Alcoholism: 78 Days Sober. Withdrawal Symptoms...Almost 3 Months Later?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The last week or so has been interesting for my body and mind, to say the least.

  • My mind has been foggy.
  • I've been forgetful.
  • Sometimes I feel disoriented.
  • Decision making has been tougher.
  • Energy levels have been plummetting throughout the day. I've been taking naps that sometimes last for hours.

Hmm..maybe it's a getting older thing?

At first, I thought it's because I'm getting older. I'll be 35 this year and 34 has been interesting on my body, to say the least. However, things were getting progressively worse in a short amount of time.

I left the stove on. I had to ask the kids which one took their eggs boiled or fried(something I've known for years). I even had to think about how to unlock the door the other day.

The last few days I started to get worried

Then I ran across a post from @sash-pacino.

Now, the past couple months, I have memory loss, and I just have a hard time remembering things. But I read about the affects of recovery and they say that it's normal.

The research begins

So of course, I look into this deeper. Yep, @sash-pacino was right.

It's called Post Acute Withdrawal Syndrome

Everything my body has been going through is on the list. Guess when it peaks? 3 to 6 months after sobriety and can last for as long as two years! I don't know how I didn't notice this the last time I jumped on the wagon in 2008. Maybe it's because my body was younger and I had not consumed alcohol for as many years.

I just want to know why this isn't in the This could happen to you if you become an alcoholic pamphlet. Those people suck for not letting me know about this before I became an alcoholic. I'm of course kidding. But this is something I sure wish I had known years ago.

So what am I doing?

From what I have read, I need to take more B vitamins. I take a multi-vitamin now, but I am going to find one that focuses on complex B vitamin intake. I will eliminate all caffeine after two in the afternoon and consume Chamomile tea before bed to help accomplish a more rested night sleep; to hopefully eliminate the crashes I am having during the day.


Who would have ever thought the physical/psychological symptoms of withdrawal are still apparent months down the road?

You learn something new every day.

1 2 3



Submit Questions for WolfDawg To Answer Every Saturday

OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow if you desire! I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!


Awesome Veteran Logo Designed by @guiltyparties

Sort:  

I guess im trying to quit too

You can do it @kevbot! Lots of community here to support you.

You are doing great @lexikon082. B vitamins are a great idea, and chamomile sounds tasty. Keeping you in our prayers.

Thanks @lydon.sipe. I've never had chamomile tea, but we are picking it up today when we are in town to buy food the 4th of July BBQ. I appreciate the prayers.

Perfect. Enjoy your BBQ!

This must be difficult to actually feel your memory effected? Very inspiring keep it up! 2 Years is a short time at the worst for a lifetime of fulfillment.

It's a strange feeling indeed. I would say I am more frustrated with myself for allowing it to get to this point where I have to deal with withdrawal symptoms. I do agree 2 years(if it lasts that long) is a short amount of time when it relates to the rest of your life. Thanks for the reply.

The frustration is warranted of course but don't be frustrated with the past you can't change it! You can dictate the present!!!

but don't be frustrated with the past you can't change it!

I do agree with you. I tell myself those very words each time I do feel frustrated.

I know what your going through and I wish you the best of luck. I remembered when I was off the drink and I felt like a big bag of crap for along time but it gets better everyday! Hang in there my friend!

it gets better everyday!

I know that how it will be but it's nice to hear that from someone who has gone through it. I will hang in there.

Great to hear my friend.

Yeah. I did a lot of reading. There are a lot of stages we will go through over the years. Thank you for the mention. And good luck to you on our journey.

I should probably do more reading myself. You are very welcome for the mention. I am glad I ran across your channel or else I probably would not have found out about this information. Thanks for the good luck wishes and I wish you a strong journey too.

Just chug some B12, D and Iron pills and you'll get back to normal. Likely related to it being summer and hot as fuck rather than the liquor.

Thanks for the advice.

I don't have alcohol addiction but I do have a smoking addiction. I've lost count when I quit (again) and there are very tough days when I only want a drag... just one...little...drag. But I went through a similar thing months after I'd quit when my body felt like it was broke down on the inside. I was so sick! My lungs felt worse than when I was smoking up to 2 packs a day! I was like Fuck This! If I feel this bad quitting, I might as well keep smoking! Well, thankfully that was just a moment of weakness and I powered through without lighting up. The struggle is real. You can power through it too.

Thanks for the share. Goodness, I'm going to be a hot mess for a while because quitting smoking is my next thing on the list. I want to get sobriety under my belt for a while before I dive into quitting smoking.

Yes, I will power through this. During my reading, I read quite a few people relapse during this stage just to get rid of the withdrawal symptoms. I will not be one of those people.

You'd better not be one of those people! I might be a flip-flop wearin' Floridian but I've still got my shit-kickin' boots, Frank, and I'm not afraid to use 'em. LOL

You don't have to worry about me being one of those people. Still been tired as I don't know what. Just woke up from a three hour nap lol.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $25.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Oh noo :(( I'm a little sad to hear that you're feeling poorly and could potentially feel poorly for another 21 months!!?

Hope that you find some way to cope with this! Pop more multivitamins and maybe supplement with Iron pills. Also get a healthy dose of sunshine, exercise more, and play memory games? hehe maybe that'll help with the failing memory part..

Four months on my side. Some amazing 'quit-lit' out there which helps power momentum in the sober journey. Nice post! Look forward to hearing how you get on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85