You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Episode2] BACKSTAGE BALI, Turn To Ash ! Celebrate Life & Death

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Wow! This was a real eye opener, thank you!

I've learnt so much from this read, and I'm keenly looking forward to the follow up.

What a beautiful culture this is; and so beautifully represented through your conveyance and imagery.

Awesome post :)

Sort:  

It's madness in a way ! The first years I was blown away . I got used to it already and now I pick out the special "candies" because it's so much going on here , Everyday something . You gonna love it ! I am ready for the western world after seeing your Austrian photos I miss my mountains Nite nite !

I'm looking forward to "adjusting" to a way of life that resonates with me. Can't wait :)

Yeah, I agree with you @meesterboom, parts of our culture in the west are dark and morbid in comparison really - Many elements seem to cause spiritual dissonance. Well, total spiritual detachment in some cases. Maybe that's the entire point; to sterilise souls and replace with pomp and procession.

Yogi it is difficult to embrace this culture fully because it is so deep and even though I live here for a long time it is sometimes still hard to understand all of it . Their devotion to God is endless and constant . To be honest , mine is not but it was easy to learn how to celebrate death as much as we treasure our life . I can sit next to a dead body helping to guard while eating and chatting the night away without being disgusted nor shocked.

The unyielding devotion of all, to God, that serves as the central thread to all that one is and does, sounds like Bhakti yoga to me!

To be able to sit there in peace, chatting and eating as you did, in what objectively, could seem like a very odd and abstract experience , show's a deep level of acceptance and maturity.

Whilst I understand that the Balinese predominantly practice Hinduism. It reminded me, as soon as they can, many buddhist children will be reading The Tibetan Book Of Living And Dying, instead of watching My Little Pony and chasing Pokemon. Yet I'm always seeing discontented kids, in the west, who quickly become fed up with the latest toy and again hunger for the next temporary distraction, which soon comes in the form of glorified war-ification ......then I read an article about 1 Million Children Meditating For World Peace in Thailand.

You just mentioned one of my favourite books . You are special

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44