Photogenic Adventures Series - Episode 7 - Car show at the abandoned amusement park

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit,

Continuing an ongoing series about some of the cool people, places, and things I've seen with my camera! Prepare yourselves for...

Photogenic Adventures - Episode 7 - Car show at the abandoned amusement park.

Shot November 4th, 2017 in 'Dogpatch, Arkansas' at a 417 German Autostil car club event.



We've arrived. The complex is huge, so we decide to setup in the middle portion, by the stage area where we know there is electricity and food trucks.

1 - 9IgOY0g.jpg

Although being a closed amusement park and abandoned decades ago, this place is beautiful. This video was shot right behind the stage area, facing the largest river that flows through the park and what used to be the tall water slide. At the height of its day this location hosted water attractions, waterfalls, several buildings, and a working train system that traversed the large property.


Many many cool old buildings here. This place had to be an amazing location for children in its prime, as I was walking around all day, completely fascinated by all the views even as an adult.

2 - GtdckN6.jpg

Bridge over a small creek. There was a small waterfall located at the base of this stream. (seen in the video linked at the bottom of the post)

3 - x0Lp4p5.jpg

Front of the Old Train Station. They were pulling cars into the left side of this building, and taking some really cool photos that I do not own, so I'm sadly not going to share. Since the building is long & narrow, the cars in the front of these described photos were brightly lit and popped, while the depth of the dark empty room lingering behind the vehicles left the image looking like an early Puff Daddy video.

4 - kvyFJ7H.jpg

An Old Building. Looks like a 'General Store' but I am not sure, as I just shot pics in passing. Most of these buildings were unlocked, and you could step inside of them for an uber creepy experience.

5 - LPuKJ6d.jpg

An Old Cabin. Apparently these were for rent, and you could spend the night at the facility. I'm 38 years alive on this host cell earth - and I'd LOVE to spend the night in a cabin at an amusement park!

6 - mp8UZD7.jpg

Old Building. Not sure what this one was used for.

7 - lTAtDKl.jpg

Old Train Stop. There was just something about this structure I really enjoyed. Seemed like something out of a fairy tale.

8 - E29vJqz.jpg

My favorite photo taken this day. Small building sitting upon 'Wolf Island'. This small location is on the river, and stood out as a visible 'instinctual photogenic moment' to me in some sense, when I snapped the pic. It almost looks like a Fall themed painting to me.

9 - aOEu5Hw.jpg

417 German Autostil banner - My brother's car club. They do several events a year, and if you enjoy this content, be sure to check out my signature for all the previous 'Photogenic Adventure' series posts including other car show events.

10 - JdifqNG.jpg

Stage on site. As a seasoned musician, it was hard not to want to roll into this venue with a proper setup, and do a show. That said, the one small speaker I brought did the trick, and it was nice to fall into 'DJ' mode - even if that meant just throwing on a couple playlists. Forgive my forwardness: but I really like to be the guy controlling the music where I stand. Its, kinda like.. my thing.

12 - 5bNQpDu.jpg

Honey Pot Building, which no joke, was surrounded by Bees. I did step into this structure, and it was pretty creepy. I didn't shoot any pics inside there as it was pretty dark, even in the daytime.

13 - R8NQ3Jx.jpg

Several story high cliff, which turns to a waterfall when it rains. It feels like massive rivers flowed though here at one point in time, carving out the landscape.

14 - f5a08B1.jpg

One of the waterfalls on site. There were multiple.


Cool old playground equipment. I love seeing pieces like this, as they remind me of my childhood. Today's modern plastic monstrosities do not host the 'you could break an arm at any moment' childhood entertainment that I'm looking for in my life.

15 - NcIwjdd.jpg

Merch table is pop'n. There were a couple tables setup, but I was on the move & felt snagging a pic of the T-shirts hosting the name of the event would suit my purposes.

17 - lWvqbJe.jpg

Cool old building. Part of me longs to hear the Riverbend Music Show, but alas, I most likely never will.

18 - 6iafcl6.jpg

My brother @Karrrma (left) talking w/ staff during the event. He hates his picture taken, so I had to be sneaky in my stalking.

19 - FG4KMte.jpg

When I attend an event, I usually end up wearing my 'DJ / Photographer' hat, as is the way of my people. In the words of the prolific writer Mr. Kurt Vonnegut: "So it goes."

20 - FonKdCT.jpg

Collapsed bridge over a creek bed. I didn't like the power lines in the shot so I walked down the road to take another look.

21 - olmlsjj.jpg

Different angle of same collapsed bridge. This was worth the walk. I love the reflection in the water. Again, it looks like a painting to me.

22 - mj5EQ8z.jpg

An old outhouse. Can you imagine getting up in the middle of a freezing winters night, then having to walk outside in the dark to do your business? This picture reminds me that I should be thankful for the modern conveniences in our lives.

23 - ZDkwDVv.jpg

Cars starting to arrive and lining up by the river. Talked to someone in this group later in the day who recognized the drone camera I was using, but had never seen the attached handheld gimbal. We rapped drone speak for several moments before moving along. A couple different people stopped me this day and asked what kind of camera I was using, as they're not used to seeing a drone camera used on the ground. See Photogenic Adventures episode 1, linked in the signature below, for pics of this equipment.

24 - t58DqMx.jpg

An old cabin, from the side. These were the ones that were available for rent.

25 - qKg7mMb.jpg

Another old cabin, deck facing the river.

26 - 5yBLjqj.jpg

Some of the Jeeps that attended. These things were like Monster Trucks. The joke of the day was "Don't make them mad, their cars could run over our cars."

27 - P193Xom.jpg

My brother meeting with event staff. The red BMW just pops in this picture, compared to the Fall backdrop. I really like this shot.

28 - ohcQVVi.jpg

Beautiful Ozarks Fall colors, and my favorite time of year to take pictures.

29 - PUPfj98.jpg

A closed bridge. There were several on property. This one seemed pretty high up over the water, and I was very tempted to tryout my Indiana Jones impression and go for it, yet calmer mindsets prevailed and I conceded to just take a few pictures and move along without added danger.

30 - ucIi1B9.jpg

Another @Karrrma sighting, walking among us in his natural 'car show' environment.

31 - HnCFn75.jpg

Old lodge. This building was really big, and I'd love to see the inside of it yet it didn't take the time to check it out other than a walk by.

32 - nTWgrY4.jpg

Hot Rods showing up. It was really cool that there were multiple car clubs represented here, and everyone had their own style & stories. There was an overall friendly vibe in the air, as I think everyone was just blown away by the beauty of the property, that we were all just walking around smiling.

33 - tuCKEXY.jpg

More Hot Rods. Its hard not to want to stop and take pics of cars that look like they just rolled out of a comic book.

34 - byyOSxf.jpg

I really like all the curvy angles on this car. Soooooooooooooooooo cool!

35 - ksbsJ4W.jpg

Jeep club rolling around doing Jeep things. Are you not entertained?! (I was.)

36 - 6X7qp1I.jpg

Drone shot looking down on the love of @Karrrma's life.

39 - WLb4UVm.jpg

Drone shot noticing how there is just as much 'orange' on the ground as there is in the trees. I love Fall!

41 - 91pwxnB.jpg

Creepy old Church on site. The man in the red shirt was standing there as we approached. We notice what looks like a grave, right outside the church doors, which includes fresh flowers & candles placed there. Completely perplexed, I vocalize my confusion by saying "What is this? Who is out here in the woods leaving fresh flowers on a fake grave at the abandoned amusement park?" The man wearing the red shirt then steps forward and says "That's my dog's grave, we buried her here." I look into his eyes deeply, seeking out any wavering reminisce of comedy, yet he is stoic as a dead dog in his delivery. Sensing my prodding he adds "We had her for 17 years. She used to love coming here and running around the park when it was open, so when she passed away - we asked, and they told us we could bury her here. I've been coming here the past several months cleaning up the property, and visit her often." Boy oh boy did I then feel like an ass for my snarky comment seconds ago. True Story.

43 - jl3kMsT.jpg

Abandoned Water slide. This thing immediately reminded me of the episode of Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia where the gang goes to the water park, and Frank slides down a... wait for it... abandoned water slide.

44 - D5yKnGP.jpg

Water mill over the river. Another almost 'Iconic' location, in some sense. (Pic)

45 - bEdJ14Y.jpg

Water mill over the river. A short clip w/ sound just to show you how peaceful this place is. (Video)


Another shot of @Karrrma 's baby - "Das Bae"

47 - VJ8JpA4.jpg

Cool old truck. These guys with the older trucks/hot rods were super friendly, and loved that I was taking pics.

49 - 9PboQlz.jpg

Another cool old truck. 'Searcy' is close by small town.

50 - C0g8MCc.jpg

Hot Rod made out of a Jeep aka 'Jeep Rod'. Front.

51 - ZY7ZqWR.jpg

'Jeep Rod' (back)

52 - 9rwN0Pe.jpg

'Jeep Rod' side.

53 - Byh0L8U.jpg

Love the look of these two vehicles, side by side. Something about the contrast between the two designs just 'works' for me.

54 - CwbNXlh.jpg

Best Waterfall onsite, which was several stories tall. There was a trail that climbed down a steep hill, leading you to an observations platform carved into the side of the hill. At the point this video was shot I felt at least 2 stories down, and when you looked down over the edge as to how much further deep the water fall went, it seemed like another 2-3 stories to go. This spot is beyond a beautiful place to enjoy a temperate Ozarks Fall day, and I stayed for several minutes just to soak it up.


The infamous "Kissing Rocks" of Dogpatch, Arkansas. These things are larger than they look, and I shot them from all sides just to capture as much of their grandeur as I could.

37 - B3fGYgb.jpg

Kissing Rocks, side.

40 - JVgEh1t.jpg

Kissing Rocks, side.

11 - yxmj5Zz.jpg

Kissing Rocks, back.

38 - 8JxO5U5.jpg

Kissing Rocks, closer back.

42 - vGc9Kty.jpg

Kissing Rocks, front. Look at that view!

48 - kSCvjPH.jpg

Kissing Rock's size, compared to my brother's girlfriend on the left.

46 - mB0nPn9.jpg

Annnnnnnnd a very happy @GiftedGaia , drinking my first beer of the day after walking what seemed like 127+ miles around the Ozarks mountains.

16 - OY9U1Uc.jpg

Lastly - a video @Karrrma produced using the video footage I shot that day. Its a fantastic edit that I really think captures the feel of the event. As someone who adores taking nature photography, it was insanely fun to shoot these beautiful surroundings in contrast to the fancy cars driving everywhere. If you've enjoyed the above pictures, I think you may enjoy this short video.


All in all, this was my favorite car club event that I've attended. I cannot wait until Spring, when we get to go back!

Cheers Steemit!

~GiftedGaia



-Who is: GiftedGaia?

-Who is: GiftedGaia 1 Year Later?

-My DJ Mixes Archive

-My Youtube Page (lots of Drone Videos)

-Photogenic Adventures Series: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

-+1 Point on the 'Humans are Good' side: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5

Sort:  

I thought the watermill was pretty cool. It looks like it could be used for a scene in a movie!

Indeed it did. Or... a Paladins map.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

nice post!)

#life
Oscar Wilde : Life is never fair, and perhaps it is a good thing for most of us that it is not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78