[Blog #28] Working Backstage | Washing Bicycle | Baking Bread

in #life6 years ago

Hooray Readers! Working backstage on the blog today, decided to share anyway to show that I'm as normal as you.



Photo by Miguel Carraça on Unsplash

Hey Readers, today I'm slow with the insane Travel Stories blog, mostly because I'm working backstage trying to align all the projects I'm participating in, being @CycleFeed the most demanding one.

Speaking of which, if you don't know, Cycle Feed is a curation project run by me, @robmolecule and @twowheeledmonkey with the intention to warn people to the important role the bicycle has in the lives of people all around the world - it's a clean method of transportation, great exercise and can bring awesome people together. In Cycle Feed we are reading and curating each day tons of posts by fellow cyclists, that itself demands attention and care to evaluate quality, so we can give our quite generous upvote.


On top of that I'm in the middle of my demission process, which will give me extra time as soon as it's done. Once the papers are signed I'll be full on Steemit. Be ready because I'll release insane stories like a machine gun \o\. 

Now the funny thing...

Because I'm leaving my job and working online, most of my friends think I have the dream life, which is partially true. I cannot complain - writing, studying photography, riding my bicycle without any particular place to go, planning big bicycle tours, sharing beautiful pictures - it all sounds fantastic. But they do not see the backstage.

Worrying because money is running out; not knowing what will happen in the future; not having money for things; making contacts; thinking; building projets; helping people and in the middle of all the online duties find time to do the real life duties. Remember folks, seeing a pretty picture that I posted is just the tip of a huge iceberg of incredible efforts to get there. By the way, I'm not even close to be successful.

Why do I encourage people to come to Steemit then, if it's so demanding? Because you'll make amazing friends along the way. Isn't it enough? All the rest will be a great bonus.

That being said...

I took some time to wash my bicycle in preparation for some trips I want to do on the following days.

If you are a bicycle traveller or plan to become one, take into account that bicycle maintenance is one of the most important things you'll have to work on. A clean and well maintained bike will last longer and it will be easier to spot if something needs replacement. So, clean and inspect your chain once a week, oil it if necessary; also inspect the hubs, headset and wheel locks to check for any sign of loose parts.

I'm preparing a video showing the cheapest way to clean a bike after a trail, but for now I'll have to leave you with pictures of how my cike was after some days of trails.



Mud everywhere!

Don't leave this mess on your frame.

A clean Derailleur grants precise gears.

Brakes are sefety! Take good care of them.

The only tools for cleaning were:

  • Neutral dish soap;
  • Dish sponge;
  • Water;
  • Two tooth brushes to clean the chain.

Remember to use as little water as possible, the Planet Earth thanks!

Now, if you really want to know how clean and oil a bicycle, manifest your interest on the comments and I'll do a full post focused on bike cleaning. I think it'll be useful.

To end the day...

I baked bread, YES! Nothing beats a homemade bread, my recipe is the simplest you'll find, it just requires time for the dough to rest. Apart from that it's just flour, water, yeast and salt. Check that out!

Photo Series #35: Food Photography | Simple Homemade Bread + Recipe

The above is an old post, so don't bother wasting your vote on that!


Homemade Bread - The best of all time!

As you can see the simplest of the days can be awesome if you remain positive, that's the message for today. Keeping your enthusiasm and motivation on simple tasks like baking bread or washing a bike is what will help you to achieve biggest goals - you need to value every single activity, not only the greatest deeds.


Would you like to know how to clean and oil your bicycle? Leave a comment down below, let's see hot it goes.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Music: Cream | London | Mate & Steemit

Monday Morning Quote: "Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm"

[Blog #26] Sick Again | Mind Blocked | Free Writing

Creative Writing - A collaborative novelette | Part 2

[Blog #26] MTB training | 35 Km | Evolution With DSLR camera

CO-FOUNDER AND CURATOR ON:

A PROUD MEMBER OF:

Sort:  

Love this behind the scenes. That bread looks great. I'm not sure when you're while you're washing your bicycle when Buttercup needs a wash. May lots of steam dollars come your way. You should be rewarded for your positivity persistence and loveliness alone. I am so jealous that you aren't working.

And you should be rewarded for being a great lovely friend! I'm so glad one day I commented on your intro.

If one day I get to Australia I have a feeling that I'll live inside Buttercup, \o\

Now, will you still be jealous when money runs out and I move in below the bridge? hahahahah

Love you

Oh no - @mrprofessor the bridge troll! I'm sure it'll come your way... xx

Or I could build a hidden hut in the hidden forest! Yeeeeeeeeees

Parabéns, seu post foi selecionado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas no Steemit. Obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

Wooooooho, grandes presenças! Comunidade brazuca cada vez mais forte.

you are going to do very well Arthur...lots of talent..good stuff!!

Thank you @yankee-statman, even if I fail I'll keep on trying to show people that through positivism and enthusiasm they can have a better life, even if it's a simple one.

Lovely support

Nice, It's true, when we say that we are working online, people think that it's the best work ever, (and it is) but they think that is easy without effort.. haha, nobody see the backstage... Keeping working my friend, good things are coming :D

Lovely comment @sweetdreams! Indeed working online sometimes is much more demanding than a regular work, but it's way more rewarding too, especially when we meet a bunch of cool friends.

Thanks for passing by

A guy at my bike shop recommended using mineral spirits to easily wipe the road salt off a bike frame. It seems to work really well. Obviously this is just a problem in climates with lots of snow in the winter.

Oh yeah, I don't like using a bunch of water too. It wastes too much and takes the oil out, so a good option would be to use a rag, I'll record how to do it soon.

I also used WD-40 (https://www.amazon.com/WD-40-Multi-Use-Product-Spray-Smart/dp/B0083V8H0I) for cleaning the chain and very dirty parts (except the brake discs'). worked pretty well. generally it could be used as both cleaner and lubricant.

Yeah, I've tired it as well, but I leaves my chain way too sticky.

Have you ever tried one of those silicon based oils? That's what I use, one drop per link, chain keeps shiny and dust doesn't stick. It lasts 60km till you are supposed to oil again

I should buy one.

They are great, not so good for rain though.

Not much rain here...

Yeah, for you it's the perfect match, this silicon based oils don't catch a lot os dust.

The lube made specifically for chains works much better than WD-40. I guess it works as a a degreaser though.

Yeah you're right, it works best as a degreaser, but as i haven't bought those lubes, so i'm using it for both, it's better than leaving the chain with nothing though.

I read some stuff on the net, some vote completely against using WD-40 and claimed it's better leaving the chain dry, instead of using WD-40, but mostly it was said that WD-40 also contains a light lubricant which is good for light applications link hinges not bike chain, though it's better than leaving the chain dry, and some said it's not the best but good enough.

So, any way, you're right, but as long as the bike is working with out making any noise, i assume it's OK, don't know if it's a good judgment or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61682.60
ETH 2986.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51