Homemade Hummingbird Nectar With Photos

in #recipe7 years ago

At our house, we love all the birds that frequent our yard and bird feeders. We know the names of some and others I still have to look online to figure out what they are! Of all the birds we see, our favorite is the hummingbird.

We have three feeders that we fill about once or twice a week and the store-bought nectar is expensive! Not to mention it's not healthy for the hummingbirds. So I make my own.

It's just sugar water that you boil and let cool.

I'll start with the ingredients like I would for a regular recipe:)

Ingredients

4 C. Water

1 C. Granulated Sugar

Add both ingredients to a pot and mix together. Bring to a boil and stir a couple times until sugar is completely dissolved.

Keep boiling for about 5 minutes then take off the heat and let it cool until it's room temperature. Pour into your hummingbird feeders.


DO NOT ADD FOOD COLORING!!!
I can't stress enough how horrible it is for the birds!


After I put the food out it doesn't take any time for the hummingbirds to show up!



The hummingbirds at our house only have one problem...


Thank you for reading my post:)
If you enjoyed please like and follow me for more awesome posts plus weekly recipes!

All photos by @curly-q

Sort:  

good for you to share this post...i love birdie & kitty
thanks for sharing

Thank you:)
We love our birdie visitors even though the cat tries to eat them haha!

hahaha...hope the cats dosnt catch up!
you seem very sweet...do read up my post on family versus office and some other current posts..
am sure you like them
regards

Nice post. I love birds.
The only problem is that there no hummingbirds in our country, just plenty of cats.

Thank you:)
Oh no what country do you live in?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31