Alcohol Free for over 2 months

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Good morning steemit. As I drink my coffee, I have something to say. And I'm proud of my life changing decision.

It may not seem like an achievement to some people. But I have battled for years with alcohol. April 21, 2017 is when I decided to give up alcohol. I won't go into too much depth about myself. But I will tell a little.

I have been drinking every single day for years. I knew it was unhealthy. But I didn't really think I had a problem. I wasn't a violent drunk. It didn't really affect my parenting, aside from being tired in the morning. But it affected the way my brain functions and was killing my insides. Physically and emotionally.

Alcohol was always there to help me bury my bad memories an experiences and guilt. It would help me sleep. The crazy thing is, all the pain it helped to hide, it was only temporary. I would have to keep drinking to keep feeling it.

So I made the decision to quit. The first week was horrible. Felt like I was being ripped out of my body. But then I started to physically feel better. Now, the past couple months, I have memory loss, and I just have a hard time remembering things. But I read about the affects of recovetyt and they say that it's normal.

But, all of the pain and depression has come back. I used to have issues with nightmares, and they are back too. It's all good though. I'm beating this thing. I will be around for my kids for a long time. I won't be weak again. They need me. I meed them. This is for my family.

20161231_203359.jpg

My name is Tommy. I'm a recovering alcoholic. I have now found a new healthier addiction here on steemit.
Thank you for reading.
Life is a team sport
Keep in steemin.

cup-of-coffee-1.jpg

Sort:  

Wow so inspiring, you found a better addiction indeed XD, Laila.

Cool :) You're on the right path !

That's a great step buddy. :)

Way to go Tommy! I am proud of you man. Kicking alcohol addiction is no easy task. Stay connected with your fellow man and take it one day at a time. Depression and nightmares are another beast. I try to fight those demons by surrounding myself with my family(because like you , I love them very much and they are my world) and staying on a schedule. It doesn't always help with the nightmares, but it makes it seems to help as my body knows its on a schedule. There is a product I have been looking into for soldiers with PTSD called Night-ware to help with nightmares. I am patiently waiting for its release.

Stay strong brother.

Thank you. I'll look into it. Because, I am battling a lot of things and ptsd is one as well.

Way to go buddy! Resteemed!

Thanks for sharing and being open about it. We all have some brokeness inside of us, and it doesn't help with drugs. Keep ffff fighting.... Im not a jesus thrumper, but I will pray.

Awesome, I'm proud of you . Keep up the streak friend!

Facing our demons is how we overcome them. Good luck with your journey. You are correct...your kids need you and you need them.

ohh its great to stop that..so you will be very healthy surely mate...followed and voted...coffee is good thing to our body..

An new addiction traded for an old one. There's still things to get cleared in your head. Hope you find a way to fight your demons.

Nikky xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75