Are you still relevant?

in #life7 years ago

Hello.

My name is Naima and I'm new on Steemit.

I often refer to myself as a grown up third culture kid. Answering the question "Where are you from" can extend to a couple of paragraphs. Where I was born? My heritage? My citizenship? My residence? Where I grew up? Where I studied? Where I worked?

You see, they're all different.

I wrote this post a few years ago, when I was navigating yet another new environment, excited by newness -- my attention span is appalling -- and apprehensive at the same time. Will I fit in? Will I learn fast enough to blend in, to contribute in the blasé manner that's expected? Would I still be relevant?

I hope you enjoy it.

Naima


Are you still relevant?

It hits me every time. I watch as an older person (read: over 24 in this crazy world of Biebers and Zuckerbergs) struggles to retain their tried and true role of being the voice of reason, of wisdom, of experience. Yet, over and over again, I see them in danger of being discarded, not unlike a useless, unrecyclable piece of past-due baggage.

Yet, I know it’s not age or sad state of bodily affairs whereby the physical keeps going south as the mental is continuously north-bound. You see, this kind of loss of relevance can happen to anyone.

Just ask the new kid in the class.

The new kid, who was a football captain in his old school. He is now a nobody.

Or the new co-worker, who used to be the most gregarious in his previous place of work, and is now all but invisible.

alone-1868530_1280.jpg

Or the new neighbour, who used to host impromptu evenings most weekends, and now spends Friday nights alone, staring at four walls.

Or the family leader, who recounted stories of courage and bravery to a rapt audience, and now finds himself longing for a grandchild, a nephew, anyone, really, to spend more than a cursory and awkward ten-minutes with him.

It’s not about getting old. it’s not about moving away from the familiar.

You see, staying relevant has so many dimensions.

It has to do with being aware of context, for relevance is meaningless without reference.

It means being attuned to nuances in the surroundings so you can update your impact on it.

It means recognizing the part can’t work in isolation, just like even a soloist needs to be aware of the backing orchestra.

Above all, staying relevant means you adjust. It means you learn the new context. Or perhaps the context has stayed the same, but the inhabitants have moved on (cheese, anyone?).

It means you improvise with an open mind.

My gut says, and I’m sure that there’s research somewhere out there to back it up, that staying relevant comes easy to the lifelong learner. I’m sure that staying relevant is second nature to those who observe and seek to merge new information with previous experiene to arrive at brilliant, newly relevant insights.

Just like the ex-football captain learns his new team’s play strategies, the twenty-something and sixty-something alike must continue to learn, to observe and integrate their understanding before scoffing off and dismissing new dynamics as fads that are unworthy of their time.

After all, weren’t we all once those impetous young teens that proclaimed to be misunderstood?

Learn. Every day, and in every which way you can. About life, nature, people, anything at all.

Just learn something new each day. It is the one guaranteed way to stay relevant.


Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @naimaonsteem :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

It's hard work to stay relevant, but it's also an effort that should be approached with high selectivity. We're dealing with a highly oversaturated world and not everything is worthy of being annexed in the limited time we have.

"Limited time we have" -- you nailed it on the head @sectual. Thank you for commenting :)

Welcome! Great read, will follow back!

Thank you!!! And lovely to meet you @loockah :)

A big warm Steemit welcome goes out to you Naima!

Upvoted and High Pawed! :-D

IMG_1445.JPG

Flatrider

Welcome to Steemit @naimaonsteem! Nice to meet you. Remember me when you are rich!

PS. Follow @ENAZWAHSDARB for entrepreneurial value content, my blog!

Thank you and following! LOL @ remember me when you're rich :D

Nice to have you on board, Naima! Have fun! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Thanks @bitgeek. Having a ball already :)

Welcome to Steemit @naimaonsteem!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

wooooW!!! I really get this, Naima, I'm probably older than you (I'm older than most people these days, lol) but I'm a life long learner, and I continuously find myself outside my comfort zone and I'm forced to learn as I go along. You're SOOOO right about what you say. Thank you!

Congratulations @naimaonsteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04