The Stray Dog Motorcycle Mishap: Injured Due to Some Annoying Dogs

in #life7 years ago

Ever since we've moved in theres been this pack of dogs by my house that's been needlessly aggressive towards us since the day we moved in. A few members have changed but the result is the same, crazy barking every time we do anything that grabs their attention (including leaving the house) and occasionally even attempting to attack me. I say attempt because I know how to deal with aggressive dogs and those attack attempts always end in the dogs running shrieking when I chase them back.

But these dogs are getting old. It's been nearly two years and they're getting more aggressive if anything. We did our best to befriend them at first...for like a year and they just wouldn't stop. They love to chase the truck and have nearly been run over so many times. They also like to attack us on the motorcycle and yesterday they caused us to crash. This isn't our first close encounter on the bike, we've accidentally run over a dog before because it was trying to bite the front tire as we were driving towards it.

It was a lot of factors that led to the perfect storm which ended with the bike falling on John and I in front of our neighbors house. This is the same neighbor with a newborn baby and has been equally fed up with the dogs barking at us. The neighbor likes us and has been known to chase down dogs and beat them for getting aggressive with me. So when he came out and found our bike on the ground with us both chasing the dogs away in separate directions he was about as angry as we were.

We exchanged "lo sientos" or "I'm sorry"s and smiles. We picked up the bike and assessed the damage, which was there but not much. Just enough damage to make it annoying but not enough to break the bike. The pictures are of my hip, which has since been cleaned and treated with weird common purple disinfectant. I got a pretty deep gouge on my hip from a rock that I actually ended up pulling out of my hip. Gross. John's pretty scraped up and sore too.

Needless to say, we're fed up. Of the.....30 or more dogs that live in this neighborhood those are the only ones that act like that. I'm actually on friendly terms with many of the dogs further from my house. For whatever reason, these dogs continue to hate me but now that they've hurt me, I'm not being nice anymore. That could have gone a lot worse.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Scoby and Clay Mask Lily's First Attempt at Naturally Clear Skin
Lily's Secret Weapon: Neem Oil What it Is and How to Use it
Lily's Magical Healing Tea with Cinnamon Nance Leaf, Catnip and Mint

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunrise: John's Early Morning Capture
Acapulco Sunsets: Early October Colors
@modprobe's Mansion: Fixing the Waterfall in the Pool Photos and Story

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

OUCH! glad you guys weren't hurt worse, but this looks bad enough. it's true... i've yet to see an aggressive dog here... wonder what it is with that one or two... rabid? stay safe.

as for your gash, i cannot proclaim the healing virtues of coconut oil loudly enough. this gash, which got no stitches, is BARELY SEEABLE now. it shocked me how easy it was to completely heal this rather deep wound:

https://steemit.com/health/@erikaharris/the-powerful-speedy-wound-healing-qualities-of-coconut-oil-proven-with-a-recent-gash-on-my-head

My theory with these dog lies in a cross between their being inbred and the fact that we're the only white people on this neighborhood of pretty dark Mexicans. I know my first dog Smoky was racist to black people because for the first six years of her life she was raised by only white people in a little rural town. When she moved in with us in the hood she had a hard time not freaking out when she saw our black neighbor, despite us being friendly with him and his dogs. I thought it always had to do with the fact that she'd always seen people with light skin and the one with dark skin threw her off. I was the lady walking the dog apologizing to the dark people she barked at with lines like "She's a rescue, from the country, I'm sorry"

But couple that with some dogs that are pretty much retarded and you've got a pack of dogs that's pretty stupid and scared of some white people LOL They bark at like no one else.

@lily-da-vine: i have encountered racist dogs before, and it is a trip! i mean, with people... i can at least wrap my head around the learned hatred and undisturbed ignorance... but for an animal to behave that way... it's kinda sad that i've come to expect more egalitarian behavior from THEM, then i do two-leggeds... and usually, you CAN count on it to be that way, lol they usually sense your VIBE (which is truly how i want to be seen/sensed, anyway), not your portfolio or ancestry.

just like Smoky may have had a memory of bad treatment from a black person, these ruffians on your hill might have a memory of bad treatment from a gringo? though that seems unlikely as you guys are pretty much the first to reside there.

you're so cute, to have apologized for your country dog :-)

Yeah I know dogs tend to freak out on about anything that comes their way out of the routine. I've seen dogs that couldn't be around kids for that reason. It's "you're dark/light/tiny/huge/male/female and I think that's weird" lol.

As for our hill, we're the first gringos to come. Our neighbors if anything have the impression that we sleep all day and do nothing based off my skin color and eye color but I can't blame them LOL. So I just do by best to break the norm.

As for smokey, It makes a difference when the owner recognizes the issue and makes up for it lol. She had no clue she was being racist XD

I'm so sorry for your injuries. For the record, I am a big animal lover but if this pack is doing this to humans, they are most assuredly killing other animals. In the absence of responsible humans, it might be shotgun time, for your safety and the safety of others.

You're right on that. I've seen this pack of dogs dismember a cat just to leave it.

Ohh good Lord you are ok @lily-da-vine. At first I thought you're bitten by dog the wound looks scary but the color is cute in purple. Seriously this is something that must not happen too scary.

Nope. My hip collided with the dirt road, gross.

Okay, though it is painful, still dog bite will be more worse.

Oh wow!!! I thought the purple disinfectant was a bruise and was amazed that you didn't break a bone. Can anything be done about the aggressive dogs? Are they strays? I'm so sorry you got hurt. I hope you heal soon.

OMG what a horrible situation.
In my city I have many problems with aggressive dogs at night when I ride my bike, it's very bad.

It is a case to warn local authorities to solve the problem.
Good luck in your recovery.

I live in Mexico where stray dogs are the norm. However, aggressive stray dogs are not the norm, usually they just follow begging for food.

We have no issues anywhere else. It's just these dogs.

I get it.
Remember to prioritize your safety. If there is no solution and the attacks continue, kill the dogs. It's sad but it's life. If there is no solution, it is better to kill than to die.

I'm more likely to kill them then call the cops....

Yes. Legitimate defense.
Good luck, I hope it solves the situation.

ouch that must be very painfull. I had a few crash because of hitting a dog.
they are cute, and when they go dumb, it can be paintfull. 😃

get well soon

Nice blog that you are writing. Photography and story also pretty good! go ahead @lily-da-vine

All throughout the mid-west these stray packs of dogs are getting just like the pigs and going full wild and causing a lot of destruction. After one of them came into my yard and started chewing my small dogs neck i had to shoot it in the gut with my .22 air rifle. The next day i followed the bloodtrail and it got about a mile down the dirt road and died. They also get at the chickens and rabbits if not controlled.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41