed them and to answer your questions
1, I am more a listener than a talker

  1. When I see my anger rising i generally do one of two things, take a deep breath and count down slowly from 10, or tune them out while I calm down, and not very often but I do occassionaly resort to a subtle snarky comment
    3, My only advise is to really think about the great quotes you shared, if you fele yourself gettign angry try to step back a little,, and don;t always thing you are right and the other person is wrong, sometimesits good to step back and consider what the other person is saying calmly and without preconceived ideas

Completely agree, sir! Sometimes we need to step back for a moment, take a deep breath, and then proceed. We often speaking out of anger when we don't take a moment to regroup.

I used to or still do have a really bad temper luckily I learned to control it and for the most part I am a pretty laid back guy, but if i feel my temper rising i need to try and step back and bring it under control

I was always much better at listening that I was at speaking and I have learned not to get angry almost ever. Writing helped and still does. I can write anything but I can not say anything :D I think it has to do with the time I have to respond :)

Thanks for your comment. I can relate to what you said about needing time because I see that in my wife. She is a processor, so if she is put on the spot she might feel stressed.

But taking that extra time usually means that she will provide a valuable and thoughtful response. That is why so many people ask advice from her.

  1. I think for me depends on situation.
  2. When someone tells you something quite offensive and you think it's nonsense and unreasonable. Then I couldn't control myself to listen.
  3. Calm myself down and signal the other half to stop it first.
  4. Know yourself better so you know your limit before explosion.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the comment. I appreciate you adding to the conversation and thinking about how you best communicate with other people.

You are the most welcomed :) it makes me to think about myself how I treat others and my emotion(Y)

Posted using Partiko Android

When I saw the title I thought this was a post created exactly for me, that's almost a perfect description of who I am and how I act.

I guess there will be moments in life where listening might make your ears bleed from such nonsense, but if we have any goal related to that speech just take it and absorb the most that you can, so you don´t need to repeat the experience.

Thanks for the comment. Sometimes it is challenging to listen to another person (especially if they are being offensive). And I agree that we have an opportunity to learn from every moment and choose not to relive the bad ones.

Have a blessed day!

Exactly!!

Cheers,
Diogo

First question you ask yourself is, what will Christ do if He was in my situation. If you know Christ won't do that, then you should also not do that. That's a nice way to live.

Posted using Partiko Android

Completely agree. As a follower of Christ, I want His life to be my example. Admittedly, I fail often. But the goal is to be more like Him every day and to know Him more every day.

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.363 which ranks you at #2368 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 20 places in the last three days (old rank 2388).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 364 contributions, your post is ranked at #189.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 380 (01/24/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64