When 2 Music Men start pushing buttons: A Live-Looping / Live PA performance. (Video)

in #life7 years ago

Queries & Phi

Greetings Steemit,

I had a buddy stop by a week or so ago, bringing some musical buttons along for funzies, and so we proceeded to make funny beeping sounds with our devices. I've known this friend almost exclusively in musical interactions throughout several years, and he's honestly one of my favorite Humans to just hook everything up and be like "Ok, lets see what happens!"

Here's the raw video of my buddy who performs under the name "Queries" and myself (dj Phi) jamming on a Live PA setup.

I have no idea what hardware/software/VSTs my friend was using that night - I was playing on a Maschine MK2 with a M-Audio Axiom Air Mini keyboard. The music software I was using in the video is exclusively Maschine 2.6.4 and Massive 1.5.1. Our setups were not midi sync'd, so this is all just us live-looping by ear to keep the flow on beat.

I would usually edit something like this down to a more finalized, shorter version, and then share it - however this video was shot when we very first sat down - and as may be apparent at times in the recording - there was no pre-planning or sample organization at all before these activities.. So you're pretty much getting 30+ minutes of PURE musical "in the moment creativity" flowing, and I figured that may be a fun share even if not as polished.

It was a fun evening - should you all enjoy this video, I could prob slap together another one from that same evening, as we rocked out for a few hours that sitting.

To every drunken being that has stumbled up to me while performing over my 15+ years of DJing and requested while determinedly slurring "Play something I can Dance to!" ... well... ok ... This one's for you.

Sort:  

how fun i want to play too... this is cool mista thinks for sharing. big love to you

wow its Amazing ,thank you for sharing

NICE!!

Upvoted & Resteemed

Hey yeah that looks like lots of fun )) Have you heard of an awesome App called i think Borland Granular !! If you havent then i am sure you might want to take a look at that, becuase its really out there for creativity with all sorts of sounds !! Steem On Boys )

That's dope! What kind of production app is that on that IPAD, it looks so cool! Great music guys, it looks like y'all are having a good time by the way! Is that a drone controller lol

I'm not sure what productions apps my friend was using on his Ipad.. I'm sure there were a couple going. Yes - that is a drone remote on the table, I was filming this using my quadcopter camera. (lol) Good eye!

like this music.....Amazing ,thank you for sharing

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice post. From me upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40