The Dark Side of Food Allergies: What no one will talk about

in #life8 years ago

This isn't something I admit openly. In fact, if you were to ask me about it in person, I'd probably lie.

Yet, it's something that needs to be said, and I'm finally ready to say it. I say "finally" because although I have been dealing with food allergies for 4+ years (and food blogging 2 of those years), this has never been a topic I've written about openly.

But let's not get ahead of ourselves. First, what are food allergies?

The Mayo Clinic defines a "food allergy" this way:

"A food allergy is an immune system reaction that occurs soon after eating a certain food. Even a tiny amount of the allergy-causing food can trigger signs and symptoms such as digestive problems, hives or swollen airways."

Most people are familiar with normal food allergies like peanuts that cause an anaphylaxis reaction.

Even eating a PB&J next to someone with a severe peanut allergy can have bystanders frantically looking for an epi pen to open the person's swollen airway. This is a common food allergy, right up there with tree nuts, gluten, and lactose. It causes an immediate reaction and everyone can be sympathetic to the situation.

What most people are not familiar with are "incognito" food allergies and how they can wreak havoc on an individual's body and life.

I call these "incognito" because they a) might not be common foods that people associate with allergies and b) probably cause uncharacteristic reactions (unfamiliar symptoms, delayed reactions, etc.). It could be strawberries that cause an itchy throat for a few hours, or a severe response like searing stomach pains for 24 hours after eating tomatoes. Either way, they are foods that need to be avoided for optimal health and quality of life.

So what does all this have to do with me, and why don't I want to talk about it?

I deal with a laundry list of incognito food allergies.

  • Gluten - Even a small amount causes what can be described as severe stomach flu. It takes days to work its way out of my body.
  • Animal products (dairy, cheese, eggs, meat) - These give me the worst migraines imaginable; not even strong painkillers will give relief.
  • Peanuts - Like animal products, they cause earth-shattering migraines (thankfully no anaphylaxis reaction).
  • Soy - I can sometimes eat limited amounts, but it causes hot flashes and an upset stomach.
  • Sesame seeds, Onion, Peas - These all seem to produce the same reactions. Even a single sesame seed will cause my face to break out in hives and painful cystic acne that won't go away for 4-6 weeks. My hands usually become red and inflamed, and sometimes my skin will become scaly.

If you're thinking, "Wtf, those are so random," I would have to agree with you. Until 2012, these are foods I had eaten my entire life. Slowly, my body just said "NOPE. Not havin' it."

By the end of 2012, I was getting discouraged. My list of allergies was so restrictive, it was hard to find anything to eat. In stores. In restaurants. In recipes.

Confession #1: These food allergies led me into a serious battle with depression.

I exhausted all the possible medical solutions you can imagine, but allergy therapy would cost tens of thousands of dollars (and it's not covered by insurance.) That wasn't an option. As time went on I felt more alone and isolated. No one really understood what I was dealing with and friends and family alike were completely unsympathetic. (In fact, my grandma purposely lied to me when I asked if a snack had gluten in it because she thought I was following a "fad diet." The result was two days of missed college classes because I was so sick.)

My best solution was to start problem-solving another way. If I can't eat all the products and recipes I was used to, what I could do is write my own recipes that I would love. I remember thinking, "I'm sure there are other people who would have similar allergies and would appreciate the recipes, too." So that's just what I did.

My goal was to write two recipes per week for a year. By the end, I'd have 104 gluten-free and vegan recipes and no more excuses for not having food I'd enjoy.

I ended up creating more than the 104 recipes I originally set out to write, which was an achievement I am very proud of. Throughout the year, though, I had also honed a brand new craft that I absolutely adored. It wasn't long until I was getting absolutely lost cooking new creations in the kitchen. Hours could go by and I'd hardly notice. I still feel that way. There was only one problem developing:

My whole life started revolving around cooking.

On the surface, it's not such a bad thing. It's something I love and cooking de-stresses me, too. Except, it is all I can rely on. To illustrate the underlying problem: If I don't have time to prepare food, that can mean going 8-14 hours during the day without eating. I can't just pick up a sandwich for lunch and there aren't many snacks that are affordable/allergy-friendly to hold me over.

"Wait, I don't understand," you say, "Why don't you just set aside more time to pack lunches and prepare food? And surely there must be some restaurants that can accommodate?"


Confession #2: I would rather starve myself than risk eating food that would cause a severe allergic reaction.

There are actually a handful of restaurants in Arizona that have gluten free, vegan options (+ without peanuts, onion, peas, soy, sesame seeds), but they are few and far between. Usually, I can have just one menu item at these restaurants, and it's a 90% chance that I will still be "poisoned" anyway. Servers are unknowledgeable about ingredients, chefs don't read the tickets carefully, and no one takes your food allergies seriously unless you threaten a deadly reaction. (Breaking out in hives 2-24 hours later doesn't count, apparently.)

And could I probably set aside more time? Absolutely. But as it is, I spend about 2-3 hours of each day preparing food. It gets old and it's exhausting. Instead of going to the gym, hiking, painting canvases, or hanging out with friends....I am chained to the kitchen. Or else, I don't eat.

Confession #3: If people ask about it, I'll lie. There are very few who really know what's going on behind the scenes and that's a huge burden.

When most people ask you, "So how's your day going?" what they want to hear is, "Good, and you?" They aren't looking for the real answer. Unless it's your best friend or Mom, say you're doing peachy and leave it at that. It's easier to pretend I'm okay than to explain what's wrong over and over. The explanation is usually met by puzzled looks and awkwardness. No one can fix this thing, and they (understandably) don't know how to react. So I try and spare everyone an uncomfortable situation

Confession #4: Sometimes it's so hard I want to just give up completely. The worst part is that I know I can't.

In all honesty, most of the time, I am doing peachy. I'm an optimistic, problem-solving person who truly enjoys a good challenge. There are just some days, some weeks.....I just want to give up. Close my eyes, fall asleep, and find an allergy-free dream world and stay there forever. But that's not how reality works.

So here I am, sharing my story in hopes that even just one person will find solace in knowing that they are not alone dealing with these things. Incognito food allergies are a bitch. But if I know one thing, it's:

"I am determined to be cheerful and happy in whatever situation I may find myself. For I have learned that the greater part of our misery or unhappiness is determined not by our circumstance but by our disposition." --Martha Washington


All the best,
Britt


Sort:  

I wonder how much enzymes play a role in your food allergies? My lactose intolerance only hits me when I drink "lesser" milk like 2%, etc. Whole milk, with more of the enzymes, is much easier on me, and raw whole milk never gives me a problem. But it's always made me wonder if a food allergy, especially one that evolves over time, might not have something to do with enzyme depletion over time. And there are so many. Do you supplement with any enzymes? My favorites are bromelain (if I have a cold, it clears out the lungs) and serapeptase. Normally I believe in sticking to whole foods, but eating pineapple for the bromelain on a consistent basis would mess up my blood sugar, so I take the pills. And I don't like the taste of silk worms. :)

That's a very interesting thought. I've never read into enzymes at all, so I'm very interested to do so now. Do you have any resources that you'd recommend? As of right now, I just eat as plant-based as possible and have my vitamin levels tested regularly since my diet is so limited. The only thing that has ever come up low is Vitamin D. (I live in Phoenix, AZ so there's some huge irony there! lol)

P.S. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Always open to other perspectives, especially from those who have gone through similar circumstances.

Oh, you're very welcome. When I sold Juice Plus, years ago, the big idea there was that eating whole foods (or dehydrated whole foods in a capsule) contained the enzymes that we cook or process out of our food. I'll look through some of my old Juice Plus literature and see if there's any enzyme-specific info.

I too suffered with food allergies, causing digestive issues, inability to regulate temperature, stiff muscles & joints, anxiety & depression... But over time I gradually eliminated ALL processed foods, anything with artificial or modified ingredients, MSG, GMOs, you know the list... and I can honestly say now I am symptom-free. No more allergies to certain natural foods that my body used to react to e.g. tomatoes, onions, because my gut has healed itself over time and now I eat 100% natural and whole foods. It's been an interesting journey for me, and hope you too can be symptom free one day. All the best :-)

Sorry to hear about all your symptoms... sounds like food allergies hit you pretty hard as well. That sounds sort of like the "Whole 30" diet. I'd be willing to give it a shot if it could provide healing! Currently, sugar rarely enters my diet and whenever I buy food, it's non-GMO and organic (unless no other option is available). About a year ago, I tried doing a leaky gut rotation diet for about 90 days, which may have helped, but only slightly if it did.

How long did it take before you started noticing relief? And how were you able to reintroduce those foods that once caused symptoms?

Yeah, I was completely miserable for about 13 years, feeling ill ALL the time... I was in physical pain & mentally could barely think straight. I was diagnosed with IBS at 17, and fibromayalgia at 26. I really thought I was doomed to feel ill for the rest of my days.

Leaky gut, as you probably know, is where the intestinal lining becomes more porous, allowing toxins to flow into our bloodstreams. This shouldn't happen in a healthy body. It is caused by harmful unnatural ingredients. Our digestive systems simply can't handle these toxins, can't eliminate many of them, and they build up eventually causing immune dysfunction... So we get ill, and stay ill.

Only by cutting out ALL harmful toxins is our body able to heal. They can only recognise and process natutal food. I used to find onions & tomatoes aggravated my digestive system because my gut was already harmed by toxins, but now I can eat them no problem.

Within about 6 months of all-natural diet I no longer had IBS symptoms. After about a year my fibromayalgia symptoms were gone. My eating habits are permanently changed, and I eat only organic natural foods, mainly wholgrains, legumes, veg, fruit, seeds, lean proteins, 'good' fats... I distill tap water for drinking, collect rain water for hot drinks & cooking, and use only natural ingredients on my skin & hair. I don't consume much dairy, due to the processes behind dairy produce. Processes can be just as harmful as ingrdients. I don't follow a 'diet' as such, unless this is called the natural diet! As long as we put the good things into our bodies, we should get good health in return. Sorry this is a long reply, I hope to be of help :-)

That's terrible, I'm sorry you had to go through that for so long.

First, I absolutely appreciate the long reply! It's all very reassuring and helpful. I'll have to give your method a try and be more aggressive with the plant-based approach. If anything, it's probably the corn that's still left in my diet. There's one thing I truly miss since going gluten-free and vegan... the texture of "crunchy"!! So I try and get that through corn chips. Unfortunately, corn is one of the biggest GMO crops in the world, even organic isn't always safe.

Interesting that you collect rain water. May I ask where you live that that's possible?

Also, I'd love to continue the conversation on Steemit Chat if you're interested. 😄

Great idea, I have loads to say on this subject! I've just this moment joined up to Steemit Chat, but not sure how to find people... How do I find you to chat? I can't do it right now though, my bed is calling now my baby is sleeping. But great conversation, thank you! Will be back tomorrow :-)

@woman-onthe-wing, I messaged you on Steemit chat! If you didn't get it, feel free to direct message me by searching my username @sharingeverybite. :)

have you considered therapy?
or rice?

Under "Confession #1" I briefly touch on my exploration with allergy therapy. It's just wildly expensive and not covered by insurance which means it's not a viable option right now. Hopefully in the future though.

What do you mean about rice?

until very recently a substantial fraction of the world's population existed on nothing more than a handful of rice a day. You might give it a shot. When I was in South East Asia half a century ago (gasp...time certainly flys doesn't it?) I witnessed it first hand. Seems bland and uninteresting but it kept them alive.

Wow, that is unfortunate. It's great that organizations are doing their best to battle hunger now. I appreciate the thought, though I'm not sure I strive to just "stay alive" by living on rice.

Sorry for your food struggles. I went gluten-free on purpose because I noticed a sensitivity, but I am not celiac. What an adventure THAT was! Not to mention the scorn from people who think it's there business what I eat, lol! I think there are a lot of people who would benefit from eliminating gluten, but look at the American diet. Most people have gluten foods at every meal....

I second the idea of adding digestive enzymes to your diet. Thanks for sharing & best of luck!

Hiya. I saw you upvoted my first GAPS post, so I came to check out your scene. I just posted the second one, about what foods to avoid, but I see from your history here that GAPS wouldn't be a goer for you - not pure GAPS, and not at this point anyway.
geke's suggestion about enzymes is good, and I'm always a fan of sticking to whole, unprocessed foods, but you might still have to take a couple of other steps.
The principle behind GAPS is to repair the gut, using broths to seal and probiotics and fermented foods to rebalance the biome. The broths wouldn't work for you, with your history of animal food, but you might be able to use glutamine.
The other thought that popped to mind was using energy techniques to "reset" your immune system so it isn't so reactive. If you want to hear more about that, let me know.
Good luck and thanks for checking out my post.

Hi @kiwideb, thanks for the comment. I really enjoyed reading both of your posts. VERY informative. I honestly wish I could utilize the healing properties of bone broth! I read about that everywhere. Unfortunately, I recently had Tom Kha Gai which unbeknownst to me had chicken broth in it and I got very sick.

I'd love to continue the conversation and learn more about how you would recommend applying glutamine (or other measures), and you've definitely piqued my interest on "resetting" my immune system. Are you on Steem Chat? My username is @sharingeverybite on there if you'd like to direct message me. :)

I have messaged you on SteemChat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64407.71
ETH 3414.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62