Midwest Sunrise :: 9/23/2017 (End of the World Edition)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemit,

Whelp - Today's the day, "The End of the World" some folk'll are saying.

I missed the 1960's era 'Duck & Cover' campaign, however I have lived long enough to survive the Cold War, Y2K, and the 2012 Mayan calendar reset - so I suppose I'm a little hesitant to accept that our time is almost up within hours, as my 'Survive the Rapture' card is about one punch away from earning a free sandwich.

That said: I'm certainly not ignorant to the seemingly deteriorating conditions here on our currently living host cell Earth, with Earthquakes, Hurricanes, and other Disasters tearing the World asunder as we speak. (Not to mention how we treat each other)

There is also the Sun's current cycle of discharging massive solar flares recently, and any one of those CME's could potentially cause another Carrington Event, which unlike the year 1859, would decimate our modern lifestyles since we've all become completely dependent on this established power grid. (Except for maybe @papapepper, he'll probably just keep on keep'n on, with or without power! )

But I'm not gonna walk around this day thinking it may be my last, mostly because I kind of already do that everyday already (in some sense), in that I'm focused on living 'in the moment' - due to the fact that I know that these Human living moments are fleeting. In that model: Today should really be like any other day for me, at least regarding my mindset.

So as I take a few sips of this 1st cup of coffee this morning, I'm reminded that 'I've been here before' as far as these predictions go, and regardless of what dark planets may be crossing our orbit in the hopefully not so near future, my stated goal today - like every other day - is to live this day in a manner that may lead people to hopefully say nice things about me when I'm no longer here. Honestly, there is little more than that in my control at any given moment.

If the World does in fact end today - please know that I've very much enjoyed your company Steemit, and I'm happy I paused this morning to witness the beauty of one last sunrise.

Hope you all have a fantastic day & I'll see you on the other side!

Cheers Steemit!

~GiftedGaia



-Who is: GiftedGaia?

-Who is: GiftedGaia 1 Year Later?

-My DJ Mixes Archive

-My Youtube Page (lots of Drone Videos)

-GiftedGaia's Favorite Quotations on Life and Music

-Photogenic Adventures Series: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

-+1 Point on the 'Humans are Good' side: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5

Sort:  

Wow, that is really beautiful. Capturing the moment AND the photograph.

Nice my friend!

Upvoted

Nice picture, which country is this?

Wow. I use to live in Springfield, MO, A few weeks ago and for a few years. Small world

Wonderful sunrise keep it up my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84