The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Two

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is a candid recollection of my memories working at Kwiksave (the now defunct discount supermarket chain) as a ‘Stock Lad’.

I wasted over FOUR years of my life in this horrible dump, and still wake up with nightmare's occasionally thinking I'm still there.

Some of the names have been slightly changed simply to save my arse in case anyone takes offence at some of the details regarding my facts or opinions. Many of the people mentioned are now dead as this happened so long ago, but their siblings are not.

This will be a multi-part article as there is simply too much to tell in one sitting. I hope you find it as entertaining as I found recalling it from my brain.


Other articles in the series:
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part One


Kwiksave.jpg
Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:KwikSave,Church_Lane-geograph.org.uk-_350688.jpg


‘Some kids are best left to fend for themselves, and others were born to stack shelves’ – Steven Wilson


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

Life at Kwiksave was hard; there’s no getting round that, and @slobberchops was born to stack shelves at least for the next few years.

A stock lad was expected to fill the shelves, take away the cardboard, clean the back shop, accept deliveries, clean the public toilets and clean that horrible asphalt black floor after the customers have all left amongst other things.

My salary for all this was around £40 a week before tax.


toilet.jpg
Source: https://pxhere.com/en/photo/539689


The toilets were not much better than those in the image shown.

I had 30 minutes for lunch, a 10 minute break around 10.30am and another one at 3.30pm. Kwiksave did not trust their staff and we were expected to ‘clock in’ and ‘clock out’ even for the short breaks.

I was also expected to ‘brew up’ for Mort every morning. The one perk I got was free cups of Tea or Nescafe Coffee. I still don’t like vanilla Nescafe today.


Nescafe.JPG
Source: http://pngimg.com/download/17080/?i=1


Mort accused me often of trying to poison him with extra strong coffee.., yes I did put a rather generous lump of coffee in his cup every day.

I was on my feet all day, including EVERY Saturday. I didn’t work Tuesday afternoon’s and Sundays.

During my first 3 months, Carrot the assistant manager left to become manager of the Bury store. I was then left to do all the work with Mort or more specifically, I did all the work.

Simply put, Mort was a lazy bastard; he didn’t like to do work. If he filled up the yoghurt section, or walked around looking important with a pad doing stocktaking then he considered himself busy.

That uppity look was something I had to ignore, him looking down the end of his nose at most everybody as they were in his mind... inferior beings.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

I was equipped with a used overall. This piece of well used clothing went over my head and had three holes. One for my head and two for my arms. It was brown in colour and sported the words ‘Kwiksave’ on the chest right of centre. It was also a cast off from whoever had left before I started, lovely!

I also was given a ‘stock knife’. Let me explain... at Kwiksave goods are accepted in boxes. For example a box of Heinz beans would contain 12 tins of Heinz beans in a cardboard box.

Unlike other stores, Kwiksave used to cut off the end of the box exposing the 12 tins of beans to the customer. So the shelves were full of boxes of all products with the ends cut off. Why they did this, I will never know.

To do this, I used ‘The stock knife’, a variant of the Stanley knife with a very sharp blade.


knife.jpg
Source: https://pixabay.com/en/carpet-knife-knife-stanley-sharp-296367/

At the end of every day, the shelves were littered with half empty boxes of every kind of foodstuff you can imagine, and every day close to finishing I kicked a large box around and had to ‘rack down’.

This terminology was effectively filling the more full boxes and emptying the empty boxes, ripping them up and compressing them into the large empty box that I kicked around the floor, eventually empying it into a huge skip.

If the blade in the stock knife became blunt, you turned it over as it has two edges. If both edges became blunt, you walked to the office, knocked and asked for a new blade.

After inspection of the old one, a new one was issued, usually by Mort as 95% of his working career he sat on his arse in said office doing virtually nothing.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

Besides the male employees of Kwiksave, myself and Mort, there were also some female employees. These were the checkout operators. There were no self-service operations in 1980, everything came via the cashiers.

The supervisor, Sharon Hartley was a good looking young woman with a rather extravert personality. I think she rather liked me as she sometimes pulled on my curls (I had longish hair then) and called me ‘cute’.

Unfortunately one of her front incisors was broken off and had become rotten which left people rather shocked when she smiled. I believe she was terrified of the dentist.

Marianne was a regular checkout operator, probably in her early 30’s, with curly blond bleached hair and was also good looking. A very down to earth, no nonsense person I didn’t have much interaction with her.

Linda was a chubby girl, married in her late 20’s. She was a cheery person, but not very bright.

There was another full-time checkout girl, but she was not talkative, or at least not to me, I can’t even remember her name. She seemed unfriendly and gave off that vibe.

The checkout girls were expected to memorise every price in the store. There were no price stamps on any of the stock.


trolley.jpg
Source: https://pxhere.com/en/photo/288342

Each girl was tested every week by the supervisor Sharon to see if they remembered the prices using a shopping basket full of random items. This included things that had increased in price too.

Failure to remember the prices correctly resulted in disciplinary measures. It wasn’t that easy for them too.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg


To be continued...


All stock photographs I have used are filtered as ‘Labelled for reuse’ or 'Labelled for noncommercial reuse' and the sources have been cited.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

That is nuts that they had to remember all of the prices. Especially when things change so frequently. What would you guess the square footage (meter) of the store was? I would be really curious to know. For the amount of employees you are talking about it sounds much smaller than I am imagining. Box cutters are crazy. They are responsible for like 80% of workplace accidents in the US. I Just pulled the number out of the air :) I know it is high though. I look forward to reading the next part of your story!

Yes, it was rather strange system with the memorising of prices. There were 4 aisles each of them being around 50 yards long. I didnt have many problems with the knife in terms of accidents.

Ah okay, the K-Mart I worked in was about 71,000 Square feet. Glad you didn't have any Stanley knife accidents!

Omg this is sooo funny! I worked at kwiksave 22 years ago as a checkout girl or till totty as we were referred to by the store lads lol yes we had to remember every price and we also were timed for every trolley and I was always being disciplined for being too slow! Hehe

There's plenty more to come, god knows how many more episodes. I have only written up until Jan '82 so far and I was there until May '85. A truly dire part of my life, how was it for you?

Well it was my first ever job while I was at college so its pretty safe to say I was scarred for life and never went into retail again after those 2 horrific years lol

Great writing @slobberchops , we still have 'budget' stores here in Holland (Aldi, a German big seller) which only store the boxes in the store. I find that, as a comsumer, very unattractive... I never go there....

It must have been quite an experience for you, recall all the details :)

Have a great day !!

Thanks for the encouragement. @steddyman tells me that Chapter II was quite boring.. but I have know him for 30 years so he can be candid with me. Chapter III however is good again (for him!), so I'm back on the right track I hope.

Aldi are big here and I noticed the similarities with the boxes being cut open. I have a gripe with Aldi so refuse to visit their stores, but that's another story.

That will be the case, he is canditing (types right??) you. I liked the chapter, and also chapter three....waiting in chapter four :)

Remember all of the prices? That is crazy. Sounds like those difficult years had an impact on you, especially since you can recall the detail so well.

Was there anything that you really enjoyed about your experience at KwikSave?

There was, but I can't tell you yet as it would be a spoiler. It wouldn't happen until 1983 though.

I will be patient then :)

Blimey, it takes me about 3 years to remember my mobile telephone number if it changes. I still don't know my work one off by hand - I've been there 2 years in October.

We 'Stock Lads' didn't have to remember them, this was perhaps a perk of the job?
It was just the 'till totty' who had too, right @beautifulbullies?

This is really a terrible story -- and terribly familiar. Just reading it is enough to give me PTSD flashbacks. A couple of times in my college career I worked "retail" for a few months. Nothing as awful as what you went through in terms of physical working conditions, but the attitudes of the managers, the way they treated their workers, the unbelievable boredom and sense of imprisonment and oppression ... it's all cut from the same cloth.

From that experience came my entire dread of "business" in general ... and my resolve to off myself before ever agreeing to go back to it. Through the years, people thought it was hyperbole when I would say that with conviction, but I was totally serious. Nothing in my life, with the one exception of my pets, was so precious to me that I would buy it at that price. I would do pretty much anything to avoid going through that again.

It was dire and the story doesn't get any better as far as this is concerned. If you have never been in retail then you are doing well, and are missing nothing.

The story continues later today...

95% of his working career he sat on his arse in said office doing virtually nothing

This reminds of my current boss, when i going into office and he sits there playing the candy crush games :D

But just to be honest my boss a lot but needs his breaks XD

The shopping basket idea is great, i would have loved that. But luckily, we invented stuff to make our brain even more lazy

Imagine having to remember all the prices now. It's like cabbies had to know every street in the town they worked prior to GPS.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73