Camera Shy: Dealing with Camera Anxiety for Future Memories

in #life6 years ago

Something I've learned in the time we've had our cameras is that nicer cameras are less forgiving and I find myself wanting to be in front of the lens a lot less than others. This is partially due to the fact that I'm extremely awkward and find the idea of posing myself to be honestly weird and perhaps a bit fake even if it's not.

Recently I decided to suggsest liberty lady Avens O'Brien do some sort of guide on the topic. Anyone that knows her name knows she's got posing and modelling down. Within a few minutes another friend commented and said they too needed this guide, forever not knowing what to do with their hands.

Now I suggested she do it on Steemit or her website but she put some pretty in depth answers right there that I've decided to share to Steemit myself.

Here's the first bit, about posing as a whole. I appreciate the brutal honesty:

** The biggest trick is a very narcissistic practice.

Take a day when you feel really good about yourself and sit in front of a mirror. Look at yourself, turn your head this way and that, try various smiles and pouts. Figure out what looks good and what doesn't from your opinion. The mirror is the camera. When you move your head just so and you look in the mirror and you like the "shot", focus on your muscles (mentally, internally) to figure out what they're doing. Your chin is where in relation to the "camera". What does your smile feel like from inside your own mouth? Do you put your tongue on the roof of your mouth when smiling to boost your cheekbones and drop your chin? Which side of your face is facing the "camera"?

Then when you have the chance and someone's taking photos, recreate as many of those internal feelings in your muscles as you can. Where is your chin in relation to the lens? Etc.

Honestly that's the best way to learn how to post in photos. It's terribly narcissistic, but get in front of a mirror and learn how you feel when you look the way you want to look, and commit that to muscle memory.**

And in regards to hands:

**Oh hands. Play with them. Put them around people in the photo, put them behind your back (easiest), or frame your face with them.

One time I had a zit on my chin and every pic of me that I could pose for I kept doing that cheeky thing where I'd hide my mouth behind my hand and do wide eyes.**

Some could argue (even myself at a point in my life) that it's not worth learning how to pose yourself in photos. At this point in my life as I consider my future I would rather learn to pose myself now and not have to worry when taking say, a photo with my child in the future. With the way most of the photos of me recently look, that's not necessarily how I want to be remembered.

Avens thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I still think you should consider doing an in depth guide.

These photos were actually taken before that conversation. They're actually part of why I asked her because I feel a general anxiety when photos are taken that I'd like to deal with.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

You Gotta Dread Your Heart Before Your Dread Your Head: Lily's Dready Journey Explained
How to Tame Your Dreads: Dreadhead HQ Toolkit
Craft Adventures: Adjusting Messy Bun Hat Patterns for Dreadlocks

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

McGriddle CopyCat Breakfast Sandwich
Aca Moto 2018 Photo Post 2
The Best Deep Dish Pizza, Step by Step

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

You have struck an uncomfortable topic for many people, I am sure. I think the pictures in this post are very good. Such a simple, and peaceful pose you have in them. And the ones with the dog are the best.

AWEsome .^^.

I get where your coming from about posing in a photo as being narcissistic, but in the end a photo to me with friends and family is for the memory of that moment. When I think about it I would much rather look happy and outgoing than to myself in those moments, even if it could be a little fake. A picture really shows what was going on in that moment whether it be sad or happy, but outdoing it a little helps the happy moments seem happier too me. Only feel this way cause I used to hate taking photos for these same reasons. Great insight, thank you for the post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99