Growing older is bringing more calm to my life.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Growing old definitely changes how you think about things, I have got to agree when some say old age mellows you. I have mellowed loads since turning 50.

I was very stubborn and angry, things would wind me up and once I blew up I wouldn't give up. When I think back to how much energy I have wasted over arguing about things that really don't matter at all, they did then for some silly reason. There is definitely more to life than having nice things and going to nice places, Now as long as my bills are paid and there's food in the cupboard I am happy.

I think back to me arguing with hubby spending so much time spent on his hobbies and not spending enough time with me, Now I am over the moon when he goes off to golf as I know he is going to be away for a good 4 hours. I then know he will come home in a good mood and I will be calmer as he hasn't wound me up. He's not bad really, I can come and go as I want as he can, I am not his keeper and he is not mine as long as my family are OK. We all need to have our own time, to do our thing and to take our minds of the responsibilities that life brings once you are an adult.

Being a child is an experience you will never experience again, a time where you can relax and not think about the bills or what's for tea, that time is soon over as my daughter is now just realising that being a child is time to be you, where you can be selfish but once family is involved and you have responsibilities you have others to think about, bills to pay life does become harder. So our me time means even more to us.

Now if something goes wrong I think its not the end of the world, it will get sorted and no one was hurt, when life gives me a bad time, I start to think well its giving someone else a break and its not going to kill me. I am becoming more positive where if something would go wrong I would turn it around that the world is against me, I am cursed, someone hates me. Really no problem can't be sorted. Those silly fall outs I had with my hubby where I wouldn't speak to him over something really stupid now I just get on with it and even tell him to relax its not the end of the world.

Maybe I am growing up... At Last

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

@karenb54, life is so much easier for me now days. I don't worry and I'm thankful for every minute. Love this post.

Age def brings calmer tboughts thank you :)

If it is true old age softens people, I can see, the experience that one acquires makes you take things in a different way.
Excellent post dear friend @ karenb54 congratulations.

Thank you :)

@steemittalk I have just had time to really listen to this, Thank you for making me famous haha BUT that picture is me, I am 53 this year, this picture was taken a couple of years go after my daughter did my make up and hair, believe me she used a lot of make up, NO I AM NOT 75 lol . My post was mainly about realising what is important, I used to argue with hubby about everything, now we get on I don't worry about the little things . When your young you worry about to many things, stupid things that really can't be helped, breaking something, losing something or even saying the wrong thing. Those things don't matter anymore. Don't waste your time arguing with your partner or child over simple things. let them go and move on. Thank for reading :)

human nature into children when she gets old

Thanks for the reminder of the benefits of getting older. We do need our time to ourselves and the ability to recharge. I'm so much happier now that I have let go of many of the things I tried so hard to do when I was younger.

There aren't many benefits but realising what's important is one

Oh dear ! How do I relate to those words ! Very nice to meet you

Thank you nice to meet you too :D

Nice story...Wait until you hit 70 and see how calm things get! Upvoted & followed!

Oh no Im just getting used to be over 50, 18 more years before I become that wise :) Thank you

I'd like to live until 70 to find out! :)

I'm sure you will...There's really no big trick- just don't die!

LOL
I tell my kids not to die doing anything stupid because I'll be really angry with them. As for me...we don't have longevity in the family tree so at this point I'm closer to dead than not. o_O

I had a professor in college who said he was the only male in his family to live past 55. As of 2010, he was in his 70's and going strong. If we knew about genetics what we think we do, we'd have it made. I wouldn't worry about any "longevity gene" and live for today and tomorrow will take care of itself!

Huzzah and amen to that! I'm already the odd ball in the family so why not live longer too? :D

A lot of my friends joke that I was "born old," so I am not sure exactly how much I have mellowed... but I definitely don't take things quite a seriously as I used to. I also find that I "make time" to sit still and do things like meditate, or do something quietly creative (write, paint, etc.) without worrying so much about whether or not "everything" has gotten done.

I am starting the meditation journey too. I have mellowed alot hubby says so too lol

I meditate every day, not traditionally but for visualisation, really helps to train the mind. Repeat every day for 30 days, sets your believe systems apparently, and helps focus. :-) Might stop the hubby getting clips round the ear when he is misbehaves.

Well thats an added bonus for him. I am going to give it a good go thank you :)

I think it does balance out your emotions somewhat. I am still a hothead but it is better than when I was younger.

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/827906164520255488

I can be at times but no where near what I used to be. Lol

I think as you get older you realize that what you are auguring about is not all that important. I used to argue a lot with y wife - we are both passionate people with strong views on certain things.

But I soon realized we were both arguing the same thing, we both agreed but we both wanted our view to be the view that was accepted.

She would say 'the sky is blue' and I would say 'No it's not. Blue the sky is'.

Both saying the same thing, both not listening to the other's side.
Sometimes we argue just to have an argument because we are annoyed at something else.

But as you get older, you start to see that this is not a fun game to play any more, so you stop and have cuddles instead. :-)

My words of wisdom are: cuddle your hubby. It's never a bad thing to do ;-) hehe

Very true, all the energy and time we have wasted over silly rows, so much better to just let it go :)

So true. it seems so important at the time to argue. But afterwards, you just wonder what the hell was that all about?

I ow follow the cuddle rule whenever my wife want's an argument. She hates it hehehe.

When she is building up a head of steam, I give her a cuddle and it goes away and she can't argue with me.

That's my super power - the power of the cuddle. hehehe

Ahhh your her superman :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43