Photo Series #35: Food Photography | Simple Homemade Bread + Recipe

Heyho steemians! What a sunny day! Entry to #foodphotography. Simple homemade bread + Recipe


My first time entering food photography, I wanna bring something different. Have you ever appreciated a freshly home made bread? How does it feel?

The photo is not a super elaborate and beautiful food, nor the recipe is super complex. It's just a super simple and tasty bread.

I've learned this recipe from a sailor. On a sail boat, things need to be simple, practical and yet very good, otherwise there's no point. When I first experienced how I could produce my own bread I've stopped buying it at the supermarket, less industrialized food for half the price.

Less talking, more action.


Simple Homemade Bread + Recipe



You are going to need:



  • 500g Wheat flour - Type 1
  • Natural dry yeast
  • Salt
  • Water
  • Utensils (pan and spoon)


Steps:


Put 500g of flour in the pan + a shallow spoon of yeast
Add a shallow spoon of salt

Add water. No more than a cup, but this is tricky. You'll have to feel the dough: You don't want it completely dry, nor too wet.
Mix everything with the spoon. You can add more water if you feel it's too dry.

The end result is something like this.
Cover it with a cloth and leave it for at least 12 hours (yes, it's a lot). The more time you give, the better the bread will be.

Extra Steps:


Obs.: I don't have pictures for this part since I've just prepared the dough and I wanted to post. But don't worry, it's easy.

After you wait at least 12 hours you'll notice that the dough expanded quite a lot, covering almost all the pan. This is what makes the bread so soft and delicious.

There are some small steps before you can bake it.

  • Add a little more flour to it, so it'll not stick to your hands nor to the pan.
  • With your hand you need to kneed the dough, just enough to make it more compact and to give it a little form.
  • Now take a cloth, put some flour on it, put the dough ball in there, wrap it and leave for another 1 hour.
  • After the one hour you can put the ball inside a pan (the one you'll use to bake).
  • Make two cuts crossing each other on top of the dough.
  • Let it bake in the oven for 20 min (time will depend on your oven, check until somebody says "it smells like bread" xD or when it starts to get a golden colour. DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN TO CHECK, it'll loose heat.

Tips:

I prefer to use a normal pan to bake, just make sure you took the handles off or they'll burn.

I prefer the bread round, but a square form is optional, just make sure you are not using a pan that is too big, or the bread will be thin.


Hope you guys enjoyed this simple recipe, it takes less then 10 minutes to put everything together and there's no need to knead. The secret is in the rest time.

I like to prepare it during the evening to bake the other day during the morning, nothing like a freshly made bread, right?

If you liked it or have anything to add please, leave a comment down below. And most importantly, if you try it at home give your feedback!

A great day for you all



#foodphotography

Hope you all enjoyed and thanks to @photocontests and @juliank for hosting this amazing contest idea, you are really encouraging me to look for my travel folders and bring the photos to public.

I'm Arthur. I blog about Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tunned for more info and tips.

10 LATEST RELATED POSTS:

Photo Series #25: Sports Photography | Kitesurfers at Laguna Garzon

Photo Series #26: Golden Hour Photography | Windsurfer

Photo Series #27: Landscape Photography | Mad Max Scenery

Photo Series #28: Vehicle Photography | Good Ol' Harley Davidson

Photo Series #29: Architectural Photography | Lighthouse Stairs

Photo Series #30: Golden Hour Photography | A great day at the beach

Photo Series #31: Landscape Photography | Beagle Channel

Photo Series #32: Vehicle Photography | Indian

Photo Series #33: Macro Photography | Noise Maker

Photo Series #34: Golden Hour Photography | Peace and Fishing

Sort:  

Yummm 🍞 bread!
Sounds like a awesome recipe!

Not sure if I've told you but I like
the way you write, the humor and info :-)

Awesome, thank you @shasta!
Your should try to make this bread, it's quite easy. Or you can wait till I decide to go to Alaska by bike, may take some time though hahaha

I will give it a try forsure! I do like making
bread, homemade tastes so good and nice
fresh warm bread sure melts in your mouth!

Never know we might meet you halfway
someday! lol

This looks really good. I make sourdough (i have posted a really simple recipe if you are interested) but i would like to try some other easy breads nd this looks practical to make if you were travelling. Thanks for sharing.

Your are welcome @riverflows. Thanks for commenting!

Your have some delicious recipes there, definetely gonna try! Now that I know the basics I can start upgrading my breads hahaha

I'd like to try to make bread on a clay oven, have you ever tried?

No, I haven't. I do make my bread in a dutch oven in the oven and have been looking for a long time at how to do it in a firepit. I guess you just bury it in coals and hope for the best! I have also made ovens out of clay, as in with mud and straw which make amazing pizza/bread ovens - have you done that? Maybe I'll light a fire this weekend - I have 5 acres of land to do it in so I dont have an excuse except 'time'! Let me know if you try - maybe we can race each other to it as a challenge!

And I'm really glad that my recipe for basic sourdough might get you started on sourdough! I always find it incredible that just flour and water can make bread!

have also made ovens out of clay, as in with mud and straw which make amazing pizza/bread ovens - have you done that?
I've never tried that, but as far as I have time to go to my dad's ranch I'll try it. My grandmother had one on her farm, incredible how those ovens last for a long time.
I have 5 acres of land to do it in so I dont have an excuse except 'time'! Let me know if you try - maybe we can race each other to it as a challenge!
hahahaha I'd accept the challenge, but i'm in the city working and planning the next adventure, the only space I have is my dad's ranch, 2 hours from here =/

I've had to leave your profile hahaha It's making me hungry!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 21:40:11
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 375.92/400.00
Total Photos: 39
Total comments: 48
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43