For the sake of transparency let's challenge ourselves with 8 questions

in #life7 years ago

question-2736480_960_720.jpg

Today I want to do something different. I want to create a challenge. There's no rewards in this because I really suck at maths, however this should get you thinking and provide you with some great content to work with for an hour or two.

The challenge is this:

Ask yourself these questions and then answer them for your audience.

Sounds simple, right? Well, there's a catch -- these questions are super hard to answer, and mainly because they are about ourselves, and generally as a rule, most people aren't 100% honest with themselves. So the challenge is to look deep inside yourself and try and answer them as truthfully and honestly as possible. As I'm a great believer in leading by example, I'll go first.

Here goes:

1. Who am I really?

I'm Raymond, nice to meet you. I'm a man that see's the positive in every situation, in every person. I'm a man that tries to draw out the positives of others and teach them to work on the negatives because I believe we can all improve on one aspect of our lives forever. This is my greatest asset and also my biggest flaw. I jump in feet first with love, I forge friendships in cast-iron and try to keep them until my dying breath. I'm hugely forgiving, but not forgetting. I'm strong willed and independent but on the other hand I'm as gentle as a dandelion and can sometimes be massacred by a stiff breeze. I'm hardcore. I've certainly lived the life of a rock star but left that all behind me. I believe in love, compassion and empathy, and I try to lead with this with whomever I meet. I'm not perfect, and I forgive myself for not being perfect. I am the sum total of all my fuckups I've ever made.

2. Are my actions guided by love? Or by fear?

I can't say that I fear much in this world, not even death. Death is the only constant. My actions are 100% guided by the love for others. If I'm pressurised by fear then I tend not to act, and disappear from the fear-givers life.

heart-3042975_960_720.jpg

3. Is the life that I am living the life I want to be living?

Yes and no. I'm on the right path. I feel that this is the direction that I want to be going in and I'm really enjoying the journey, but my ultimate goal is to be supping ice cool coke on a blistering hot beach somewhere warm with palm trees. So there's a way to go yet. I can't say that I'm not happy though. I don't feel stuck, I don't feel like my destiny is being planned out for me. I feel in total control over what happens with my life.

4. Am I holding onto something that I need to let go of?

Yes. My friendship with one of my closest friends who recently ghosted me on social media. I know I should let it go because when I began to better myself then we started to become incompatible. He is a person that places his worth on whatever he owns; cars, houses, jobs, etc whereas I'm a person that places worth on however you feel about yourself on the inside. We started to become incompatible when I began to get irritated with his boasting of how much he owns when I know for sure he doesn't think much of himself on the inside. We had an argument and he ghosted me. I know I should let it go but our friendship lasted for over a decade. I don't like losing friends. As I say, I try to accept people for who they are and understand that there will always be differences between friends. I try not to focus on our differences. I like to focus on what binds us.

5. What matters most in my life?

Honestly? My Son. Followed closely by my wife. Those two are my guiding light. I watch as an observer with those two and as much as I like to be in control I also like to sit back and be lead, because by doing both I can learn from each of them. I've recently learned that I am autistic, and I only learned this from close observation with Alex and realising that his actions are similar to mine. As a high functioning autistic person I feel as though I've learned some super duper coping mechanisms over the years which I plan to pass onto him. Natalie? I literally wouldn't be here if it wasn't for her love and constant support. She helps me in ways you couldn't imagine.

eb358206cbadae9a893dabe24e2831ca.jpg

6. Have I done anything lately worth remembering?

A few things. It's memorable to me anyway. I gave someone some cash so that he could finally purchase the rental property he needed to avoid homelessness. A couple of years back one of my mentee's won a National award. I've also won several community awards. Yeah, I guess I do memorable things a lot.

7. When did I last push the boundaries of my comfort zone?

My comfort zone is very large right now. I think the last time I pushed them was dealing with the school absentee officer on my own when Natalie was unwell. Our school has ridiculously high standards when it comes to absence and Alex being a child with additional needs struggles with 100% attendance. I had to deal with her condescending tone about how I should manage my son's attendance better.

8. How can I be more helpful--to those around me, and to myself?

I know this already. Listen to my wife more. Instead of grunting at her when I'm writing or playing games I need to stop and listen. It doesn't take long. I'm trying to get better than this. Be more loving with Alex. As much as I love him we still clash and sometimes Natalie needs to be the mediator. I am trying to be more accepting around him. Visit my friends more. I suck at leaving the house right now because I'm SO busy. I need to just stop, release the stress for a bit and visit a friend or two!

listening3.jpg

That's it - 8 questions done. I challenge each and every one of you to copy/paste the questions and try them by yourself!!

Think I have game? :)

Check out some of my previous posts!!

Learn to detach from outcomes - it will help you
Are you a manager and are you invested in your staff?
A second, and more in depth Introduction
I want people to like me. Do you?
Support is necessary in a loving relationship
I'm human and I think you are too. Fuck labels. I'm tired of them.
A message for the survivor amongst us (If you're listening)
My vulnerability exposed
Sometimes I feel like a fraudster
How my autism affects being a Dad
So you're going to be a Dad?
I am aware of my privilege but I don't understand it

Join us at steemit bloggers!!

Appreciator%20banner.jpg

Sort:  

This is a very deep post. Those questions makes one look deep into their life. This is a tough challenge. But will make for a very good post.

It will!! And it gives you free content too!

I will search deep and see.

Was nice to read how you answer the questions yourself. And those 8 questions would make for nice content! I'm also planning to make sushi today and maybe post about that... or about my new kitchen tool which allows me to make amazing stuff... lol, will have to find out if I'm more in the mood for soul searching or more in the mood for getting creative with food. Who knows ;)

I'll keep my eyes peeled :)

I feel bad too when i loose friendships! When I realised i was almost loosing my best friend,i tried my best to work it out but he didnt just let it work out. I realized at some point that i had to let go because it takes two to tangile.
Nice one dear! Good questions!

It does feel bad but sometimes it's the best option for your own peace of mind.

Fixing your own light bulb is better than to change it, that is about tolerance or something like that… listening to others is quite a tough challenge… the questionnaire is rather think provoking. To the 5th being sincere I answer: finding a way or a road for understanding what harmony and happiness is, also I quite respect my son Leo 31 and my wife Natalya 60… Thanks for your time and work

Totally! The challenge was supposed to be tough ;)

♥♥♥very well post dear very well your Suggestions i likr it and i aggre with your post♥♥♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55