[Episode2] BACKSTAGE BALI, Turn To Ash ! Celebrate Life & Death

in #life8 years ago (edited)

NGABEN comes from the word ngabu, which means, " Turn to Ash ". This Traditional Balinese Cremation Ceremony is a sacred ritual performed to send the deceased to another life beyond the one we know. It is one of the most important rituals to complete the circle of life. The burning body will release and free the soul to be reincarnated from all restrictions of their loved ones worldly life.

original photos with my iPhone 5S - Hipstamatic app 

Balinese Beliefs About Reincarnation  (Source: Bali A Traveler’s Companion and Bali Tourism Information Book )according Balinese Hinduism, is a continuous cycle of birth, life, death, and rebirth until one’s soul is purified and thus unified with the God. Rebirth or incarnation, called Punarbhawa/Samsara, is one of the five chief principles of Hinduism, aiming to get Moksa the perfection and holiness of the soul. Balinese believe Moksa can be reached through four corridors, Brahmacari, Grehasta, Wanaprehasta, and Bhiksuka. Those steps have their own purposes. Brahmacari is the period for gaining knowledge as much as one can, then continued by Grehasta; period for building a good marriage without leaving knowledge, Wanaprehasta is the period for starting to leave the secular world, and finally Bhiksuka is time when one has succeed in leaving secular world and using his knowledge to help others. Before someone reaches the fourth step, s/he won’t be able to reach the perfection and holiness, and instead would go through the first step again. 

Do You believe in Reincarnation? I do !

What would I prefer, I thought many times observing various rituals like The Body Washing Purification Ritual or other happenings, visiting families guarding the bodies over night for a few days sometimes. (I will write more about those in my follow up episode.)

"Please burn me in that fire and scatter my ashes all over the ocean into freedom." 

I am glad my father decided to have a cremation as well against all religious odds. I wished I could have celebrated in Bali with him instead of witnessing 5 minutes in a cold soulless crematorium in Vienna. 

Looking at those pictures and you will understand why. 

I have learnt in Bali that It is shameful to cry for the dead! 

Balinese do not cry because the tears would hold your soul back from leaving. Who wouldn't want to go to paradise, the heaven of absolute happiness as quickly as possible? I never thought much about my death before I came to this fascinating island because dying is associated with such heaviness of sadness. I hate funerals since my father’s mother, my awesome, kind grandmother, I loved dearly left us when I was around 10 and the thought of her being in a coffin all-alone was horrifying. I had nightmares for weeks seeing worms crawling on her body. 

Balinese Hindus celebrate different stages in life, especially death, helping to move on from the previous life. Such ceremonies can be extremly expansive depending on the wealth, caste and prestige. Some families cannot really afford high costs, so they have to wait to join with others to hold mass cremations. 

 

Please read here for more details : There is mystical quality to the way death is perceived in Bali. 

I was lucky enough to witness one big event last year with approx. 5000 visitors, which is held every 5 years as I was told. The week before the members of the banjar, village community brings gifts to the families. 

BUTENET reported: Every 5 years, it's time for Cremations. People are buried temporarily until this time, but they must be cremated "as otherwise the path to reincarnation is cut off". It's possible to have a separate cremation without burial, without waiting, if your family is willing to pay the substantial cost.


My maid invited my airbnb guests and me to her village where a vibrant procession, a joyful parade like atmosphere held with many colorful "lembus" used as buffalo shaped containers. I was speechless of such breathtaking beauty, devotion and respect for human beings. The moment all fires have burned out, the ashes of bones are separated and taken to the ocean. 

I cannot count how many of ceremonies I already attended in the past 16 years but this one was very unique and special. It lasted the whole day filled with magic, the sweet smell of incense and flowers. 


I found this article and thought you might like to read it. I am a big fan of David Bowie and respect him even more for his admiration of this rich culture; I have learnt to live with. 

The Balinese Cremation Ceremony Admired by David Bowie By Jessie Guy-Ryan 

When David Bowie’s will was made public, it revealed plenty of the unique details you expect from the legendary figure’s final requests.Among the most interesting was the singer’s instructions for his cremation. As the New York Times reports, “Mr. Bowie said in the will that he wanted his body shipped to Bali and cremated there ‘in accordance with the rituals of Bali.’ But he added that if cremation in Bali were not possible, he wanted his ashes scattered there nevertheless. Bowie’s appreciation of Bali, and Indonesia as a whole, can be traced back to a trip he took with friend and collaborator Iggy Pop, which was recounted in the 1984 song “Tumble and Twirl.” The lyrics don’t indicate that Bowie had the opportunity to observe a Ngaben—the traditional Balinese cremation ceremony he was likely referring to in his will—but it’s no surprise that he admired this beautiful and elaborate ritual.


             

                   

                   


Yours 

Mammasitta 

More about BaliOHBali and onARTBali

- [Episode 1] Intro for BACKSTAGE BALI and What else A Tropical ISLAND has to offer besides EAT, PRAY and LOVE?  

- Meet Pak Wayan , The "Unknown" Balinese ICON , How A Tour Driver became an Art Collector of Indonesian Treasures

and many more ......



Sort:  

It's such a healthy thing to have a culture in which those who pass have funerals which celebrate their life in a joyous yet respectful way. Western culture is quite frankly f&cked up with the way that funerals are handled and making death a subject to be feared and never discussed.

The last one I was at was a miserable dank affair and I knew the girl in question would have wanted everyone to sing and dance and be happy not at the fact of her death but to celebrate her exceptionally vibrant and full life.

I think I am trying to say that I really like this post :0)

That's super sweet of you to like my post. I know too well what you mean ! That's why I stopped to go to funerals and wish for a huge "party" instead where people have a good chat , food and dance instead of seeing falling faces and tears . Tears of joy are much more attractive :) I am very thankful for everything Balinese culture and people taught me . I see the world with different eyes 🙌💃

Beautiful, Sincere respect ... I love that.

JTS

Amazing pictures and some of the Balinese traditions are nice especially:

I have learnt in Bali that It is shameful to cry for the dead!

Thanks for sharing this with us. :)

I am glad you appreciate my adventures.
Big smiles , no tears as you can see here :

That's a resting deceased right behind me . I'm sure he was happy to see me sitting next to him for a while

Whoa! I didn't figure that out until you told me!

yeah I understand .....as I said , I have learnt a lot . I am not scared of dead bodies anymore as I used to be as a child

Thank you for sharing this. It seams like a beautiful ceremony. I didn't know that they don't cry because the tears would hold your soul back from leaving. That's very interesting.

Yes it amazes me that people seem to be happy because they can help their loved ones to leave . Of course Balinese are also sad but they learn from small on that its the circle of life and natural to die . They have a supportive community and big families and don't feel lonley. They accept death in a different way .

@yogi.artist can't believe your vote just rewarded me with 1 cent :) I wish I could do the same for people but I will be patient until I can pay back and forward

Well done, thanks for sharing with us :)

Need to teach you some Balinese cooking :)

Wow! This was a real eye opener, thank you!

I've learnt so much from this read, and I'm keenly looking forward to the follow up.

What a beautiful culture this is; and so beautifully represented through your conveyance and imagery.

Awesome post :)

It's madness in a way ! The first years I was blown away . I got used to it already and now I pick out the special "candies" because it's so much going on here , Everyday something . You gonna love it ! I am ready for the western world after seeing your Austrian photos I miss my mountains Nite nite !

I'm looking forward to "adjusting" to a way of life that resonates with me. Can't wait :)

Yeah, I agree with you @meesterboom, parts of our culture in the west are dark and morbid in comparison really - Many elements seem to cause spiritual dissonance. Well, total spiritual detachment in some cases. Maybe that's the entire point; to sterilise souls and replace with pomp and procession.

Yogi it is difficult to embrace this culture fully because it is so deep and even though I live here for a long time it is sometimes still hard to understand all of it . Their devotion to God is endless and constant . To be honest , mine is not but it was easy to learn how to celebrate death as much as we treasure our life . I can sit next to a dead body helping to guard while eating and chatting the night away without being disgusted nor shocked.

The unyielding devotion of all, to God, that serves as the central thread to all that one is and does, sounds like Bhakti yoga to me!

To be able to sit there in peace, chatting and eating as you did, in what objectively, could seem like a very odd and abstract experience , show's a deep level of acceptance and maturity.

Whilst I understand that the Balinese predominantly practice Hinduism. It reminded me, as soon as they can, many buddhist children will be reading The Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying, instead of watching My Little Pony and chasing Pokemon. Yet I'm always seeing discontented kids, in the west, who quickly become fed up with the latest toy and again hunger for the next temporary distraction, which soon comes in the form of glorified war-ification ......then I read an article about 1 Million Children Meditating For World Peace in Thailand.

You just mentioned one of my favourite books . You are special

great article, thank you!

I really loved this part "I have learnt in Bali that It is shameful to cry for the dead! " and the words following it :)
That's mostly what I feel about death! I always tell people I want them to celebrate when I die; either I go back to some place or it's just an end of one amazing bunch of experiences. Either way is cool with me. Noone needs to shed a tear. :)

all the best,
yourmate

So sorry I didn’t vote here but I just discovered your reply :)
Never cry for people who have the chance to leave our planet to find paradise .....maybe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44