Fighting Off The Birds Of Death For Love

in #life7 years ago (edited)


The wifey wanted some pictures of Hummingbirds to do a post about the homemade food she makes for them. She was trying to snap pictures of them all morning and part of the afternoon but didn't have any luck.

Every time she would go on the back porch they would fly away.

Me, being the dutiful husband(or glutton for punishment) decided to give it a shot.

Little did I know it would take approximately an hour, two (almost) hummingbird attacks, and an arm turning to jelly before I would accomplish the task.

Hummingbirds are very territorial and the idea of getting a 3-inch deep beak incision almost made me give up the job.

But I couldn't do that, because

Source

If they truly wanted to attack me, I would be "up the creek without a paddle" as they say. These creatures are the super heroes of the bird kingdom.

Do you really think I can outrun a bird who can flap its wings 200 times a second when in a dive? Not to mention their brain. They have to be the MacGyvers of the bird kingdom because their brain makes up 4.2% of their body weight.

Could you imagine MacGyver with the speed of Usain Bolt? That could catapult him past Chuck Norris on the Baddest Man On The Planet list!


Source

So, there I am risking life and limb to get some hummingbird birds of death pictures. We had a few discussions while I was out there.

I mean these boogers eat all the time. My wife fills up their feeders at least twice a week and in my best bird speak I told them:

"Tweet tweeeety tweet chirp kaw kaw clack whistle whistle cluck coo." Translation: Go ahead and keep it up. I know you need food because your metabolism is 100x that of a dang elephant. I'll cut off the gravy chain if you keep messing me.

I swear they didn't care because they were sticking their tongues out at me while eating.

What kind of junk is that?

In the end, I'll keep feeding them because I kind of feel bad for them. Most hummingbirds die in the first year of life, so why not make it pleasant for them while they are here, even if they are rude?

Not to mention, they are kind of cool to watch.

Top Picture Source, Other Pictures/Video by @lexikon082, unless annotated.


Video Of Hummingbird Eating

OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote, resteem and FOLLOW if you desire! I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!


Awesome Veteran Logo Designed by @guiltyparties

Sort:  

Tweet tweeeety tweet chirp kaw kaw clack whistle whistle cluck coo.

I can hear tweety bird now. "I thawt I thaw a putty tat."

You're a good husband @lexikon082.

I'm just glad no one was there to see me with the hummingbirds. I might be in a straight jacket right now, lol.

I've been reading a Love and Marriage Series by @hope777 which has really helped. But the verse from Ephesians I read the other day about Christ giving himself up for the church and how we should love our wife in the same manner stabbed me right in the heart. That's a powerful statement and makes me want to improve even more as a husband.

Lol, sometimes I wonder how God laughs at those moments.

That verse in Ephesians gets me too. You certainly write as a husband that loves his wife dearly.

Now imagine some hummingbird sneaking at your windows for 2hours trying to get a shot of you eating .

Lol, you have a very good point! Thanks for the laugh that was a good one.

This post has received a 100% upvote from @feedbackloop, a new growth experiment being conducted on Steemit! Thanks for your participation @lexikon082. If you would like to learn more about the experiment and potentially receive a 100% up vote click here!

I love hummingbirds but don't think I want to be attacked by them. It's amazing how fast those buggers fly! Last year I had 4 hummingbirds that came to the feeder regularly. One of them was so noisy! It's like it did a bird's version of

"Ahhh. belch"

after every sip. It was kind of funny but it's the only time I could identify one bird in the wild. lol

Being able to identify a bird! Now that is downright insane!

We have quite a few hummingbirds and I truly wonder if it's the same ones every year. I love to watch them fight, because what's better than aerial combat?

I am seriously thinking of making a humming bird feeder hat for next weeks #steemitcampfire.

That would be so cool! Especially if you could hook the camera to your helmet. I'd be afraid of getting pecked in the face though.

Hey, if I get pecked to death than Steemit could possibly make international news. Hmmm, I don't know if I am in a self-sacrificing mood this week...or ever.

I had to chuckle as I read through your article! My dog and I were once held hostage by an entire army of robins! They even had guards posted all along my fence ! I could imagine them coming after you in a similar fashion only a lot faster! Sad that most don't live past a year...

Yes, it is sad that they only live one year. They are pretty remarkable birds.

I couldn't imagine guards being posted. I would be a little freaked out.

They had a nest on a low hanging branch and I was out mowing. They intimidated me enough that I went inside to get my dog honking he'd scare them off so I could finish. They chased him right back inside! It was crazy...

Lol. If the dog's running..I'm running too!

Well, I am his guard mommy. It was supposed to be the other way around, but he's a bigger chicken than I am...so we had to go with an alarm system on the house instead. Ha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33