A SOLDIER INSIDE- MY UNATTAINABLE MILITARY DREAM!

in #life7 years ago

image.png
Image Source

All my life, i had wanted to be in the Army both home or abroad. I have seen a truck load of War movies, tried multiple times to enroll even right from my Elementary education days; i wrote dozens of exams to enter a military academy in my home country but nothing seems fit. Not that i never passed those exams but one way or the other a screw up always come up and my mama will always say "Dear son, you ain't meant to go shed blood nor get killed by a Bullet" to cheer me up!

Up until few years ago i still get clean shaved and get a "warboy" haircut, i used to be mistaken to be a Military officer partly because of my physique and partly because of the way i walk. Then i joined several para-military outfits while in school to get some mild military training. Till my late twenties i still tried out my luck to join the Air-force, but i had a major setback which was back dating my age to a much younger me which i could not stomach.

Everywhere i went, i am told i am intimidating people with my physique which i could not really help. I had been offered Body Guards and Bouncer roles before and i have been advised to try my luck with the State Secret Service to be a secret agent(maybe i wouldn't be spilling my guts now if i had been drafted), but i could i possibly go undercover when i posses a body that sells me out and a walk that reveals me?

That Soldier in me had me partake in several endurance sports and games in my little life, i had done a city marathon in Lagos Nigeria back in 2009 organized by "Global Com", a giant Telecommunication Company with the hope of winning $20 USD Grand, only God knows if i made the first one thousand!

Same year i went to enroll in a Television game show, an Endurance game in some remote forest known as "THE GULDER ULTIMATE SEARCH", i made it to the some stage where we were to swim which couldn't and was screened out. Three times i have tried mountain climbing to the summit of this Gigantic Mountain and i have done some really long hiking without flinching.

9/11

Soldiers-612751.jpg

image Source

After 9/11 happened, the US army needed land troops and when on a rampage to recruit massively. This took them to my Country Nigeria, an impromptu US Army Recruit at the Air-force Base which i narrowly missed for i got the information late. Getting there i was told the recruitment ended two days ago and i literally bursted into tears on my way out of the Cantonment, what exactly is wrong with me? could it be i would have died from the first bullet in Afghanistan and that was what was preventing me joining the army?

The only weapons i could use perfectly are my fist, my punches and my kicks a little bit of Knife marksmanship. I trained in Boxing and Karate in High school and college, but never had the chance to shoot a gun even though i have held and encounter it over a dozen times. My late Uncle use to have Double and a Single barrel gun he used for Hunting in Badagry Lagos back then, maybe he always reads my mind because he always asked someone older to take the Gun from me each time we offload his car after his long trips. I still wondered how thunderous that sound will be from a shot from those heavy duty guns.

If i have had my way into the army, only God knows why my skeletons would be by now or where i could have been buried, but still there is a soldier in me which endures and never give up in the face of my bitterness and maliciousness towards me!



Thanks again for reading my Blog today. Below are some of my latest Posts:

THE MYSTERIES OF THE HUMAN BODY

THE OLDEST BUSINESS OF ALL TIME- PROSTITUTION

A STEEM POWERED VACATION/TRIP(Photo Speaks)- PLANNING FOR A STEEMFUL XMAS!

An Untalented-Mama Poem: Mothers are User Manual to Life!

THAT AWKWARD MOMENT #10 - "IT'S YULETIDE"

THE EXTREMELY LARGE TELESCOPE(ELT)- AN EYE INTO THE SPACE



FOLLOW-UPVOTE-RESTEEM AND MAYBE DROP A SUPPORTING OR CONTRARY COMMENT.....It's your friendly Neighbor @oluwoleolaide for Steem-Lagos-Nigeria-Africa-World!


Badge courtesy of @jodi.pamungka Animated Footer by @rituparnaghosh

Sort:  

I on the other hand wanted to be in the army but a lot of people does not want me to. My mother even sent me somewhere one time so that I could not proceed with the second level of examination.

Oh no, but as a lady maybe i could reason with your mom...she loves her daughter and wants her to stay around.

I actually turned down an offer for the military. Had I joined I'm sure my rank would not be less than a major this year. I lived in the barracks for one year. I saw things that made me change my mind on military. They are the best of men but there's a but to it.

Yes, especially Nigerian Force.....Pardon my unpatriotism!

Lol. The one I passed the offer of was the Nigerian Army. NPF has got some image issues. They really need hypo on their image.

Hypo... But why 😢

Remember police is your friend 😂😂

Super articulate writeup.
Your writing got me enthrilled and so focused. My eyes barely blinked as i read with keen attention.
The military is a great and well respected profession with some issues and risks though.
Nature knows why you weren't accepted on several attempts. But never give up on your quest! Probably, it wasn't even your calling despite the staunch passion and body physique.
So even attempted 'Gulder Ultimate Search'? Can see the military passion burning out in you.
Great article...I had to read twice

Yeah brother, only the heavens knows why i never got in at all levels....thanks for reading

i will always support you man!!!

Reminded me of my elder sistrr, all her life its been one military group or the other. She wrote for Air force so many times still no avail, yet very intimidating physique, she woukd come out after exams jubilating but when results comes out it alway...😣. From their to M.O.D. and many others I was not even aware of. Till now she has that burning sensation for military.

It happens we might just have the look to do somethings but I think they are for a better things instead.

If you never had the heart of an army how then would you be strong at heart to face your challenges like you mentioned above.

Me I kuku don't have power. So cheer up bro. All is well. You are doing fine.

Thanks, all is well😊

You might not have your way to be an army but you are an army for #steemit community and for the whole world @oluwoleolaide

I love the way you reason it here:

If i have had my way into the army, only God knows where my skeletons would be by now or where i could have been buried, but still there is a soldier in me which endures and never give up in the face of my bitterness and maliciousness towards me!

I wanted to stay in the army on the other hand but many people do not want me. My mother sent me somewhere else so that I can not go ahead with the second level exam. Thanks for your post.

You must be a scum for copying someone's comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54