Scoby and Clay Mask: Lily's First Attempt at Naturally Clear Skin

in #health7 years ago


I think it's time to get a little personal guys. We've all got our imperfections and of all the things about myself physically that I'm insecure about, my skin is probably the worst one. I've had acne for as long as I can remember, and I do things to make it worse like picking at it. Couple that with skin disorders like rosacea and you've got a pretty sore skinned and itchy Lily, most of the time.

Anyone that's met me in person knows what I'm talking about and recently I've been taking small steps to try and fix it. I figure much of it is due to diet and toxins, but stress plays a role to. So last night I pampered myself as I bought some bentonite clay to play around with and made a facial mask....which was an interesting experience. I took these photos to share it with you.

I am familiar with the idea of using a scoby as a base for facials but I'd never tried it. The closest I got to smearing scoby pellicle on my face was wiping it down with kombucha vinegar, which makes it tingly and fresh. So I blended up some extras and mixed them with the clay, smearing it on my face. It didn't stay very well but I could feel the vinegar from the scoby, as I harvested it from my vinegar jar.

Next time I'm considering coating a scoby side in clay, then just laying pieces whole on my face, hopefully to better effect. I didn't get much of either the clay or scoby to stay in the condition it was after blending.

This is the clay in question, evidently good for everything from an upset stomach to a spider bite. We shall see.

While I myself wasn't feeling very selfie worthy, I will note that the tiltable adjustable screen on my camera is STELLAR and would be perfect for anyone selfie obsessed as you can adjust the live view to see what's going on the whole time, like I did. As I realized I wasn't going to be happy with just about any picture of my broken out face, I settled on this one.

And here's a shot with the mask on, as you can tell it was spotty at best, but I got thoroughly drenched with the kombucha vinegar which left my skin feeling so soft. Partially due to the fact that it wasn't hot due to rainy weather, I didn't really notice my face get oily in the same places.

Check out some of my other recent posts
Living in the Clouds:Clouds All Day
Fancy Ham and Cheese Wrap Photo Shoot
Stormy Day in Acapulco
Instant Pot Butter Fried Potato Slices with Ashed Goat Cheese Recipe

Sort:  

HA I Love this post! Feels exactly like how it would go for me ( :

It was a learning experience...that taught me I know nothing about this beauty stuff hahahah

haha same here (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47