IS AGE JUST A NUMBER AND DO WE REALLY STAY AGELESS, INSIDE? MY RESPECT TO ALL MOTHERS !

in #life8 years ago

“Inside, we are ageless and when we talk to ourselves, it’s the same age of the person we were talking to when we were little. It’s the body that is changing around that ageless center."

So, This David Lynch quote and also Gertrude Steins: "We are always the same age inside." provoked me to think about my upcoming birthday more than I usually would do.

photo by Anja Matthes ((photographer and filmmaker) , one of my best friend and my daughters Godmother

Let me give you some ideas why I believe to embrace every birthday as a new “ Born-Day “ and how it feels to visit your 90-year-old mother asking her such questions.

Are you in your 20’s?

Ok, You probably might scroll on to a trending story. Why would you care about age or even death, still so young with your whole life waiting for you?

Did I ever think what might happen after life? Infinity was a word beyond my understanding until I looked into the death angels eyes. I did twice at very young age. After a heavy car accident I had a brief but intense after death experience and this changed my path. Since then, I live my days without thinking much about my tomorrow. Easier said as actually done .

Did I ever want to grow up? No, As a six year old, I was obsessed calling for the magic wand helping me to fulfill my wishes, to be spoiled forever and always be cared for. I refused to have the same responsibilities like my parents who struggled from one month to the other.

Somehow it all went way too fast.

Hopefully, you will reflect for a second, think of your own mother, father and grannies or those wacky old people crossing your path. Let them tell you their stories. You might be surprised. Once they were as young as you are now.

- AGEING GRACEFULLY or DISGRACEFULLY

You got a choice.

Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional. ~Chili Davis

I truly believe in aging with pride, elegance, class, style is ageless. I do not intend to age disgracefully. I trust what Mother Nature planned for all of us. Our outer beauty might vanish but our smile will last. It took me quite some time to accept who I AM so why would I cover up and hide the truth, why would plastic surgery be an option to damage my soul, just because my boobs started hanging? Oh no, that's not a philosophy of an independent and confident woman or should all experienced sisters put some playboy bunny ears on to impress? I don't think so! >Take me as I am or watch me as I go.


- REAL BEAUTY COMES IN ALL AGES

Age aint nothing but a number” Yeah right! Ask men, your man, maybe my Ex or explain this to a teenager: “ Mom, now you are old! ” Oh dear, this was the first slap in my face.

She is right. I am but then I remembered I am not that old yet :

Nobody grows old merely by living a number of years. We grow old by deserting our ideals. Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul. ~Samuel Ullman

- FIND YOUR INNER CHILD AND BE AS SILLY AS POSSIBLE, THE OLDER YOU GET

SO WHAT!

The day your own child calls you immature standing next to you at some concert, embarrassed what her school friends might think; Mom! Pleeease don't start dancing now “.

It’s time to question your behavior and stop making a fool out of her and myself, maybe or just ignore it? Exactly Darling, I am childish indeed and what do I know about responsibilities? How did I actually get that far? I guess I deserve to be a little immature and a big laugh once in a while. Living life can be such a drag and way to serious.

Get up, out and put your red dancing shoes on, Mama’s!

Plato’s Theory of Aging might give you an interesting insight

He who is of calm and happy nature will hardly feel the pressure of age, but to him who is of an opposite disposition youth and age are equally a burden - Plato

- SMOKE “A PEACEPIPE” WITH YOUR MOTHERS BEFORE ITS TOO LATE

This is a crucial one if you had issues being the black sheep of the family. Just recently,I went back home to Austria to visit and spend quality time with “Mutti. I really enjoy hanging out with her more than I used to, living too far away to see her regularly. She radiates pure joy, the moment I open the door to her apartment. It’s extremely hard for me, feeling guilty, to see her that weak, vulnerable and helpless. She was not always smiling softly; she was a very strong woman who would never take a rest. She was rather intense and quite controlling but now she is sweet. Her eyes are glowing of forgiveness. Why didn't I see this side of gentleness about her before? She was so patient for all those years waiting for me to be back home. Her letters full of well meant motherly advice followed my gypsy blood boiling all over the globe. I would run so fast and far away from so many shadows. I was on such mad runaway mission, never wanting to turn nor look back.

I had my reasons why.

I never listened to her enough. I still remember, telling me to always check out the mothers of my boyfriends first before I continue to go out with them. She got a valid point indeed! Why didn't I hear her words of the wise advice of an experienced woman back then, I could have stayed out of lots of troubles with my partners? -

-GENETICS FOR THE BETTER AND WORSE Mom was always gorgeous and still is a hot babe; she smokes 1 cigarette per day but now she gets a bit dizzy as she said and its no more fun for her. She loves it when my friends tell her how young she looks, acts like a shy teenage girl before blushing. You can never give enough compliments to a woman.

She cannot move her hands anymore, cannot write, cook nor clean and forced to sit in front of a TV Screen for the whole day. She calls it torture. One day she was falling over some cable on the way to reach a telephone call and couldn't find the strength to pull her back up again.

It breaks my heart to imagine how it must feel to be so helpless as a grown up. She never needed help for anything, when she was young. She said, she cried, lying on the floor for hours.

She is mostly alone, lonely. Her only friends left are those soap opera characters and their tacky destinies she follows every day. All her sisters died except the older one, age 92. Her brother was killed in the 2nd world war. She doesn't hear much, pretty much nothing. The volume for her radio always turned up to the max that you have to shout if you wish to have a little chat with her. Oh well, maybe better not to hear nor see everything anyways.

After a general check up I was told that I lost 50% of my hearing as well. That’s what happens when you are standing next to speakers for most of your life, with blasting bass in your ears and I got my Mom’s genes.

I look so much like her. She was not lucky with the choice of her men. I wonder if this has something to do with genes as well? My father left her when all children were out of the house and her second husband chose to be with another woman divorced her at age 89. He was 11 years younger. Bastard!

I am the third of 4 children she raised and adores. One is my older sisters daughter. I thought she was not the best mother for most of my life. I wished for more, better and different but I was wrong. She tried her best like most good mothers would do.

I apologized.

“Whilst you are a youth, think about the aged; whilst you are an aged, think about the youth” ― Ernest Agyemang Yeboah

LIVE YOUR LIFE and forget age – she said!

So, Tell me, what to do for my 58th birthday? . ……BOTOX or more TATOO’s?

Yours

@Mammasitta FOLLOW

www.mammasitta.com

my Blog : www.massivevibrations.com

Here is my very first post ( I never blogged before ) : Is Motherhood THE ULTIMATE of becoming a more Powerful and “Beautiful” Woman ?


Sort:  

This is a wonderful post!! So tell me, did you go for botox or tattoos...?? :)

Have you written anything about your after death experience? (Perhaps I will find it as I carry on browsing your blog!). I'd love to hear more about that.

I truly believe in aging with pride, elegance, class, style is ageless.

Yes, yes and yes! It's the best and only way to do it, surely.

Cheers!

Tatoooooossssssss of course hahaha!
Jumping in for my beautysleep and more tomorrow 💜 I adore your energy in your stories. Somehow I relate to the younger version of my soul sister hehee

Haha of course! Thank you so much, it's really fantastic to have met you @mammasitta!! [High Five !!]

Your mum looks not a day older than 70! Wonderful post by an inspiring person. Happy birthday!

Wow! How did you find this :) Danke Liebes! freut mich sehr Dich wieder zu sehen

Posted using Partiko iOS

Meine wöchentlichen Haikus sind ja noch da :-) Freu mich aber auch, dich wieder zu lesen. Long time no see ;-)

bursting at the seams with creative soul... :-)

I'm back on the #steemit madness block 💃💃💃 and stay true to myself who I am .

Awesome post and some great photos too. My mom lived to be 94 and was amazing till the very end of her life. Forget Botox and Tattoos go do something you've never done before. Keep Steemin on my friend.

Oh that's so sweet to read your reply 👠🍒❣ 94 ! Wow ! Aren't these ladies amazing ?? Nice to meet you and thanks again

Your story is very inspiring! I almost got hit by a car and it was like everything stopped.
Your mom looks so sweet. I'm sorry that her health is not that good.
Happy birthday! Maybe if you get a new tattoo you should share it with us.

Thank you so much for your time reading. Makes me really happy ! Our mothers deserve to get their stories told ! I will be with her for my birthday

That's very nice of you! I'm sure she will be very happy.

I saw you had finally a nice trending post . I am happy for you !

Thank you! I loved your comment on that post!

by one of my favourites : José Micard Teixeira :

Sometimes, I look in the mirror and I realize I'm no longer that 20 year old kid who used to play music in bars, drove around slowly in his Kawazaki in the city streets to be seen and admired, loved to seduce german and dutch women who used to camp in the camping park, and who had stopped studying for the french classes in the Institut Français to cover for his mother, who was suffering from a long term illness. I'm no longer that kid who was a father for the first time at the age of 24, who dreaded responsibilities, but who always kept a smile on his face. I'm also no longer that adult who decided to become a company manager and when he was 30 years old became general manager, who twelve years later gave up all of that to follow a dream, who lost everything and went broke, who didn't give up and always believed in himself and in what he wanted to accomplish. Today, I look in the mirror and I notice a few grey hairs, wrinkles and moles that weren't there before, details that make me think with a smile across my face about my fifty-four years of age and about all the things and stories I've lived. However, when I look myself in the eye, deep down, I recognize the same look of always, that look that saw me throughout all my ages and that today smiles with no fear of what's to come. I became a loner that stopped fearing loneliness. I'm happy in my own happiness.

@bombaybellyrina here it is :)
@nia-knighty I just saw the email yeahhhh !!! It's happening Girl !

Great post. Luckily as time moves on people tend to age more slowly. Hopefully science will find solutions to help people to live more fulfilling lives and have less disability as they get older. That is the primary purpose of Life Extension research.

Oh well , sometimes I'm not sure if I want to live a long life . I'm already curious how it is on the other side 😜👯

Well you can't live forever but if science can make it so that you can live your life to the full until you die I think it is fantastic:)

You got a valid point ! All I wish to stay as healthy as possible .

Well done Mammasitta.

I have learned so much from my mother and I know my days with her are limited. I enjoy our Sunday dinners, every now and then, and don't know what I would do without her. My other three siblings don't live near her and she misses having them around. I like to reminisce about my childhood and show her old photos of my two brothers and sister to help her along. It seems to cheer her up when she longs for her family.

I like what you said here:

SMOKE “A PEACEPIPE” WITH YOUR MOTHERS BEFORE ITS TOO LATE

This is so true and I hope one of my brothers will figure this out before it is too late. Anyway, great post and thanks for sharing it with the Steemit Community...... P.S. another Tattoo or maybe a trip to Vegas. (happy birthday)
:)

I was a very selfish daughter , left when I was 17 . I am so thankful I woke up in time :) nice to hear from you again and hopefully your siblings find their hearts and remember where they come from . It's not so easy . Keep in touch and keep on keeping peace 🙌🐬

Oh , I am in Bali now and off to Munich visiting friends for my birthday and then off to Vienna to watch TV with Mamma ( I never do that and it's a huge sacrifice ) haha !

lol very nice.... You will have to do a follow up post on your travels. :)

Only a few hear those words when your young and free, it takes time and pain for us to hear it x

Rock ON mammasitta!

  • From another ageless 57-yr-old!

Hahahhaa!!! I'm glad to meet more of our generation . Need some back up ! 🙈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88