Yes, I worked more than 16 hours a day for almost 15 years!

in #life7 years ago

 


We all used to read success stories of people who have worked hard, get success immediately or later and now living a luxurious and comfortable life. Some of them are artists, businessmen, sportsmen, writers and so on. No doubt, all these persons had a goal in mind and they strived hard to get the desired results but sometimes I think, what about those people who have also worked hard throughout their lives but didn’t get any success, do we share any unsuccessful stories of those people? They might have worked harder than a successful person but may be the “luck” wasn’t there for those people!     


Today, I am going to share my story for the first time in my life, I guess this is the time to tell the world that I also worked hard and dreamed of a good life but I have not yet achieved what I wanted.     


Let’s start from my childhood, as far as I remember, I was born in a rich family. We had cars, properties, gold and everything someone needs to live a good and happy life. My father had a big Pharmaceutical distribution business and in short, we were living a very happy life.     


All of a sudden, a dark day came in my life (year 2000) when my mother told me that my father’s brother (my uncle) had ruined all the business and had deceived my father by indulging in some fraudulent activities (not going into details how it happened but yes it did) Now, we had no money, cars and properties except for some savings and a small amount of gold, in fact, we had to rent a house to live. I was about to pass my grade 8 and the day came when I had to travel through local buses, we had no cars or drivers anymore and the life was looking miserable.     


My father did nothing for the next two years, no business and no job. When I completed my grade 10 exams, my father decided to open a small pharmacy. That time, I decided to help my father and promised myself to get that status back within a few years. It was 2002 and since then, I studied and at the same time worked at pharmacy along with my father. I used to wake up early in the morning, around 6:00 AM, went to the college, came to home at 12:00 PM, then went to the pharmacy around 1:00 PM and closing the shop at 12:00 AM. I used to study after 12:00 AM, obviously my aim was to educate myself enough to get a good job, so study had a great importance in my life.      


This routine continued for almost 10 years till I completed my Master in Business in 2012 and got my first job in a small company as an accountant. Though it was a happy moment for my family as our small business (pharmacy) wasn’t strong enough to feed 5 persons (my two siblings and my parents) but still my salary was also not capable of meeting our monthly expenses. So then, I decided to find another job, earn double, meet your expenses and save something for the future, that was the plan in my mind. Soon I found a night job in a call center and now, my routine is different. Now, I wake up at 8:00 AM so that I could arrive on time (9:00 AM) in my first office where I work as an accountant, work there till 5:00 PM and then go to my second office (call center) to work till 3:00 AM. From 8:00 AM to 3:00 AM, it makes 19 hours, I used to sleep only 4 hours a day during weekdays and 24 hours total on weekends to meet the quota of my sleep but I was happy. I was getting a good amount of money and my family was happy too that now at least, we could buy things that were considered necessity in one’s life.     


So it started in 2012 till 2016 when I started to realize that this wasn’t the life I had always dreamed of, I wasn’t spending much time with my family and friends, my social life was destroyed and to some extent, I was mentally disturbed too. I wanted to earn money but not at the cost of my health, it wasn’t working for me.     So what other options do I have now? I asked myself this question, by profession I was an accountant and wanted to continue to look for better options but the market was saturated and there was no hope of getting a good paying accountancy job. On the other hand, I had a customer service experience as well, worked as a quality control analyst in a good renowned company but the case was same, a single job couldn’t meet all my expenses. So what should I do now? I asked this question again and soon I got the answer.      


I decided to change my field (accountancy), though it was a tough decision as I spent almost 18 years to get a Master degree but I had to take that chance, no other option was there. I started learning some digital marketing skills like SEO, Google AdWords, Google Analytics, Facebook marketing and other related search engine marketing skills. Once I was done, I tried to find a suitable job related to this field but again, it was unfortunate for me. Big companies and organizations rejected me on the basis that I had no prior experience in a corporate world related to digital marketing. They admitted that I had all the skills that were required to do all the tasks they had to assign but still, they were not willing to hire me, may be the age was another reason!     


So after this effort of learning new skills along with the two jobs, I failed again! I was disappointed and asked God a question, why me? I had worked hard, never deceived anyone in my entire life, I am an honest person and never cheated, so why did He chose me?     


I then took a strong decision against all odds and planned to open my own digital marketing school where I would teach students all the tactics and techniques of digital marketing. To accomplish this goal, I decided to resign from both jobs and concentrate on my business, it was a tough and risky decisions but I had to take it, I am 29 and still single, so thought “Just give it a try”.     


I resigned on 31st April 2017 and was feeling like a free bird who now, doesn’t have to work for 19 hours a day. So as soon as I resigned, I started advertising my business on Facebook and Google and thought that a lot of prospects would come to learn digital marketing skills but I was wrong. It didn’t work and I decided not to spend money on advertising anymore.     


So what should I do next?     


Couple of things were roaming in my mind like uploading courses on websites like Udemy, create a Youtube channel and start uploading videos and the list goes on.     


It’s been almost 2 months I have not earned a single penny but still I am confident that trying to set up your own business is far better than working for a CEO who doesn’t care about your dreams and objectives. Somewhere deep in my heart lies a feeling that I will get what I want, I will achieve all those goals and things that I have always dreamed of!       


Keep dreaming and never give up!       


Please share your stories with me.       


Follow me @ghulammujtaba         

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @ghulammujtaba :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Very intresting story & never give up. I upvoted & resteem your post.
Welcome brother in Steemit.

Thanks, @irfanullah

Following you as well.

What a good (and not good) read! Keep dreaming on and now that you are here, keep steeming on! I am so glad to have introduced you to this amazing platform. I hope your dreams come true soon because whatever knowledge and experience you have will be of huge benefit to you here.

For the purpose of sharing y story, let me share the link to it.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1213448802085764&substory_index=0&id=1206833616080616

Welcome to Steemit & Happy Steeming! ☺

You kinda made me sad :( , but thank you :)

You are welcome @ikadika
Things will get better, I am still positive :)

This was a very touching story. I hope you succeed and find what makes you happy!

I currently work in a call center myself, and I'm not even sure what I want. I make a decent wage and can afford an apartment for now, but I'm still young, so there's no rush for me. I only work 8 hours a day, so your story is very different from mine.

Good things come to the people who work hard. You will definitely succeed with your mindset!

Make friends, meet new people, meet girls. Life isn't worth living if all you do is work, however it might be necessary. People tend to take their good lives for granted, but I can tell that you definitely don't.

All the best, @tundraxd

Thanks for your words, @tundraxd
And I pray that you have a good and peaceful life ahead, still young and looks passionate.

Hey! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Welcome to Steemit @ghulammujtaba!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here!
Unfortunately, I can not make an upvote of your record - my steem power is still small. But in the future I will come back and do it. If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me.
Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and I hope you will follow me.
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Mujtaba bhai, just keep going!

Things do take time but the internet is the sea.

Eventually, you'll definitely be paid off with your good hard work, InshALLAH!

Thanks, @adeelsami
Keep praying.

So glad to see this post doing so well. Well deseved. Please inbox me on fb so that I can share a few tips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54