You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dark Side of Food Allergies: What no one will talk about

in #life8 years ago

I wonder how much enzymes play a role in your food allergies? My lactose intolerance only hits me when I drink "lesser" milk like 2%, etc. Whole milk, with more of the enzymes, is much easier on me, and raw whole milk never gives me a problem. But it's always made me wonder if a food allergy, especially one that evolves over time, might not have something to do with enzyme depletion over time. And there are so many. Do you supplement with any enzymes? My favorites are bromelain (if I have a cold, it clears out the lungs) and serapeptase. Normally I believe in sticking to whole foods, but eating pineapple for the bromelain on a consistent basis would mess up my blood sugar, so I take the pills. And I don't like the taste of silk worms. :)

Sort:  

That's a very interesting thought. I've never read into enzymes at all, so I'm very interested to do so now. Do you have any resources that you'd recommend? As of right now, I just eat as plant-based as possible and have my vitamin levels tested regularly since my diet is so limited. The only thing that has ever come up low is Vitamin D. (I live in Phoenix, AZ so there's some huge irony there! lol)

P.S. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Always open to other perspectives, especially from those who have gone through similar circumstances.

Oh, you're very welcome. When I sold Juice Plus, years ago, the big idea there was that eating whole foods (or dehydrated whole foods in a capsule) contained the enzymes that we cook or process out of our food. I'll look through some of my old Juice Plus literature and see if there's any enzyme-specific info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62