Social Events Are Tiring, But It Can Be Delightful

in #life7 years ago

IMG_3330.JPG

At a friend's wedding. A good, loyal, position 5 Dota 2 buddy of mine. Taught him how to play, now he supports harder than I ever did.

I have always seen Dota 2 as a metaphore to life. There are resemblances of life situations in the game - more than most people would care to believe. 5 guys a side, and exactly 5 winners at the end - no more, no less. Some would go for glory, at the expense of that 5-man trophy. Not Daniel Ruslee though. This guy REALLY wants us to win, ALL the time.

The man is such a nice person. Took up a child out of sympathy for a kid. Mother's a stranger to him. But Dan did not care for a bit. Whenever there's a new movie coming up, a kid-friendly one, he'd take the boy to go see it, and he'd get all the merchandises those cinemas put on the shelves, just to forge a smile on the kid's face.

Passion is what he has in abundance, and is always spent on the right things. I used to remind him when he was starting up that in Dota pubs, you don't play the heroes - instead play the players. Heroes with the right build is hard to kill, but a well built hero played by an angry, clouded player is always killable. And played those fools he did.

IMG_3324.JPG

This (above picture, on the right) is not Dan. This is a school friend of mine of 8 years, we used to be in the same class, and he also happens to be the bride's cousin. Stumbled into him at the wedding. Used to be a wreck in front of people.

Anyways, back to the point of this post. The one in white, second from left is the man Dan.

IMG_3329.JPG

I may not have as much money the guy has to be spent on people I care about. But what I do have is an excellent set of friends, with an amazing collection of knowledge and experience, and that Steemians, is what I will bring to the table. Much like that kid is to Dan, I hope I can bring some smiles to you guys and many others as I tread this path.

To sign off, I offer you my first post, together with my buddy, Dan, and we both bid our hellos to all of you beautiful people.

Maulord, out.

(I'll be posting more later. This is only one of two events I had going on at the same time. It's the festive season here in Malaysia and everyone is serving food to everyone. A WHOLE LOT OF GOOD FOOD. I'll share some of them with the rest of yous in a bit)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @maulord I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey, that's nice! Thanks! Still figuring out how all of this is supposed to work. What's a tip, if I may ask?

aaannnddd I just realized your name hahaha that's a legendary name! Boaty Mc Boatface. Did they actually named the boat that or they just scrapped it at the end?

Welcome to Steemit @maulord! :c)

This Dan person sounds like an exemplary human being. Both in and out of game. I do wonder if games helped to forge the best of his character (thinking out loud).

OK this was less of an introduction of yourself and I look forward to that. Dan is fortunate to have a friend who appreciates him as much as you seem to do. :c)

Since you're new here, a quick read through this post may prove helpful.

Exactly what I need, thanks!

Yeah, come to think of it this is more of a 'Hello World!' kinda thing, not sure if there's a tag like it so I settled for the nearest one haha!

Nevermind, I'll do a long one about me after this. Still figuring how to post stuffs nicely. @pathforger

Ah well you are welcome. :c)

There are various good 'markdown' topics on steemit but this is a relatively recent one.

Markdown (or html) can help to improve the aesthetics of a given post.

Hey we all make tag errors. My latest post is an absolute train wreck in tags because I was delirious from fever. ;cP Experience and good health helps. :c)

All the best with developing your personal brand - and your Steemit presence! ^_^

Welcome @Maulord its good to see more people around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

Thanks @chrisx ! Same to you too. I'll check you out for sure.

Welcome the Steem and hanks for jumping in. Looking forward to some of your food posts.

sure thing, @justinf ! They are coming up, that's a promise :D

Welcome to Steemit!

thanks man!

Hello @maulord. Welcome to Steemit. I am David. I wish you have a happy journey here.

Hey @davidzack , thanks for the wish! If all of us do our bit, surely it will be a pleasant adventure, yeah?

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Congratulations @maulord! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60460.59
ETH 2624.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55